Business Tax Enforcement

» Director - Bryan Peters
» Bryan.peters@la.gov
» Cell 318.560.3605




Sale for Resale certificates

» Act 211 of the 2017 Regular Session, effective Oct 1,
2017

» To receive Sales Tax Resale Certificate:

» Need to be current in filing/paying all taxes. If so, will
receive resale certificate.

» Can have an installment agreement in place or under
formal appeal.

» Revenue Information Bulletin 10-020




Not granting reasonable cause exceptions to
penalties. What if reasonable cause relief
was granted by IRS, would LDR piggy back?

The Louisiana Department of Revenue reviews each
penalty waiver independently, first for the minimum

requirements and then to determine if reason warrants a
waiver.



Withholding non-filer 2012-
Current

» Every employer must file quarterly.

» Each employer who withholds from the combined wages
of all employees is required to pay as follows:

» $500 or less = Quarterly
» $501 to $5,000 = Monthly
» $5,001 and greater = Semi-monthly.

Final withholding return electronic / paper.

(Mark this box if this a final return.)

(Enter date business sold/closed.)

» Business.Inguiries@la.gov
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Return of Loulsiana Withhoiding Tax.
Who witihoids of who Is required 1o withhold Lousisna
L-1 retum. Any
be whhheld ks

Form L-1 Is the Employer's Quartery
Every ampioyer

E&Ch UM COVers 0ne quansrly lxable and must be Med by me
fling ceadine. A quariady retum must ba flad even If no taxas are withhald
during Me quaner of If wages pald to employees were not sumMdcent to
require withhoicding.

When and how shouid | remit tax withheld from my empioyees?
Payments must be mage accoming 10 your mandated payment
Payments %or the last parod of the quaner must be submillad with he L-1
FEtUM. All other peyments MLt be SLDMItid with an L-1V payment voucher.
When Is the L-1 Retum due?

Quarterty and Monthly payers should submit Form L-1 wih payment by
the last day of foliowing month after the close of calendar quariec The due
0aies are as 10Iows:

1% Quarer. . . . . Apetl 30%
3= Quarter . . .October 31+

Fourth Quarter Employer’s Return of
Louisiana Withholding Tax Form L1

wemynu hﬁ-\dply Tax Year
WEB
Use this form for:
Tax Perod Due Date
123172017 0173172018
PLEASE RETURN ENTIRE PAGE.
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To ensure accurate processing, please print your figures as shown.
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ILines 1-3 Print the amount of Loulsiana Income tax withheld or required o
be withheld from the wapes of your empioyees for the appropriate month.
Line 4 Add Uines 1, 2 and 3. This s ihe total amount of taxes withheid for
the quarter.

Line 5 Caicuiate e total amount of withholaing tExes that was remmad to
he Geparment Aurng e quarter.

Lines 6 and 7 Sait-sxpanatory

How do | amend an L-17

Form L-1 -wn:»mu payments made within Tis quartar io he

for &l quenters In which comactions were made. When filing an amencad
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Coffacted amounts, and mark the Amanded Returm box.

quent on the foliowing [ ]
4 Total ath Quarter
SPEC o Do e unena spociicaly ] e LT . -
CODE by LDR.
5 Less mmittance made
ingQuarter. . . .. ... 5 |
1 Lovisiars Watihokling Tex & ¥Lino 4 is greator than Linc 5,
""""" L] subtmct Ling 5 from Lino 4.
Paythis smownt. . . . . . . 8 A
2 Louisiana Withholding Tax DO NOT SEND CASH.
........ B
7 ELino 4 is loss than Lina 5,
3 Louisiana Withhokding Tax subtmct Ling 4 from Line 5.
........ - This is your overpayment. . . 7 n
Mark fes box § this l
s a frul mtun.
dats busireas Amendad Pl
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