
RULE 

Department of Revenue 

Policy Services Division 

Louisiana Rehabilitation of Historic Structures Tax 

Credit 

(LAC: 61:I.1917) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:6019 and 47:1511 

and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 

adopts LAC 61:I.1917 relative to the Historic 

Rehabilitation Tax Credit.  

Revised Statute 47:6019 authorizes a credit for the 

eligible costs and expenses incurred during the 

rehabilitation of a historic structure located in a 

downtown development district or a cultural district. 

The purpose of this regulation is to further define 

relative to eligible costs and expenses and to provide 

for an application procedure as it pertains to the 

historic rehabilitation credit. In addition, the 

regulation provides relative to transfer fees, as 

authorized by R.S. 47:6019. This Rule is hereby 

adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 61 

REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 

Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, 

Credits and Deductions  

§1917. Louisiana Rehabilitation of Historic 

Structures Tax Credit 

A. General Description 

1. Revised Statute 47:6019 authorizes an 

income and corporation franchise tax credit for 

eligible costs and expenses incurred during the 

rehabilitation of a historic structure located in a 

downtown development district or a cultural district. 

Eligible structures must be nonresidential real 

property or residential rental property. 

2. The tax credit for QRE’s is earned only in the 

year in which the property attributable to the 

expenditures is placed in service. However, regardless 

of the year in which the property is placed in service, 

the amount of the credit shall equal 25 percent of the 

eligible costs and expenses of the rehabilitation 

incurred prior to January 1, 2018, and 20 percent of the 

eligible costs and expenses of the rehabilitation 

incurred on or after January 1, 2018. 

3. No taxpayer, or any entity affiliated with such 

taxpayer, shall claim more than $5,000,000 of credit 

annually for any number of structures rehabilitated 

within a downtown development district or cultural 

district.  

4. The credit shall be allowed against the 

income tax for the taxable period in which the credit is 

earned and against the franchise tax for the taxable 

period following the period in which the credit is 

earned. If the tax credit allowed pursuant to R.S. 

47:6019 exceeds the amount of such taxes due, any 

unused credit may be carried forward as a credit 

against subsequent tax liability for a period not to 

exceed five years. The credit may be used in addition 

to the 20 percent federal tax credit for such purposes. 

5. The tax credit shall not be allowed for the 

rehabilitation costs and expenses that are paid for with 

state or federal funds, unless the state or federal funds 

are reported as taxable income or are structured as 

repayable loans. 

B. Definitions 

Assistant Secretary—the Assistant Secretary of 

the Office of Legal Affairs, Louisiana Department of 

Revenue, or, in the absence of such official, another 

designee as authorized by the secretary. 

CPA—certified public accountant. 

Cultural District—a district designated by a local 

governing authority in accordance with law for the 

purpose of revitalizing a community by creating a hub 

of cultural activity, including affordable artist housing 

and workspace, which has been determined by the 

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism to 

meet the criteria established to be so designated.  

Department—the Louisiana Department of 

Revenue. 

Downtown Development District—a downtown 

development district or central business development 

district created by law, or by ordinance adopted prior 

to January 1, 2002, in a home rule charter municipality. 

Eligible Costs and Expenses—qualified 

rehabilitation expenditures as defined in section 

47(c)(2)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 

amended, except that “substantially rehabilitated shall 

mean that the qualified rehabilitation expenditures 

must exceed $10,000.  

Phased Projects—a project which is completed in 

multiple phases. 

QRE’s—qualified rehabilitation expenses. 

SHPO—State Historic Preservation Office. 

SOI-Compliant—work performed in accordance 

with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for 

Rehabilitation. 

Transfer—for purposes of the fee requirement, an 

assignment, disposition, transfer or allocation of tax 

credits. 

C. Application Procedure 

1. Initial Determination of Eligibility by the 

SHPO 

a. The SHPO determines whether the 

structure, before and after the work is performed, 

qualifies as contributing to the historical significance 



of the district. Specifically, the SHPO determines 

whether work was performed on an eligible structure 

and whether such work performed was SOI-compliant. 

A project is determined to be a certified rehabilitation 

if the building itself meets eligibility requirements and 

the work is SOI-compliant.  

b. The SHPO makes a determination as to 

whether a project is determined to be a certified 

rehabilitation through a three-part application process 

administered by an architectural historian.  

 i. In Part 1, the SHPO certifies whether the 

structure is eligible for the Program. 

 ii. In Part 2, the SHPO certifies whether the 

work, as proposed by the applicant, is SOI-compliant. 

 iii. In Part 3, the SHPO confirms that the 

actual work performed by the applicant was indeed 

SOI-compliant.  

c. If the project is determined by SHPO to be 

a certified rehabilitation, the SHPO shall provide to the 

applicant, with copies to the department, an approved 

“part 3-request for certification of completed work”, 

and an executed section 1 of Form R-6121B.  

2. Approval of the Credit by the Department of 

Revenue 

a. An applicant shall submit the following to 

the department: 

 i. a certified audit report or examined cost 

certification prepared by an independent auditor, 

which report and auditor meet the following minimum 

qualifications as set forth by the department: 

(a). the auditor must be a CPA licensed in 

the State of Louisiana or in compliance with the CPA 

Mobility Act and must be an independent third party 

not related to the applicant; 

(b). the CPA must be listed on the 

legislative auditor approved listing, or, if not licensed 

in Louisiana, in compliance with the CPA Mobility 

Act; 

(c). the auditor’s opinion must be 

addressed to the party which has engaged the auditor, 

but may expressly permit others to rely on the same; 

(d). the name of the auditor’s firm, 

address, and telephone number must be evident on the 

report; 

(e). the auditor’s opinion must be dated no 

earlier than the completion of the audit fieldwork; 

(f). the certified audit report or examined 

cost certification must be performed in accordance 

with auditing standards set forth by the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the auditor 

must have sufficient knowledge of accounting 

principles and the SOI standards for rehabilitation. The 

auditor’s opinion should be accompanied by the cost 

report of QRE’s, the notes to the cost report, and a 

completed CPA certification form; 

(g). the period during which qualified 

rehabilitation costs were incurred must be noted; 

(h). the certified audit report or examined 

cost certification must provide a breakdown of all 

related party transactions, as defined by the Statement 

of Financial Accounting Standards No. 57 and include 

the following: 

 (i). the name and address of the 

related party; 

 (ii). the nature of the relationship 

between the related party and the applicant; 

 (iii). the nature and amount of the 

transaction; 

 (iv). the federal and state tax 

identification numbers of the related party for total 

payments equal to $10,000 or greater, and payment 

schedule if there are remaining outstanding balances; 

 (v). if there are no related party 

transactions, the cost report must include a note 

indicating such; 

(i). a reasonableness/fairness opinion 

shall be submitted, if applicable, comparing the 

amounts charged on related party transactions to what 

an independent party would have charged for similar 

work and/or services; 

(j). for any total payments $100,000 or 

greater, the report or certification must include the 

following: 

 (i). name and address of the payee; 

 (ii). federal and state tax numbers of 

the payee; 

 (iii). any state/and/or local license 

numbers of the payee (i.e. contractor’s license); and 

 (iv). total amount paid (Form R-

6122).  

b. For those applicants whose total project 

cost is $500,000 or less, the following information 

may be submitted in lieu of the requirements contained 

in Subparagraph C.2.a of this Section. Projects 

submitted in multiple phases, “phased projects”, 

where the estimated total costs of all phases of a 

project is greater than $500,000 must submit the 

information required in Subparagraph C.2.a of this 

Section, regardless of whether the specific cost for any 

particular phase being submitted for review is 

$500,000 or less. For qualifying projects, an applicant 

must submit the following information: 

 i. an itemized listing of all QRE’s as well 

as all non-QRE’s, detailing all costs and eligible 

expenses as defined in Section 47(c)(2)(A) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. The 

itemized listing must conform to the requirements of 

Subclause C.2.a.i.(f) of this Section, as provided, and 

contain an arms-length comparison for each 

expenditure submitted as well as the period during 

which the rehabilitation costs were incurred. Column 



headings for the list must include: category of work, 

method of payment, date paid, name of 

payee/contractor, description of expenditure, total 

amount of expenditure and amount of QRE’s. The 

department may require documentation to verify 

whether the expenses claimed were actually incurred 

during the rehabilitation; 

 ii. an invoice for each QRE totaling $2,500 

or more. Where the aggregate payments to a single 

payee are equal to or greater than $100,000, the federal 

and state tax numbers as well as any state and/or local 

license numbers (i.e. contractor’s license) must be 

submitted; 

 iii. a notarized statement attesting that the 

expenditures submitted were incurred in connection 

with the rehabilitation of a “certified historic 

structure” that is properly chargeable to a capital 

account. Such expenditures include: architectural and 

engineering fees; construction interest and taxes; 

developer’s fees; general administrative fees; legal 

and professional fees; and rehabilitation costs. 

Common expenditures which do not qualify as QRE’s 

include, but are not limited to: acquisition costs; 

appliances; appraisal costs; cabinets; carpeting (when 

tacked and not glued to floor); demolition costs; 

financing fees; furniture; leasing expenses; marketing 

costs; moving costs; parking lot; paving and landscape 

costs; and signage. 

c. The department shall review the certified 

audit report, examined cost certification, or itemized 

listing of all QRE’s and non-QRE’s. The department 

may request additional documentation from the 

applicant as it determines necessary. Further, the 

department may rely on the SHPO for any technical 

assistance, as determined necessary during the review 

process. This assistance includes, but is not limited to, 

interpretations of the Secretary of the Interior 

standards for rehabilitation. For projects with a placed 

in service date occurring on or after January 1, 2018 

that have expenditures incurred both before and after 

January 1, 2018, the audit report, examined cost 

certification or itemized listing submitted for review 

shall segregate such expenditures by date so as to 

allow the proper credit rate to be determined. Failure 

to so segregate such expenditures will result in credit 

being applied at a blanket rate of 20 percent.  

d. After all supporting documentation is 

received and approved, the department shall complete 

and provide to the applicant Section 2 of Form R-

6121-B, thereby confirming the certified amount of 

the tax credit earned by the applicant. With the 

exception of phased projects, the final year of the 

placed in service date shall be the first year the credit 

may be utilized. Issuance of the tax credit certificate 

shall be delayed by any outstanding tax balances of the 

applicant until all such tax balances are resolved.  

D. Internal Appeal Process 

1. Applicants may appeal the denial of the 

certification of expenditures to the assistant secretary. 

a. Written notice of the intent to appeal must 

be received by the department within ten business days 

from the date of the denial letter.  

b. The full appeal must be received by the 

department no later than 30 calendar days from the 

date of the denial letter. Appeals must be in writing and 

must detail specific reasons the denial should be 

partially or completely reconsidered or overturned.  

 i. Upon a showing of reasonable cause, the 

assistant secretary may extend the deadline for 

submission of the full appeal. 

c. The assistant secretary, at his discretion, 

may hold a hearing in connection with the appeal.  

2. Upon review of the appeal and 

consideration of the hearing, if applicable, the 

assistant secretary shall take one of the following 

actions: 

a. sustain, in full or in part, the denial; 

b. overturn, in full or in part, the denial. 

3. The assistant secretary’s final written 

decision to any appeal must be issued no later than 90 

days after receiving the full appeal. 

E. Claiming or Transferring the Tax Credit 

1. All tax credits issued pursuant to R.S. 

47:6019 must be registered and conform to all 

requirements of the Tax Credit Registry, as provided 

in R.S. 47:1524, in order to be claimed on a return or 

transferred.  

2. Persons who are awarded tax credits may 

elect to sell their unused tax credits to one or more 

individuals or entities. The tax credits may be 

transferred or sold by a taxpayer or any subsequent 

transferee an unlimited number of times. However, the 

transfer of the credit does not extend the carry forward 

period of the credit. 

3. Transferors and transferees shall submit to 

the department in writing a notification of any transfer 

or sale of tax credits within ten business days after the 

transfer or sale of such credits. The notification shall 

be accompanied by a tax credit transfer processing fee 

of $200. The notification shall include the transferor’s 

tax credit balance prior to transfer, the credit 

identification number assigned by the state historic 

preservation office, the remaining balance after 

transfer, all federal and Louisiana tax identification 

numbers for both transferor and transferee, the date of 

transfer, the amount transferred, and any other 

information requested by the department. Failure to 

comply with this notification provision will result in 

the disallowance of the tax credit until the parties are 

in full compliance.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 47:1511 and R.S. 47:6019. 



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 44:2023 

(November 2018). 

 

Kimberly Lewis Robinson 

Secretary 
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