www.abehadrd alabamagov/

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board is an entity of the State of Alabama. It controls
alcoholic beverages through distribution, licensing, enforcement and education. The Board

also operates a chain of retail stores that sell liquor to consumers.

History The Alcoholic Beverage Control Act of 1937 established the Alabama ABC Board and ended
22 years of prohibition. It gave the Board control over the manufacture, import, distribution,
sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages within the state. The Act provided citizens with
“protection of the public welfare, health, peace and morals”, It also prohibited transactions

of liquor, alcohol, malt and brewed beverages by those within the state, except those under
control of the Board. In 1997, its responsibility expanded to regulating retail sales of tobacco
products.

Net Revenue $202,823,837 in FY 20122013
of Alabama

From 2003 through 2014, the Alabama ABC Board
contributed close to $2.5 billion to the state,

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $31.35
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $3.09

Population 21 § 3,496,000
and over (Estimate) (2013)

Alabama distributes its net revenue into six avenues:
® General Fund (33.15%) ® Education Trust Fund (10.93%)

® Department of Human Resources (24.71%) ® Cities and Counties (7.30%)

® Department of Mental Health (16.70%) @ Department of Revenue (7.20%) qaeril

10.93%

Figures are from 2012-2013 | =




'The state is involved in both wholesale and retail operations. The state is responsible for

Distribution
spirits and independent wholesalers are responsible for wine and beer.

@ The state delivers. the spirits to its stores and to other retailers that purchase the product.
Wine is distributed by the wholesalers and delivered directly to the account. Restaurants

Does jurisdiction .o
allow direct shipping and bars buy spirits from the state stores.

of wine? No

Outlets | Alabama holds control on spirits at wholesale and retail. The state has 175 state operated

package stores,
Tax per beverage gallon:
Spirits: $8.06
Wine: $1.70 Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $1.03 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
25.11 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

Store Sales
What types of alcohol are permitted?

Beer and Wine

=

Definitions: Coatrol systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alc

ohol in their borders.

[hree-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell procucts only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




: http:/iwwwliquoridaho.gov
i
http:/fwwwisp.idaho.gov/abe
' hitp:/{mixblendenjoy.com

'The mission of the Idaho State Liquor Division (ISLD) is to provide control over the
importation, distribution, sales and consumption of distilled spirits; curtail intemperate use
of beverage alcohol; and responsibly optimize the net revenues to the citizens of Idaho. The
Idaho Constitution authorizes the ISLD to regulate the manufacture, transportation, storage,
sale, and delivery of beverage alcohol. It also authorizes the Division to operate retail liquor
stores.

HiStOI‘Y The [daho State Liquor Division was established in 1935, following the repeal of prohibition.
The ISLD has been a division of the Office of the Governor since 1974.

Net Revenue | $63 025 000 , in 2014 ~ Licensing and

of Idaho | ¢ 2004 through 2014, the Idaho State Liquor Enforcement
Division has contributed $503 million to the state, :

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $45.93
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $3.45

T
P e

Population 21 I 1,110,000
and over (Bstimate) (2013)

Idaho dlstnbutes its net revenue into mne avenues:

® (General Fund (38.5%) ® Cities (28.5%)
#® Public Schools (1.9%) ® Counties (19.0%)
® Substance Abuse Treatment (3.3%) ® Court Services (6.2%)

® Cooperative Welfare Fund (1.0%) @ Court Supervision Fund (0.7%)
© Community Colleges (1.0%)

1.0%
1.0%—
33%—

1.9% §

. e > f ~0 7% mlx. blend
Figuves are from FY2014 ’ IDAHO STATE

LIQUOR ENjoy \.zc




Distribution Distilled spirits are only sold in state-operated liquor stores and contract retail stores that are
authorized by the ISLD. 'The ISLD ships to all retail stores (state-run and contractors) via a
third party contract carrier. Bars and restaurants purchase distilled spirits from the State's retail

@ stores. Generally, they pick up their orders, but delivery is not prohibited. The ISLD does not

o . s
e ustidlicion have oversight of beer and wine. Beer and wine are handled through private distributors who
allow direct shipping generally deliver products to the retailers.

of wine? Yes
The Division operates a central warehouse in Boise from where all liquor products are distributed.

The warchouse t

dahic

Ouﬁets

d
spirits in the state. The ISLD operates 66 state-run retail stores and 105 contract-operated retai

T  beverage gallon: . .

R ;pirgits:gﬁéig stores. There are 1,150 off premise beer and wine outlets in Idaho operated by independent retailers.
Wine: $0.45
Beer: $0.15

Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Yes. Idaho Liquor Division operates all off-premise locations and budgetary {imits and sound
business practices dictate locations. ISLD has restrictions on locating near schools and churches.
For every 100,000 residents ages 21
and older, there are
15.0 spirits outlets.

Grocery ] Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer, wine, low proof spirits up to 14% alcohol and ports, sherries and madeiras up to 21%.

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.

Sources: 2013-2014 Survey Book, State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Program Reports for 2013,
Tdaho State Liguor Divisior:; The Beverage Information Group’s 2014 Fact Book, The Beverage Information Group 2014

April 2015 CENTRAL
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The Towa Alcoholic Beverages Division is a part of the state Department of Commerce. It is
involved in wholesale operations only and does not operate retail stores,

In 1934, Iowa became one of the first Control States. The Iowa Liquor Commission was

History

replaced by the Iowa Beer and Liquor Control Department during a 1972 legislative
reorganization. [n 1985, Jowa gave up its control of wine sales, and in 1986, the Alcoholic
I Beverages Division was created to replace the Beer and Liquor Control Department. In 1987,
lowa closed its retail stores.
S i

Net Revenue | $119,001,253 1,200

of Iowa | 1 12003 through 2014, the Iowa ABD has
contributed nearly $1.5 billion to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $39.47
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $2.98

Population 21 2,219,000
and over {Estimate) (2013)

net revenue into four avenues:

. Iowét-aistribut"és“ﬁs

® General Fund (80.4%) @ Economic Development
Authority (0.2%)

e lowa Department of Public
e Cities and Counties (3.1%)

Health (includes a substance
abuse program and Sunday sales)
(16.3%) 0.2%\ 3.1%

Plgures are from 2014




Distribution The Division warehouses and distributes more than 1,877 different spirits to over 1,300
customers throughout the state. All customers are treated equally in product price and

delivery conditions, regardless of the quantity of products purchased or location of the
@ business (there are minimum orders, however). The Division employs 23 warehouse
operation workers and 21 transportation drivers.

Daes jurisdiction
allow direct shipping
of wine? Yes The 175,000 square foot warehouse is situated on nearly 14 acres of land. Warehouse

renovations started in 2013 and will allow for up to 1,000 new SKUs.

Outlets § Iowa holds control of spirits at wholesale. The state has 1,302 private package stores.

Tax per beverage gallon:
S\F}’\g:: :i;ﬁ Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $0.19 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
58.7 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales
What types of alcohol are permitted?
Spirits, Beer and Wine

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -~ revenue pet persen.




o htipfwwwmaine.govidafs/ =

The Maine Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages is a part of the state Department of Administrative
& Financial Services. Through the assistance of the State Liquor and Lottery Commission, the
Bureau effectively regulates the beverage alcohol industry in Maine by insuring responsible
business practices by agency liquor stores, beer and wine wholesalers, and on-premise licensees
(bars and restaurants) while creating a favorable economic climate.

The State's regulation of liquor originated in 1862 with the establishment of a Commission to
Regulate Sale of Intoxicating Liquots and to have control of liquors kept and sold for medicinal
and manufacturing purposes. In 1992, the Maine State Lottery and the Bureau of Alcoholic
Beverages were combined to become The Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Opera-
tions. The following year, the Maine State Liquor Commission and State Lottery Commission
merged into a single, combined Commission of five members. These members, appointed by
the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature, meet monthly to provide public oversight of
statutory requirements.

T

Net Revenue § $44,086,416 inFy2015
of Maine § From 2003 through 2015, the Maine Bureau of
Alcoholic Beverages has contributed more than
$232 million to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $20.51

Population 21I 1,009,000
and over (Bstimate) (2013)

==

In FY15, Maine distributed its spirits business revenue into five avenues:

® Liquor Operations Revenue Bond ® Department of Health and

(64.6%) Human Services (4.1%)
® General Fund (22%) @ Department of Transportation
(L.4%)

® Department of Environmental
Protection (7.9%)

Figures are from 2015




Distribution [ -Spirits are only sold by State licensed agents. On July 1, 2014, the State entered into a 10 year fee
for services contract with Pine State Trading Company for the warehouseing, order management
and delivery of distilled spirits to off-premise licensed agency stores. Bars and restaurants must
purchase from an agency store licensed as a re-selling agent by the Bureau. Additionally, in
Does jurisdiction October of 2014, the State entered into a 10 year contract with Pine State Trading Company
allow direct shipping 10T SPirits trade marketing services, which are new activities to the Bureau as the state had not
of wine? Yes  previously branded or marketed distilled spirits to consumers.

Outlets § Maine has control of spirits at wholesale and retail. It has 503 agency stores.

Tax per be";mge S‘;‘;"D‘z Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
1.;:,;:10: $0.60 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Beer: $0.35

Yes, number Is determined by population.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
49.9 spirits outlets.

T ——

Store Sales

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Spirits, Beer and Wine

A ——— A s S —

Definitions: Control systems - jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders,

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capifa -- revenue per person.




Montgomery County-MD_

hiip://www.niontgomerycoumtymd govallc/

The mission of the Montgomery County Department of Liquor Control is to provide
efficient and quality wholesale and retail sales of beverage alcohol products while promoting
moderation and responsible behavior in all phases of distribution and consumption. Asa
control jurisdiction, DLC facilitates the wholesale distribution of beer, wine and spirits to
approximately 1,000 licensed establishments in the county. Along with the sale and distribution
of a controlled substance comes a responsibility to educate and support the establishments
served to ensure the safety of Montgomery County residents and the vitality of licensed
businesses.

History On December 5, 1933, the Liquor Control Board for Montgomery County was established by
law. For the next 18 years, the Liquor Control Board controlled the sale and distribution of
beverage alcohol in Montgomery County and served as the Board of License Commissionets.
On July 1, 1951, the Department of Liquor Control was created by Section 159 of Article 2B of
the Annotated Code of Maryland, and the Board of License Commissioners became a totally
separate entity.

Net Revenue § $34,147,753 insv2015

of Montgomery | From FY 2006 through FY 2015, the Montgomery

County | County Department of Liquor Control has
contributed over $265 million to the county.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $14.81

Population 21 I 990,000
and over (Bstimate) (2014)

e e e B

Montgomery County distributes its net revenue into one avenue:

@ General Fund (100%)

Figures are from FY 2015




Distribution

(s}
Does jurisdiction
allow direct shipping
of wine? Yes, from

i iy

Montgomery County operates a central 220,000 square foot climate controlled warehouse.
'The warehouse typically contains over 390,000 cases of wine, beer and distilled spirits. The
warehouse normally stocks over 4,500 products and sells and delivers over 250,000 cases of
special order products. The warehouse delivers five days per week to over 1,000 privately
owned licensees via a fleet of 43 trucks owned by Montgomery County. On an average
week, the warehouse delivers 85,000 cases of beer, 28,000 cases of wine and spirits and 1,600

kegs of beer.

Outlets

Tax per beverage gallon™:
Spirits: $1.50

Wine: $0.40

Beer: $0.09

*These taxes are collected
by the state of Maryland.
Montgomery County does
not tax alcohol

e e

Definitions: Control svstems -- jurisdictions that di

Montgomery County has control of spirits, beer and wine at wholesale. Montgomery
County operates 25 retail Wine & Liquor Stores, An average of over 4,000 wines are stocked
in each store with a wide selection of bourbons and single malt scotches.

Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.
For every 100,000 residents ages

21 and older, there are
2.5 spirits outlets.

e e et ST

Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes, if grandfathered. State
Jaw prohibits sales of alcoholic beverages in chain store supermarkets and discount houses.

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer and wine

WS st

jon and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -~ revenie per person,




'The Michigan Liquor Control Commission falls under the state Department of Licensing
and Regulatory Affairs.

The MLCC was created after prohibition ended in 1933, In January of 1997, the MLCC closed
the two state-owned warehouses and the leased warehouse. The leases on each of the 63 state
distribution stores were also terminated. The purchasing system that was originally used
required the authorized distribution agents (ADAs) to transmit the licensee orders to the
state. Now, orders are obtained from the retail licensees online and transmitted to the ADAs.

Net Revenue § $379,598,142 112014

f Michigan
of Michigan § 1. 2005 through 2014, the MLCC has

contributed over $3.9 billion to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $36.82
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $1.39

Population 21 l 7,190,000
and over (Bstimate) (2013)

Michigan distributes its net revenue into four avenues:

® General Fund (72%) ® Licensing and Enforcement (2%)

o Local Governmental Units (14%) e School Aid Fund (12%)

Figuzes are from 2014




Distribution The MLCC does not own any retail stores nor does it manage distribution from
warehouses. Authorized distribution agents (ADAs) obtain orders from retail licensees

online and transmit these orders to the state.

(o]
s —— The MLCC began issuing direct shipping licenses in May 2006. These licensed U.S.
allow direct syippmg wineries may deliver ordered wine products to Michigan residents’ homes. There are
S e currently 964 wineries that hold Direct Shipper Licenses.

Outlets § Michigan holds control on spirits, wine and beer at wholesale. The state has 7,579 licensed
off-premise (or packaged liquor) establishments located throughout the state.

Tax per beverage gallon:
S&ﬁ::f zgg? Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $0.20 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

Yes,

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
105.4 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales
What types of alcohol are permitted?
Spirits, specially designated distributor license required.
Beer and Wine, specially designated merchant license required.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers {first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per persotl.




R M ISSISS I P PI : : V;1‘.}‘-_#:?[-.pv'.\.'.m'»-r.nr'.s:g‘r)v;’,
The Mississippi Office of Alcoholic Beverage Control is part of the state’s Department of

Revenue. It is tasked with regulating the legal and responsible dispensing of alcoholic
beverages within Mississippi.

History The MS ABC was founded after the state ended its prohibition in 1966. Mississippi was the
first state to ratify the 18th Amendment. Alcohol had been illegal in Mississippi since 1907.
Mississippi never ratified the 21st Amendment. Mississippi allowed beer in 1933, but no
liquor until 1966.

Net Revenue § $106,456,098 i 2014

of Mississippi | From 2003 through 2014, the Mississippi Office
of Alcoholic Beverage Control has contributed
more than $1 billion to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $27.31
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $5.23

Population 21 I 2,096,000
and over (Estimate) (2013)

e into four avenues:

A — "

e

revenu

'l\"/Iis sissippi d.tstnbutes 1ts

net
® General Fund (69.6%) ® Department of Mental Health
(6.5%)
® Cities and Counties (2.7%) ® Sales Tax (21.2%)

2.7% —

Figtires are from 2014




Distribution | As the state’s wholesaler, the ABC imports, stores, and sells 3 milllon cases of spirits
and wines annually from its 211,000 square foot warehouse, located in South Madison
County Industrial Park. ABC offers Mississippi’s 2,000 retail outlets almost 5,000
brands and sizes of beverage alcohol. For items not in its Price Book or its monthly Fine

Does jurisdiction Wine List, ABC develops and maintains business telations throughout the nation to

allow direct shipping
of wine? No

accommodate consumer orders of special products.

Qutlets | Mississippi holds control on spirits and wine at wholesale and retail. The state has 550
individually owned and operated package stores and 2,000 individually owned retail outlets.

Tax per beverage gallon:
S\;{);E: ﬁgi Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $0.43 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
36.4 spirits outlets,

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales

What types of alcohol are permitted?
E Beer and light wine.

T S,

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders,

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




Wl MONTANA

The Montana Liquor Control Division is part of the state’s Department of Revenue. It
maintains control of liquor licensing, enforcement of liquor laws and wholesale distribution

of distilled spirits. The LCD’s mission is to protect the health and safety of citizens by properly
licensing alcoholic beverage businesses, efficiently distributing alcoholic beverages and promoting
responsible sales, service and consumption of alcohol through a state controlled system.

htp://revenue.mt.gov/home/liqueraspx

History | Montana ended its retail monopoly of table wine (14% or less alcohol by volume) in October
1979 and raised this level six years later in 1985 to 16% alcohol by volume.

Retail privatization occurred in 1995, while the state continues to maintain control of wholesale
operations.

Net Revanie $38 310, 184* 10 FY2015 - Licensing and

of Montana | From 2003 through 2014, the Montana Liquor Enforcement
Control Division has contributed more than $376* =
million to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $41.63
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $3.88

*distilled spirits revenue for the control state including profit
and taxes, it does not include beer and wine tax

Population 21 l 745,000
and over (Hstimate) (2013)

Montana dlstrzbutes 1ts net revenue into two avenues*

® General Fund {95%) ® Department of Health and
(Includes: schools, roadways, etc,) Human Services (5%)
(Includes: prevention and treatment
programs}

Figures are from FY2015

*distilled spirits revenue for the control state
including profit and taxes, it does not include beer
and wine tax




Distribution | Distilled spirits are only sold in state agency franchised stores that are contracted with the
LCD. The LCD ships to all agency stores via a third party contract carrier. Licensed bars,
restaurants and the general public purchase distilled spirits from agency stores. Agency
@ stores may deliver to the licensees. Although beer and table wine are not distributed

(] : N . .
Daes fusisdiction through the state warehouse, the LCD is responsible for licensing and regulating the private
allow direct shipping distributors.
of wine? Yes

The LCD operates a 100,000 square foot central warehouse in Helena from where all liquor
products are distributed. The warehouse typically contains 142,000 cases.

Outlets | Montana has control of spirits at wholesale and has 97 agency stores.

Tax per beverage gallon:

Spirits: $3.74 Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise

Wine: $1.06 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Beer: $0.14

For spirits: Yes
For beer and wine: No
For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
13.0 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

Store Sales
What types of alcohol are permitted?

Beer and Wine :

e

e

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to whelesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers {third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person,

Scutces: 2013-2014 Survey Book, State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Program Reports for 2013, g
Montana Liqusor Control Division, The Beverage Information Group's 2014 Fact Book, The Beverage Information Group '

2014 _ - , NABCA

July 2005 WIST




The New Hampshire Liqguor Commission (NHLC) is an independent state agency responsible
for wholesale and retail operations. It is also responsible for licensing of carriers, direct
shippers, liquor wine representatives, and beverage vendors. It also enforces liquor laws.

History NHLC was established in 1934. In 2008, it was reorganized into three divisions: the Division of
Enforcement, Licensing and Education; the Division of Marketing and Sales; and the Division
of Administration.

NHLC is comprised of a Chairman and a Deputy Commissioner. Sales reached a record high of
$625.9 million in FY 2014,

Net Revenue § $149,300,000 i ry2014
of New Hampshire

From 1934, NHLC has contributed more than §
$3 billion to the state. NHLC is expecting to
net an additional $1 billion for the state in
the next seven years.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $82.98
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $36.58

Population 21 l 986,000
and over (Bstimate) (2013)

New Hampshlre distributes its net revenue mto one avenue:

@ General Fund (100%)
(Includes: Education, Health & Social Services, Transportation, and

National Resource Protection)

Figures are {rom FY 2014




Distribution | The Division of Marketing and Sales oversees the Liquor Commission’s functions related to
marketing, merchandising, purchasing, store operations, warehousing and distribution.

D ” through retail and wholesale. There are 78 retail stores located throughout the state.
auow'ff-ié:f sﬁﬁfpiﬁ;_ Wholesale sales are shipped from the Liquor Commission warehouse in Concord and a
of wine? Yes contracted bailment warehouse in Bow. Wholesale sales are also shipped through regulated
direct deliveries from vendors to licensees.

The Liquor Commission controls the distribution of alcoholic beverages in the state

Outlets | New Hampshire has control of spirits and wine at wholesale and retail. It has 78 state
operated NH Liquor & Wine Outlets, three agency stores that sell spirits and wine, and
Tax per beverage gallon: § 1,429 off-premise licensees that sell wine only.

Spirits: $0.00
Wine: $0.00 Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
St #:20 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
7.9 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer, table wines and fortified wines.

. - o e e

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




NORTH CAROLINA

- wwwabencgov/ ¥

Agency The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission is an independent government
=5 agency under the state Department of Public Safety (DPS). Enforcement of alcoholic beverage
laws is provided by the Alcohol Law Enforcement division of DPS, in conjunction with local law

enforcement agencies.

History In 1937, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted an Alcoholic Beverage Control bill
that allowed voters in each county to determine whether or not spirituous liquor should be
sold at retail. Once approved by the local voters, the Act allowed for a local ABC board to
operate retail stores. The Act also established a State ABC Commission to have oversight
authority with respect to each local ABC Board. As a result of this Act, there are 166 active
local ABC Boards in the state as of the end of FY 2014.

Gross Revenue $869 111 881 in 2014
of North Carolina § From 2004 through 2014, the North Carolina
ABC system has generated more than $7 billion
dollars in revenue.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $39.90
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $2.91

Population 21 I 7,025,000

and over (Estlmate) (2013)

North Garohna dlstnbutes the majority of the net revenue from the sale
of spirits into seven categories:

® General Fund (72.6%) @ Local Alcohol Education (3.2%)

e County - City Distributions (16.8%) & Local Law Enforcement {2.5%)

@ NC ABC & ABC Distribution @ Counties - Rehabilitation (0.9%)

Center (3.4%)
@ Department of Health and

2.5 0.9% Human Services (0.5%)

\\IOS%

72.6%

Figures are from 2014 '




Distribution | Local ABC boards operate retail stores while the state Commission manages wholesale
distribution of spirituous liquor and oversight of local ABC boards. Beer and wine is
distributed by private wholesalers to retail businesses permitted by the Commission.

o e The NC ABC Commission doubled its warehouse space in 2011 and now operates more
o
ﬂow'ﬁg&gp;g effectively in 400,000 square feet of space. For FY 2014, more than 5 million cases of
ofwine?Yes  liquor were received and shipped out to 166 local boards operating 423 retail outlets

Outlets | NC ABC Commission is the wholesale distributor of spirits in the state. Local governments
appoint members of ABC boards; local ABC boards operated 423 stores that sold spirits at
Tax per beverage gallon: §  retail in FY 2014,
Spirits: $5.72
Wine: $1.00 Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise

Been {052 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
6.0 spirits outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

Store Sales
What types of alcohol are permitted?

Beer and Wine, Beer and wine are sold at other outlets, but liquor is exclusively sold at ABC
stores.

=

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcchol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producets/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person,




- klipifawweont.oliogo/liq

The Ohio Division of Liquor Control manages a system of agency stores, called “Contract
Liquor Agencies,” for the wholesale and retail sale of spirituous liquor. Spirituous liquor

is intoxicating liquor containing more than 21% alcohol by volume. The Division selects
products and sets the prices at which the Contract Liquor Agencies sell to licensed retailers
and consumers. Spirituous liquor sold by Contract Liquor Agencies to licensed retailers and
consumers is owned by JobsOhio Beverage System.

History In 1983, Ohio completed a conversion from state-run warehouses and state-owned stock
system to a bailment system. From 1991-1996, it converted all state stores to private businesses
called contract liquor agencies. In Fiscal Year 2013, the transfer of Ohio’s wholesale liquor
enterprise to the non-profit JobsOhio Beverage System was completed.

Net Sales § $982,337,000 12015
of Ohio

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $27.05
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $1.19

Population 21 I 8,400,000
and over (Bstimate) (2013)

Ohio Division of Liquor Control Permit Fee Distribution
FY 2015: -
@ Local and State Entities

® Local Law Enforcement
® Liquor Regulatory Fund*

® Ohio Department of Mental
Health and Addiction

*the Division contributed $10 million from the state’s Liquor Regulatory Fund to the
Ohio General Revenue Fund.

JobsOhio Beverage System granted $120 million to

JobsOhio for economic development FY 2015:

& Economic Development




Distribution 'The Division of Liquor Control manages wholesale and retail operations with the goal of
increasing profits without encouraging increased consumption. Profits from spirits provide
dedicated funding for JobsOhio's economic development efforts. JobsOhio Beverage System is
@ the sole purchaser and distributor of spirituous liquor (intoxicating liquor containing more than
21% alcohol by volume) in Ohio. The Division selects and prices the products, and JobsOhio

Does jurisdiction Beverage System supplies them to “Contract Liquor Agencies” on consignment. Contract
allow direct : ; . . « d 4l 1 1% i
slipplnig? Yes Liquor Agencies are private businesses which own and operate retail outlets selling other goods

and services to the public, such as beer, wine and low proof mixed beverages.

Outlets § jobsOhio Beverage System has control of spirits at wholesale and retail. It has 466 private
_ liquor agencies. The Division issues permits to the state’s approximately 24,000 privately
Tax per beverage gallon: § owned and operated manufacturers, distributors and retailers of alcoholic beverages.

Spirits: $3.38
v;i:: :g?; Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Yes.

PFor every 100,000 residents ages

21 and older, there are

5.5 spirits outlets.

EEmmsne——ey == e :

. Grocery § Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes
Store Sales ;

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer, wine and mixed beverages in sealed containers

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

[hree-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




.0 RE G O N www.oregon.gov/OLCC

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is an independent state agency under the Governor.
The Commission is the agency responsible for regulating the sale and service of alcoholic
beverages in Oregon by administering the state’s Liquor Control Act and regulating the sale of
recreational marijuana in Oregon through the Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana
and Industrial Hemp Act. Five citizen commissioners set policy for the OLCC and are appointed
by the governor to four-year terms, subject to Senate confirmation. Each commissioner represents
a U.S. Congressional District within the state, with one coming from the food and beverage
industry. The agency is headquartered in Portland with regional offices in Bend, Eugene, Medford
and Salem.

HiStOI‘Y The Oregon Liquor Control Commission was created in 1933 by a special session of the Legistature after
national prohibition ended. In the early 1980s, Oregon transitioned the last state-owned liquor store to
private independent contractors to sell distilled spirits.

In 1985, Oregon became the first state in the country to require training for all of its alcohol servers.

Oregon law expanded in 2008 to allow business opportunities for craft distillers, and to help promote the
industry.

Oregon became the third state in the nation to allow recreational marijuana sales after the passage of the
axation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act in 2014.

Net Revenue | $435,500,000 2013-2015 Biennium & Licensmg-and
of Oregon From 2004 through June 2015, the OLCC has o Enfor"3"5'-117-1(31‘1't

contributed close to $1.8 billion to the state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $55.94*
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $2.53*

Population 21 I 2,941,000
and over (Bstimate 2015)

s e e

T R
Oregon distributes its net revenue into six avenues:

® State General Fund (56.8%) ® Counties (8.9%)

e CitvR Sharing A t*(12.4%) ® Mental Health, Alcoholism,
A Ve ST CeaTar ) and Drug Services (4.0%)

. Oregon Wine Board (0.1%) *Clty Revenue Sharlng - funds that go to all Oregon citles

** Incorporated Clties — cities that are incorporated

@ Incorporated Cities™ (17.7%)

4.0%

: all
Figures are from 2013-2015 Bienniam NABQ




Spirits are only sold in retail liquor locations operated and managed by ‘state-appointed
liquor agents who act as independent contractors. The OLCC ships to its contract

retail stores, though the retail stores may also pick up the product, if desired. Bars and
@ restaurants purchase spirits from the retail stores. Generally, they pick up their orders,

Distribution

(o]

D yrtsdiction but delivery is allowed.
allow direct shipping
of wine? Yes Beer and wine are handled through private distributors who generally deliver products

to the retailers. Bars and restaurants also receive their goods from the distributors. Retail
to retail or retail to bar is not allowed, as the seller would be acting as a wholesaler, an
activity for which they do not hold a license.

Outlets | Oregon has control of spirits at wholesale and has 248 privately owned contract stores. The
number of off-premise outlets for beer and wine are 4,621.

Tax per beverage gallon:
Sﬁ;ﬁﬁ Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $0.08 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
8.4 spirits outlets.

R == o - T e e e :
= T L o

Is the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

HBTSales What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer, Wine and Cider permitted with liquor license. :
Grocery stores can apply for a retail sales agent agreement to sell distilled spirits when an opening is
available.
= — = == == =]

Definitions: Control systems -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

[hree-tier system - the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States, Producers/manu-
facturers {first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.

: Soﬁ_rces: 2013-2014 Survey Book, State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Program Reporls for 2013, E '
Oregon Liquor Control Commission®, The Beverage Information Groups 2014 Fact Book, 'The Beverage Information

~ Group 2014, Portland State University poprilation répotts NABm

Decetiber 2015, - WEST




PENNSYLVANIA

Swwwlehista

The Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (PLCB) is a state agency responsible for all

licensing and retailing, and provides education programs on the effects of alcobol. The PLCB
regulates every liquor transaction in Pennsylvania, including the manufacture, importation,

sale, distribution and disposition of liquor, alcohol and malt or brewed beverages in the
commonwealth. The agency issues licenses to private individuals or entities that wish to engage
in wholesale operations of beer, either as an importing distributor or as a distributor. 'The agency
is responsible for wholesale operations of wine and spirits, which retailers pick up from the state-
operated wine and spirits stores.

The PLCB was created on Dec. 1, 1933. The agency was responsible for setting up a system of
state-run stores to sell wine and spirits, for issuing liquor licenses to hotels, restaurants and clubs
and finally enforcing the laws and regulations concerning the sale of alcohol in the state, On
January 2, 1934, the first 63 state stores and five warehouses opened for business. In 1987, the
legislature passed a law transferring the enforcement of the Liquor Code from the PLCB to the
Pennsylvama State Police where it remains today

Gross Revenue | $2.24 billion in v 2013-2014
of Pennsylvania* | prom 1933 through fiscal year 2012-2013, the
PLCB has contributed nearly $15 billion to
the state.

and over

Population 21 I 9,465,000

(Estimate) (2013}

Pennsylvama d1str1butes its collected taxes and net income into

four avenues:

® Pennsylvania Treasury (943%) & The Department of Drug and
Alcohol Programs (0.4%)

® Pennsylvania State Police for
the Enforcement of Liquor ® Local Communities (0.8%)

Laws (4.5%)
0 4%

45%\

Figures are from FY 2013-2014




Distribution | The PLCB uses three distribution centers in Philadelphia, Scranton and Pittsburgh totaling
903,000 square feet, roughly 15.5 football fields. Three privately held companies operate the

warehouses, ‘
@ The PLCB does offer delivery to large licensees and home delivery for consumers who order
product from the PLCB’s website, www.FineWineAndGoodSpirits.com.

Does jurisdiction

allow direct shipping of
wine? The PLCB ships Malt beverages are sold in case lots and in single containers containing at least 128 fluid
wine and spirits directly o ounces (12-packs) by on-premise establishments.

consumers, A winery li-

F”;;“ed a limited “‘iﬂl‘:_f Y Restaurants and bars may buy wine and spirits from either the PLCB or a Pennsylvania-
m ennsy vania, mﬂy 5 .lp . . . b I . e

ine and aloohotic cder 1o licensed manufacturer, such as a limited winery, limited distillery or distillery.

retail licensees and private

residences.

Outlets Pennsylvania has control of spirits, and table and fortified wine at wholesale and retail.
'The agency operates 604 Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores, including 75 Premium Collection

Tax per beverage gallon: §  stores and 1 eCommerce store.
55\:,::: :ﬁgz Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premises
Beer: $0.08 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area? Yes.

The PLCB has the discretion to grant or refuse a new license or transfer if the applicant to be licensed is within
three hundred feet of any church, hospital, charitable institution, school or public playground, or if such new
license or transfer is within two hundred feet of any other premises which is licensed by the board, The Board
can also refuse any new license or the transfer of any license to a new location if; in the board’s opinion, it
would be detrimental to the welfare, health, peace and morals of the inhabitants of the neighborhood within a
radius of five hundred feet of the place proposed to be licensed.
For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
6.3 sp1r1ts outlets.

Grocery | Isthe sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Wine and spirits can only be
Store Sales | sold by PLCB employees for off-premises consumption. The state has 19 Fine Wine & Good Spirits
stores with an interior connection to supermarkets. Up to a 12-pack of beer can be sold for carry
out in grocery stores if the establishment has a retail liquor license.

Definitions: Control syster systems -- Jumsdmtmns that dlrectiy control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

evenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




www.abc.utah.gov/

The Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is an independent state department. It
operates a network of state stores and package agencies that sell all alcoholic beverages, except beer
containing less than 4% alcohol by volume (which is sold in grocery and convenience stores), and
maintains wholesale control.

The department employs a full-time executive director to oversee day-to-day operations.
The policy of the department, as set by statute, is to operate as a public business using sound
management principles and practices, and function with the intent of servicing the public demand

for alcoholic beverages.

History The UDABC has existed since 1935. In that year, the Utah State Legislature created the department
by statute, and charged it with responsibly licensing and regulating the sale of alcoholic beverages
in a manner and at prices which reasonably satisfies the public demand and protects the public
interest. This includes the rights of citizens who do not wish to be involved with alcoholic
beverages. The legislature also mandated that the department operate as a public business using
sound management principles and practices.

Licensing and -
Net Revenue | $144,903,967 112014 : Enforcement
of Utah | Prom 2003 through 2014, the UDABC has ' |
contributed more than $1.168 billion to the
state.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $48.66
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $2.98

Population 21 I 1,850,756
and over (Bstimate} (2013)

Utah dlstnbutes its gross* revenue into five avenues:

e Cost of Liquor Sold (50%) » Total Operating Cost (11%)
@ Sales Tax (s%) ® Net Profit to General Fund (24%)
@ School Lunch and Public Safety *Gross revenue for 2014 is $370,861,355.

Transfer (10%)

Figures are from 2013




All purchases for on premise licenses are done through the state system. Pricing for

Distribution :
products is the same throughout the entire state.

Retail to retail or retail to bar is not allowed, as the seller would be acting as a wholesaler,
@ an activity for which they do not hold a license.

Does jurisdiction Beer over 4% ABV, wine and spirits are sold through the state liquor system. General
allow dirett:‘t shipping grocery stores sell beer that is less than 4% ABV (3.2% by weight).
of wine? No

Outlets | The Department operates 44 state liquor and wine stores and over 100 package agencies or
contract stores. A state liquor and wine store, operated by state employees, carries a full line

Tax per beverage gallon: : s 4 s ;
- Spifits? ss.15 | ofliqueurs, wines, spirits, and some full strength beers. These stores are found in the more

Wine: $6.67 populated areas of the state.

Beer: §0.41
Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise

outlets in a neighborhaod/precinct/condensed area?

No.
For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
8.3 spirits outlets,

Grocery Is the sale of alcoholic bever
Store Sales

I

What types of alcohol are permitted?
3.2% Beer

e, e e e
D e R e e L )

Control systems -- ju‘risdictionsrfﬁ;ilt' d1rectly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Definitions:

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibitior. in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers {third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.

Sources: 2013-2014 Survey Book; State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Prograin Reports for 2013,
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, The Beverage Information Groups 2014 Fact Book, The Beverage Infor-

mation Group 2014 & g m

Miy 2015 WEST
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The Vermont Department of Liquor Control is a state department governed by a five person
board appointed by the Governor. It is responsible for retail operations of spirits through
contracted agents, licensing and enforcement. The department serves the public by preventing
the misuse of alcohol and tobacco through controlled distribution, enforcement and education,

The Vermont DLC employs 51 people in its warehouse; education, licensing and enforcement;
and administrative and general departments.

HiStOl‘y | The Vermont DLC was created in 1933. Conversion of state-run spirits stores to contracted
stores began in 1986 and the last state stores converted in 1996. All liquor agency stores sell
spirits, but many have licenses to sell beer and wine as well.

e R T e e A S

Net Revenue § $22,930,797 12014
to Vermont

Vermont distributes its net revenue into one avenue:
@ General Pund (100%)

Flgures are from 2014

From 2003 through 2013, the Vermont Department of Liquor
Control has contributed more than $167 millien to the state.

Revenue per capita* for spirits sales: $36.13
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $3.45

*Definition of Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




Distribution Spirits are only sold in liquor stores operated and managed by state-appointed liquor agents
who act as independent contractors. The DLC ships to its contract retail stores, though the
retail stores may also pick up the product, if desired. Bars and restaurants purchase from

the retail stores.

Beer and wine wholesalers in Vermont hold franchise contracts to deliver products to the
retailers. Bars and restaurants also receive their goods from the distributors. Retail to retail
or retail to bar is not allowed, as the seller would be acting as a wholesaler, an activity for
which they do not hold a license.

Salesand | Vermont has control of spirits at wholesale and retail. It has 80 agency stores.
Outlets

Spirits are sold in convenience stores. Beer and wine* are sold in grocery stores.

Vermont does not have policies/laws/regulations for the density of off-premise outlets in a
neighborhood/precinct/condensed area.

Wet/dry decisions require local option votes in counties, cities and municipalities.

*wine can also be directly shipped

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
17.1 spirits outlets.

of beverage alcohol in their borders,

-- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale

-

Definitions: Control systems

hree-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States, Producers/manu-
 facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell te retailers {third tier).




= atp/fwwwabcvirginggov - 2

Agency The Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is a state agency under the Office
: of Public Safety and Homeland Security. It is responsible for wholesale and retail operations of
spirits, enforcement of state liquor laws, and licensing.

History | The Virginia ABC has existed since 1934, and the first four ABC stores opened in Richmond
on May 15 of that year. In 1936, the General Assembly granted full police powers to the
Departments designated agents to enforce the laws against bootlegging and moonshining,
Local and federal officials had originally been expected to perform the enforcement functions,
but more help was needed.

Net Profits | $139,987,344 in2014
of Virginia '

: From 2003 through 2014, Virginia ABC has
contributed $3.9 billion to the state in the form of
profits and taxes.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $39.12
Revenue per capita for wine sales: N/A*
*not relevant or comparable since only Virginia wines are

Population 21 l 5,928,000
and over (Bstimate) {2013)

Virginia distributes its net profits into two avenues:

@ General Fund (52%) ® Appropriation Act Transfers (48%)

TFigures are from 2014




Distribution Spirits are only sold in state operated ABC stores. Spirits, mixers and a selection of Virginia wines
are shipped statewide from the Central Warehouse in Richmond. Virginia ABC ships to its stores
and licensee restaurants purchase from the store of their choosing. Virginia ABC operates on

a bailment system, where the agency is not charged for the product until it is shipped out of the

Does jurisdiction warehouse.
allow direct shipping
of wine? Yes Beer and wine are handled through private distributors who generally deliver products to the

retallers Retail to retail or retail to restaurant is not allowed, as the seller would be acting asa

anaiﬁ"i.‘ LTI ffa ini’s
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Outlets §| Virginia has control of spirits at wholesale and retail. It has 351 state operated retail stores.

Tax per beverage gallon:
! Spi fits;gsms Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Wine: $1.51 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Beer; $0.28

No.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
5 9 spirits out[ets 7

Grocery | s the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes

Store Sales

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer and Wine

Deﬁmtlons Jm:gl_m;gmﬂ -] uI‘iSdlct].D[lS that d1rect1y control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their burders

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second ticr) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




EST VIRGINIA

= hnpliwwwabeasvvigovs

Net Revenue | $18,727,328 12015
of West Virginia

Population 21
and over

West Virglnla dlstnbutes its net revenue into one avenue:

o General Fund (100%)

The West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (WVABCA) is a revenue generating state

agency under the West Virginia Department of Revenue. The WVABCA’s mission is to regulate and control
the manufacture, sale, distribution, transportation, storage and consumption of alcohol while assuring the
greatest degree of personal freedom consistent with the health, safety and welfare of every West Virginian.
The WVABCA' core functions are; enforcing the laws and regulations, performing all licensing functions
and operating a wholesale Distribution Center in a cost efficient manner.

The WVABCA was created in 1935. In 1981, the state privatized wine sales. In 1990, a law was passed to
discontinue all retail sales of alcohol by the state, but it retained the distribution of liquor. Two hundred
and fourteen state liquor stores were bid out to allow the private sector to purchase retail liquor outlet
stores in assigned market zones in 1990 and 1991. Every ten years the Retail Liquor Licensing Board RLLB
reviews the marlet zones and the existing number of retail liquor outlet stores in the state to direct the
WYVABCA to proceed with the rebid. There are currently 178 retail liquor outlet stores in West Virginia that
were obtained through a bidding process and who also pay annual license fees. These licenses will expire

June 30, 2020.
e ]

From 2002 through 2015, the West Virginia
Alcohol Beverage Control Administration has
contributed more than $226 million to the
stafe.

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $§13.70
Revenue per caplta for wme sales. $2 79

1,400,000
(Estimate) {2014}

Figures ace from 2015




Distribution ] In West Virginia, the WVABCA conducts wholesale sale of spirits, while the retail sale
of spirits is privately owned and provided by 178 retail liquor outlet stores. Wine reaches
the retail market through suppliers and distributors with approved and registered
products not assigned to a specific territory. Beer is under a franchise system with specific

Does jurisdiction franchise agreements detailing geographic and brand requirements.
allow direct shipping

of wine? Yes

lﬁ" 'f_é_f_gig‘ﬁjau* :‘-‘ 5!3 eeond a§”°§ =has - u)uﬁja""asim FEuthy
foEA e o0 balc oty ézr:nnim"iaéa g_;,é, TEdcros
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Outlets § West Virginia has 178 privately owned retail liquor outlet stores.

Tax per beverage gallon: Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Spirits: $2.83 . 2 . "
i $1.00 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Beer: $0.18 Yes.

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
12.7 spmts outlets.

Grocery | Is the sale of alcoholic beverﬁgés permitfed in -grocery stores? Yes

Store Sales What types of alcohol are permitted?

E Beer, wine and spirits.

Deﬁmtlons' Qgg_r__lj;gg,teﬂ -- jurisdictions that directly control the distribution and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

Three-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers {first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue Per Capita -- revenue per person.




B WYOMING

The Wyoming Liquor Division is a part of the state’s Department of Revenue. It is responsible

for wholesale liquor operations, liquor licensing and enforcement. It is committed to establishing
successful relationships with all of its partners of the trade. The division is run as a business equally
concerned about the welfare of its employees and the survival of the liquor industry, as it serves the

citizens of Wyoming.

http://eliquor.wyoming. gov/index.aspx

History | On May 15, 1933, Wyoming voters elected to ratify the 21st Amendment. On April 1, 1935, the
legislative bills creating the Wyoming Liquor Commission became law. The Liquor Commission
consisted of the Governor, Secretary of State and the State Treasurer. In 1949, the legislature
created a bill adding the State Auditor and the State Superintendent of Public Instruction to the
Liquor Commission. In 1996, under government reorganization, the legislature dissolved the
Liquor Commission and created a separate division within the Department of Revenue.

Licensing and
Enforcement

Net Revenue | $15,500,917 12014

of Wyoming | From 2003 through 2014, the Wyoming Liquor
Division has contributed more than $140 million

to the state,

Revenue per capita for spirits sales: $18.74
Revenue per capita for wine sales: $12.31

Population 21 I 418,000
and over (Estimate) (2013)

= o

Wyoming distributes its net revenue into one avenue:

® GGeneral Fund (1oo%)

100%

PFigures are from 2014




Distribution | The Wyoming Liquor Division moved into a new facility in February 2012. The 140,000 square
foot warehouse has 17 dock doors to accommodate all shipping and receiving. The warehouse
has incorporated new technologies such as pick-to-voice computer assisted, paperless picking
@ methods, pushback racking, and a new bottle line for filling single bottle orders.

(o]
Does jurisdiction Wyoming’s control state model is based on providing timely and efficient distribution of wine

allow direct shipping and spirits to a geographically vast but sparsely populated state. Wyoming's more than 1,250
ofwine?Yas  privately-owned retail establishments enjoy unparalleled service, minimal markup at the
wholesale level, and access to virtually any product in the marketplace. Ovér 2184 wines and
spirits are available to licensees daily. More than 48,576 cases of special items were shipped to
retailers in TY 2014, 'The state’s online ordering system, Eliquor, was used by 575 retailers who
placed 41,915 orders. There were 911,981 standard nine-liter cases sold in FY2014, Case sales
were 57% spirits and 43% wine. '

Outlets | Wyoming has control of spirits and wines at wholesale. The Wyoming Liquor Division
serves over 1,250 privately-owned retail establishments throughout the state.

Tax per beverage gallon:
S&gﬁf i(l)ig Does your jurisdiction have policies/laws/regulations that regulate the density of off-premise
Beer: $0.02 outlets in a neighborhood/precinct/condensed area?
Wyoming statutes require that liquor licenses are issued vi a population formula in statute.

Liquor licenses are issued by local licensing authorities. For locations within an incorporated city
or town, the licensing authority is the city/town council. For locations outside of an incorporated
city/town, the local licensing authority would be the board of county commissioners,

For every 100,000 residents ages
21 and older, there are
70.3 spmts outlets

Grocery | s the sale of alcoholic beverages permitted in grocery stores? Yes, but alcoholic beverages
Store Sales | must be sold in a separate licensed room.

What types of alcohol are permitted?
Beer, Wine and Spirits

Deﬁm‘tlons ontrol S){s:gms jurischctmns that dn’ecﬁy control the dlstnbu‘uon and sale of beverage alcohol in their borders.

hree-tier system -- the method of alcohol distribution developed after Prohibition in the United States. Producers/manu-
facturers (first tier) can sell products only to wholesalers/distributors (second tier) who then sell to retailers (third tier).

Revenue P ita -- revenue per person.

Sources: 2013-2014 Survey Book, State Alcohol Tax Rates (Spring 2014), Educational Awards Program Reports for 2013,
Wyoming Liquor Division, The Beverage Information Group's 2014 Fact Book, The Beverage Infor mat:on Group 2014

NABCA
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