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Act Provides Sales Tax Rate Reductions for Non-Residential Sales of Natural Gas, 
Electricity; Special Provisions for Paper, Wood Products Manufacturers  

Act 48 of the 2005 First Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature has reduced the state 
sales tax rate on sales of natural gas and electricity for non-residential consumers.  Effective 
January 1, 2006, the rate is reduced to 3.3 percent from the current 3.8 percent.  This reduced 
rate will remain in effect through June 30, 2009.  

The Act makes other changes to the sales taxation of natural gas and electricity that affect only 
paper and wood products manufacturing facilities. Effective July 1, 2006, and continuing 
through December 31, 2008, the definition of “cost price” under R.S. 47:301(3) and the 
definition of “sales price” under R.S. 47:301(13) are amended to provide that the taxable base on 
sales of natural gas to paper and wood products manufacturing facilities shall not exceed any 
amount in excess of $6.20 per MMBtu. The 3.3 percent tax rate will be applied to the taxable 
base that is not in excess of $6.20 per MMBtu.  For the period July 1, 2006, through December 
31, 2008, Act 48 also fully exempts sales of electric power or energy to paper and wood products 
manufacturing facilities.  

Act 48 does not affect the taxability of sales of natural gas, electric power, or energy to 
residential consumers. Such sales remain fully exempt from the state sales tax, as provided for by 
Article VII, Section 2.2 of the Louisiana Constitution.  

Utility companies are required to remit the state sales tax on the sales tax return for the month in 
which they invoice their customers. For example, if a customer’s utility meter is read on January 
5th, and an invoice is rendered to the customer on January 6, the state sales tax on that invoice is 
payable to the department with the utility's January sales tax return which is due on or before 
February 20. 

Utility companies must use a special formula to calculate the taxes due for metered service 
periods that include days before and after the January 1, 2006, and July 1, 2006, rate changes.  
For example, if a non-residential meter is read on January 5, 2006, with 30 days in the service 
period since the previous reading, 25/30ths of the charges for the period will be subject to the tax 
at the 3.8 percent rate that was applicable before January 1, 2006. The remainder or 5/30ths of 
the charges for the period will be subject to the 3.3 percent rate applicable to non-residential 
sales for periods on and after January 1, 2006. These fractions will change for each meter reading 
date.  

Questions concerning this matter can be directed to the Taxpayer Services Division at 
225.219.7356.  

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary  

A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is issued under the authority of LAC 61:III.101.D. A RIB is an 
informal statement of information issued for the public and employees that is general in nature. A RIB 
does not have the force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or the Department. 
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