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Excise Tax 
 

Changes to the Inspection and Supervision Fee 
 
Act 433, enacted during the 2016 Regular Legislative Session, amended Louisiana Revised 
Statutes 45:1177(A)(2) relative to fees collected by the Louisiana Department of Revenue for the 
Louisiana Public Service Commission. The Act became effective July 1, 2016.  

The amendments to the Inspection and Supervision Fee changed the rates for calculating the 
quarterly fees to be paid by each common carrier, contract carrier, and public utility based on the 
cumulative receipts as of the end of the respective calendar quarter. The filing frequency and due 
dates of the quarterly reports were not affected and remain the same, as does the $80 minimum 
annual fee. 
 

Rate prior to 7/1/16 Act 433 Rate Gross Receipts 

$4.94 $5.01 Per $1000 for the first 
$100,000 or less 

$4.16 $4.23 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$100,000 and not more than 
$250,000 

$3.38 $3.45 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$250,000 and not more than 
$500,000 

$2.61 $2.68 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$500,000 and not more than 
$750,000 

$2.22 $2.29 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$750,000 and not more than 
$1,000,000 

$1.83 $1.90 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$1,000,000 and not more than 
$2,000,000 

$1.44 $1.51 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$2,000,000 and not more than 
$5,000,000 

$1.06 $1.13 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$5,000,000 and not more than 
$10,000,000 
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$0.90 $0.97 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$10,000,000 and not more 
than $25,000,000 

$0.75 $0.82 
Per $1000 in excess of 
$25,000,000 and not more 
than $100,000,000 

$0.635 $0.71 Per $1000 in excess of 
$100,000,000  

 

Since the Inspection and Supervision Fee is based on cumulative receipts for the calendar year, 
the legislative changes will apply to the receipts reported for the 2016 calendar year. The 
changes will be implemented for the third quarter of the calendar year and the report forms to be 
provided for that quarter and subsequent periods will reflect the changes. Because the fee is 
based on cumulative receipts, credit will still be allowed for the full amount of fee paid in the 
previous quarters.  

If you have any questions, call Taxpayer Compliance – Sales Severance Excise Withholding Tax 
Unit at 855-307-3893, option 2 then 1. 

 
Kimberly Lewis Robinson 
Secretary 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101.D. A RIB is an informal 
statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB does not have the force 
and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 
 


