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The Department of Revenue and Taxa-
tion has amended the Oilfield Site Restora-
tion Fee regulation to change the due date
for the report and payment(s). The due date
is now the fifteenth day of the second month
following the end of the quarter. This is
effective with the first quarter of 1997 and
each quarter thereafter.

Quarter Ending Due Date of Return
March, 1997 May 15, 1997
June, 1997 August 15, 1997
September, 1997 November 17, 1997
December, 1997 February 16, 1998

Title 61, Part I, Chapter 53, Section
5301(C)(3) was amended as follows:

Due date changed for natural
gas oilfield site restoration fee

3. The fees levied by R.S. 30:87(B), on
natural gas, shall be due on a quarterly
basis and will be due on or before the
fifteenth day of the second month following
the last day of the quarter period and shall
become delinquent after this date and shall
be subject to interest, penalties, and costs as
provided in Chapter 18, Subtitle II of Title
47.

Questions about the above change should
be directed to the Severance Tax Division at
(504) 925-7500. Complete copies of all
newly adopted rules are available through
Fax Link, the Department’s fax-on-demand
system, at (504) 922-2984. The Fax Link
document number for the Oilfield Site Res-
toration Fee regulation is 4008.  ■

Optional federal
income tax
deduction available
to individuals

Resident individuals claiming foreign tax
credit on their federal income tax returns
have two options for computing the federal
income tax deduction on their Louisiana
income tax return. The first option is to
deduct a federal income tax amount that has
been reduced by the federal foreign tax
credit and also take the special allowable
credit on Schedule A. The second option is
to deduct a federal income tax amount that
has not been reduced by the federal foreign
tax credit and forego the special allowable
credit on Schedule A.

Taxpayers should use the option that re-
sults in the lowest Louisiana income tax.
For taxpayers with a large foreign tax credit
on their federal income tax return, the most
beneficial method will be to deduct the
federal income tax amount that has not been
reduced by the foreign tax credit and forego
the special allowable credit. The reason for
using this method in this case is that federal
income tax is a deduction on the Louisiana
return. The larger the deduction, the better
for the taxpayer.

The special allowable credit is 10 percent
of certain federal credits, including the for-
eign tax credit, but it is limited to $25. For
individuals with a large foreign tax credit,
the larger deduction is more valuable than
the limited credit. The option is further
explained in the 1996 resident return in-
structions.  ■

Taxation of insurance companies
The Louisiana taxation of insurance com-

panies does not follow federal law. Insur-
ance companies compute their net income
according to the provisions of Revised Stat-
utes 47:221 through 47:227, rather than
follow the corporation income tax law en-
acted in 1986 (R.S. 47:287 et seq). Insur-
ance companies are not allowed a net
operating loss carryback or carryover.

The provisions referred to above provide
for the computation of net income as fol-
lows:
• Life insurance companies - R.S. 47:221
through R.S. 47:223 and R.S. 47:225.

• Insurance companies other than life or
mutual - R.S. 47:224 and R.S. 47:225.
• Mutual insurance companies other than
life - R.S. 47:226.

Insurance companies are allowed an off-
set against the income tax in the amount of
any taxes based on premiums they have paid
within the preceding twelve-month period,
as per R.S. 47:227. This credit is claimed on
line 3D of the corporation income and fran-
chise tax return.

Additionally, insurance companies that
pay a premium tax are exempt from corpo-
ration franchise tax under R.S. 47:608.  ■
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Effective December 20, 1996, the De-
partment adopted LAC 61:I.4907 concern-
ing remittance of tax under protest and the
suits to recover. The regulation deals with
ambiguities not directly addressed by Re-
vised Statute 47:1576(B) by expressly pro-
viding three options for giving notification
of amounts of income tax or corporation
franchise tax paid under protest and the
intent to file suit for recovery.

Title 61
REVENUE AND TAXATION

Part I. Taxes Collected and
Administered by the

Secretary of Revenue and Taxation
Chapter 49. Tax Collection
§4907. Remittance of Tax Under Protest;
Suits to Recover
A. For the purposes of this Section, esti-

mated taxes shall include any amounts
paid on account of a tax prior to the due
date or extended due date of the return
required for such tax. Estimated taxes
shall also include overpayments of in-

Effective November 20, 1996, the De-
partment adopted LAC 61:I.1701 concern-
ing the interest on delinquent inheritance
and estate transfer taxes. The regulation
establishes the instances when interest on
inheritance and estate transfer tax payments
may be waived and the procedures to follow
to obtain a waiver of interest.

Title 61
REVENUE AND TAXATION

Part I. Taxes Collected and
Administered by the

Secretary of Revenue and Taxation
Chapter 17. Inheritance and Estate
Transfer Tax
§1701.  Extension of Time to File; Waiver
of Interest
A. Definitions. For the purposes of this

Section, the following terms are defined:
Bona Fide Contested—instances when

the right of any heir or legatee to receive
an inheritance or legacy is contested in
the succession proceeding.
Ignorant of the Inheritance—instances
when the heir, legatee, or beneficiary
lacked knowledge of either his right to
inherit or of the property to be inherited.

B. Waiver of Interest. Interest on inherit-
ance and estate transfer taxes may be
waived by the Secretary if the settlement
of the succession is bona fide contested
or the beneficiary was ignorant of the
inheritance. Beneficiaries or their legal
representative requesting waiver of in-
terest must make written application to
the Secretary including the reasons why
waiver of interest should be granted.

C. 1. Extension of Time to File. In all
cases in which reasonable cause is
established to the satisfaction of the
court having jurisdiction over the

succession, an extension of time to
file an inheritance tax return without
the payment of interest may be
granted.

2. When it is shown that an estate is
required to file a federal estate tax
return, such fact shall be deemed
reasonable cause for granting an ex-
tension to file without the payment of
interest not to exceed 15 months from
the date of death.

3. An application for an extension to
file a return must be submitted to the
court prior to the time that the tax
becomes due. An extension of time
to file a return without the payment
of interest for periods exceeding 15
months from the date of death may be
granted by the court if the Secretary
consents or is made a party to the
proceeding.  ■

New rule defines instances for waiver of interest on inheritance
and estate transfer tax payments

Department adopts rule for payments under protest
come tax designated on the prior year’s
return as an amount of overpayment to
be credited to the next year’s return. The
term shall not include any other credits,
including, but not limited to, enterprise
zone credits or inventory tax credits.

B. R.S. 47:1576(B) makes specific provi-
sions for income and corporation fran-
chise taxes paid under protest. This
regulation addresses the ambiguities not
directly addressed by R.S. 47:1576(B)
by expressly providing three options for
giving notification of amounts of in-
come tax or corporation franchise tax
paid under protest and the intent to file
suit for recovery.
1. Under the first option a taxpayer may

make payments of estimated income
and franchise taxes under protest and
at that time give Notice of Intent to
file suit for recovery. The amount
paid under protest will be placed in
an escrow account upon receipt of
the notice. This is the method that has
generally been required prior to this

regulation. It is not the intent of this
regulation to change any procedures
that existed prior to this regulation if
the taxpayer chooses to follow this
option.

2. Under the second option a taxpayer
may consider, for purposes of this
option only, payments of estimated
taxes and, in the case of individual
income tax, withholding taxes as re-
quired deposits that do not become
payments of the income or franchise
taxes until they are so designated on
the income or franchise tax return
filed for the taxable period. Under
this option the taxpayer must make
notification of the amount of tax be-
ing paid under protest and the intent
to file suit for recovery at the time the
return for the taxable period is filed.
This notification should be in dupli-
cate, once with the return and again
as a separate notification to the Sec-
retary. The amount designated as paid

Continued on page 4
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Telefile program expanded
This year’s expanded TeleFile Program

is offering more than 430,000 Louisiana
taxpayers the opportunity to speed their
refunds by filing their 1996 state individual
income tax return by touchtone telephone.
In last year’s pilot program, more than 11,500
taxpayers used TeleFile.

Under the program, certain taxpayers se-
lected by the Department were mailed
TeleFile booklets in addition to their state
individual income tax booklet. Those tax-
payers have the option to either TeleFile,
file electronically, or file the traditional
paper IT-540 return.

Taxpayers wishing to TeleFile can do so
only if the name and address are correct as
printed on the TeleFile booklet and they
meet the following criteria: no change in
their filing status; no increase in the number
of exemptions; no itemized deductions for
federal income tax purposes; not more than
five W-2s, including spouse if filing jointly;
all income reported to the Internal Revenue
Service must be taxable to Louisiana (Sched-
ule E filers not eligible); must have made no
estimated payments for 1996 or have any
carryforward credit to 1996; must not be

Act 15 of the 1996 Regular Session of the
Louisiana Legislature provides limited sales
and use tax exclusions, effective July 1,
1997, for certain purchases, leases, rentals,
and sales made by approved parochial and
private elementary and secondary schools.
The exclusions are effective for one year,
until July 1, 1998. Before claiming the ex-
clusions provided by Act 15, schools must
receive certificates of eligibility from the
Department of Revenue and Taxation.

Under this act, approved private and pa-
rochial elementary and secondary schools
can make state and local tax-free purchases,
leases, or rentals of books, workbooks,
computers, computer software, films, vid-
eos, and audio tapes to be used for class-
room instruction. In addition, these schools,
their students, administrators, teachers, and
other employees can sell tangible personal
property without collecting sales or use tax

Limited  exclusion available for parochial and private
elementary and secondary schools

on the sales, provided that the net proceeds,
after the deduction of reasonable and neces-
sary expenses associated with the sales, are
used solely and exclusively to support the
school, its programs, or curricula. The act
specifically provides that the exclusion from
the collection of the sales tax on sales not be
construed to allow tax-free sales to students
or their families by promoters or regular
commercial dealers through the use of
schools, school faculty, or school facilities.

To be approved for these exclusions, the
schools must comply with the court order
from the Brumfield v. Dodd [405 F.Supp.
338 (1975) and 425 F.Supp. 528 (1976)]
decision and Section 501(c)(3) of the United
States Internal Revenue Code. In Brumfield
v. Dodd, the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Louisiana held that
racially segregated private schools were
ineligible for state assistance. The court

ordered the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education (BESE) to initiate a
certification procedure to determine the eli-
gibility of all private schools that wanted to
receive state assistance.

In order to be eligible to claim the limited
exclusion provided by Act 15, schools must
provide documentation to the Department
that they have been recognized by BESE as
eligible for state assistance, and that they
are recognized under Section 501(c)(3) of
the United State Internal Revenue Code as
qualified nonprofit organizations. Applica-
tion forms for the exemption can be ob-
tained from any office of the Department
beginning in April, 1997.  ■

eligible to claim credit for taxes paid to
another state, special credits, or a business
inventory tax credit (Schedule A filers are
not eligible); have a federal adjusted gross
income of $200,000 or less; and, have state
income tax withholdings of $10,000 or less
in 1996.

To TeleFile, a taxpayer using a touchtone
telephone only needs to complete the short
worksheet in the TeleFile booklet, call the
toll-free 800 number listed in the booklet,
and enter the tax information from the
TeleFile worksheet. To complete the
worksheet, the taxpayer must enter their
Social Security Number, Personal Identifi-
cation Number (the PIN is supplied with the
booklet), exemption information, federal
adjusted gross income, and W-2 informa-
tion on employer wages and state income
tax withheld.

After entering the information from the
worksheet, the tax will be calculated auto-
matically and the taxpayer will be told the
amount of his refund. If a balance due is
calculated, the taxpayer will be instructed to
file electronically or file the traditional pa-
per IT-540 return.  ■

Jimmy M. Newsom, 57, of 101 Highway
56, Kelly, Louisiana, has pled guilty to one
count of mail fraud for his involvement in a
scheme to defraud the IRS, state taxing
authorities, taxpayers, and credit issuing
agencies. According to United States Attor-
ney Michael Skinner and the Department’s
Special Investigations Division, Newsom
fraudulently operated three H&R Block fran-
chises in Ruston, Columbia, and Winnfield.

An investigation revealed that beginning
in 1993, Newsom fraudulently obtained in
excess of $70,000 in federal tax refund
checks, $13,500 in state tax refund checks,
and $18,000 in credit. The scheme involved
preparing fraudulent federal and state
amended tax returns using the names and
Social Security Numbers of his customers,
having both  legitimate refund checks and
refund checks from the fraudulent amended
returns sent to addresses controlled by
Newsom, and obtaining various credit cards
by utilizing the names, Social Security Num-
bers and occupational information of his
customers.

Mail fraud carries a maximum penalty of
five years imprisonment and a $250,000
fine. Newsom is no longer affiliated with
any H&R Block office.  ■

Kelly man pleads
guilty to mail fraud
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perse information concerning Louisiana tax mat-
ters deemed to be of public interest under authority
of R.S. 47:1509. This material was printed in accor-
dance with the standards for printing by state agen-
cies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31.

M. J. “Mike” Foster, Jr. John Neely Kennedy
Governor Secretary

under protest will be placed in an escrow account upon receipt of the notice. This
regulation does not extend or modify the time within which the taxpayer must file
suit as provided by R.S. 47:1576(B).

3. The third option available to a taxpayer is to use a combination of the first two
options. The fact that a taxpayer designates some estimated payments as payments
under protest and makes the appropriate notification at the time of the estimated
payment under the first option listed above will not preclude use of the second option
with regard to additional amounts the taxpayer wishes to pay under protest.  ■

Payments under protest continued

The cost price for use tax purposes on
refinery gas has been determined to be $.445
per thousand cubic feet (MCF) for the cal-
endar year 1997.

This year’s value is based on the posted
price of West Texas Intermediate Crude of
$24.80. By applying the price to the formula
specified in Revised Statute 47:301(3)(f),
the following value is determined: $24.80
divided by $29, multiplied by $.52, equals
$.445 per MCF. This price is the maximum
value that can be set for refinery gas by state
and local authorities.

The statute specifies December 1 as the
date to use for the posted price of West
Texas Intermediate Crude. December 1,
1996 occurred on a Sunday when no estab-
lished price was set. Therefore, the value of
the oil on December 2, 1996, the next busi-
ness day, was used in the valuation formula.
The Wall Street Journal reported the price

of West Texas Intermediate Crude Oil on
that date to be $24.80.

Refinery gas that is sold, exchanged, or
bartered (instead of being used by the pro-
ducer) is subject to sales tax based on the
greater of the actual selling price or the
average monthly spot market price of one
thousand cubic feet of natural gas delivered
into pipelines in Louisiana as reported by
the Natural Gas Clearing House and as
determined by the Department for natural
gas severance tax purposes. Refinery gas is
subject to both state and local use taxes,
regardless of the circumstances of its use.

Questions concerning the cost price for
refinery gas for state tax purposes should be
directed to the Sales Tax Division at (504)
925-7356. Questions on the valuation
adopted by local authorities should be ad-
dressed to the particular local authority.  ■

Cost price set for refinery gas

Timber values for use in determining tim-
ber severance tax for 1997 have been estab-
lished by the Office of Forestry and the
Louisiana Tax Commission.

The values and tax are as follows:
Tax Value Tax

Product Per Tone Per Ton
Pine Sawtimber $43.50 .98
Hardwood Sawtimber $19.85 .45
Pulpwood Pine $08.87 .44
Pulpwood Hardwood $05.28 .26
Pine Chip-n-saw $32.89 .74

Questions regarding the severance tax on
timber should be directed to the Severance
Tax Division at (504) 925-7500.  ■

In accordance with Louisiana Civil Code
Article 2924(B)(3), the rate of judicial in-
terest for calendar year 1997 has been calcu-
lated at 9.25 percent.

Under provisions of Revised Statutes
47:1624 and 47:1576, interest payable on
refunds made by the Department of Revenue
and Taxation will be payable at this judicial
rate during the 1997 calendar year.  ■

Rate of judicial
interest determined

Timber rates
established for 1997

Many of the Department’s
forms and other information are
now accessible 24 hours a day.

Access is a Snap!

Fax Link (Fax-on-demand) (504) 922-2984
Bulletin Board System (504) 922-2529
World Wide Web http://www.rev.state.la.us.


