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103 names added to CyberShame list
In April, the names of 103 chronic delinquent taxpayers who owe nearly $4.1
million were added to the CyberShame list of delinquent taxpayers published
on the Department of Revenue’s Internet web page.

The Department initiated the CyberShame program in January by publishing the
names of 117 chronic delinquent taxpayers that owed more than $9 million. The
program is based on the premise that publication of a delinquent taxpayer’s name will
shame them into paying the taxes they owe. Anyone with access to the Internet can
view the CyberShame list of delinquent taxpayer names on the Department’s web
page at www.rev.state.la.us. The list also provides the delinquent taxpayer’s address
and amount of tax owed.

The January publication of names resulted in the collection of $469,100.80 in
delinquent taxes from taxpayers on the list. An additional $193,812.97 was collected
from delinquent taxpayers not on the list, but who wanted to ensure that their names
would not be published in the future. The new names added to the list in April
represent 62 individuals who owe $2,883,643.93 and 41 businesses that owe
$1,184,270.68.

 In order to avoid violation of the confidentiality provisions of state law that require
taxpayer records be kept confidential, the published list is taken from public record
tax liens on file with the Clerk of Court in the appropriate parish. Present plans by the
Department of Revenue call for additional names to be added to the CyberShame list
approximately every three months.

Refund denials
re-evaluated

Act 6 of the First Extraordinary
Session of the 2001 Louisiana
Legislature has given the Depart-

ment of Revenue wider latitude to issue
refunds and to re-evaluate previously
denied refunds of overpayments.

The act was signed by Governor Foster
on March 27 and includes a transition
rule that gives the Department the author-
ity to re-evaluate all refund claims that
were denied between January 1, 2000,
and March 27, 2001. Lack of specific
authority in the statutes forced the De-
partment to deny overpayment refunds in
hundreds of cases during the past year.

Before Act 6 was passed, a refund of an
overpayment by a taxpayer was only
authorized in a few instances specifically
named in the statutes, such as overpay-
ment of withholding tax for individual
income tax or because of a mathematical
error. The Department had earlier urged
the legislature to correct the problem by
amending the law.

Revenue Secretary Cynthia Bridges says
that in general, most overpayments, ex-
cept those that should have been paid
under protest, will be refundable. During
the past year, several hundred taxpayers
filed appeals with the Board of Tax Ap-
peals (BTA) in order to receive their re-
funds. Many of those appeals are still
pending before the BTA, but those cases
will also be re-evaluated.
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Rule adopted
In February, the Department adopted Louisiana Administrative Code
61:111.101 to establish the types of policy statements issued by the
Department for the proper administration and enforcement of the tax laws
and the collection of revenues.

Department policy statements are intended to provide guidance as to the Department’s
position on administrative issues and to help ensure that employees enforce the tax
laws correctly, consistently, and fairly. The rule adopted in February defines the
various types of policy statements that the Department may issue and outlines the
procedures for issuing them.

The rule is available in its entirety on the Department’s website at www.rev.state.la.us
under “Rules and Legislation.” It is also available from the website of the Office of the
State Register at www.state.la.us/osr/reg/0102/0102rul.pdf (on page 26).
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Couple arrested for failing to pay
$1.6 million dollars in state taxes

On April 19, 2001, Louisiana state police arrested Lawrence D. Smith, 53,
of 3548 Lost Creek Blvd., Austin, TX and his wife Brenda H. Smith, 48, (same
address) on one count each of evasion of tax and one count each of filing false

public documents.

An investigation by the Louisiana Department of Revenue alleges that the Smith’s
sold their shares of stock in McCormick & Company, Inc., which controlled the
Alexandria Daily Town Talk newspaper, in Alexandria, LA. The Smith’s netted more
than $16 million as a result of the sale, but failed to report this taxable income to the
state. The charges allege that the Smiths filed a 1996 nonresident/part-year individual
income tax return in an attempt to defraud the state out of $708,225 in state taxes,
which was the amount of state tax owed on the $16 million. Fees, penalties, and
interest make the total now due $1,658,172.55.

Ragley man guilty of tax charges
Craig M. Fontenot, 32, of 17481 Hwy. 171, Ragley, LA, pleaded guilty on
February 5 to theft, failure to account for municipal monies, evasion of
income and sales taxes, and filing false public records in relation to his

embezzlement of $535,770 in funds from Condea Vista Plant in Lake Charles.

Fontenot, a former warehouse clerk at Condea Vista, fraudulently manipulated the
plant’s computer system in order to have payments made to two “shell” companies
he had established. Fontenot operated alone in the embezzlement scheme from
approximately February 1997 through April 1999.

After Fontenot pleaded guilty, Judge Wilford Carter of the 14th Judicial District court
in Lake Charles ordered a pre-sentence investigation prior to formal sentencing. It is
expected that a determination with regard to restitution will be made at the time of
sentencing.
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Nonprofit
organizations are
generally not
exempt from sales
taxes

Nonprofit organizations are
granted an exemption from the
payment of income taxes under

Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c).
However, these organizations are not
exempt from the payment of state and
local sales taxes, except under certain
circumstances specifically provided for
in the sales tax statutes. These specific
circumstances include:

• Purchases of bibles, songbooks, and
literature by churches and synagogues.

• Purchases made by certain sheltered
workshops.

Churches and other nonprofit organiza-
tions often assume that they are exempt
from state and local sales taxes, and
misinform their vendors to that effect.
Any vendor who is presented with an
exemption certificate that does not ap-
pear to be genuine, or is offered no
certificate at all, should contact the De-
partment of Revenue’s Sales Tax Division
at (225) 925-7356 to verify that the non-
profit organization claiming an exemp-
tion is entitled to do so.

Revenue Ruling No. 01-002
May 18, 2001

Certain Lump Sum Distributions Not
Taxable

This Revenue Ruling addresses the taxation of lump sum distributions paid to
a Louisiana domiciliary for state income tax purposes.  For purposes of this
ruling, a lump sum distribution is defined as provided by IRC 402(e)(4)(D)(i).

Such distributions often occur from qualified pension or profit sharing plans upon the
retirement or death of a covered employee.

Louisiana individual income tax is based on tax table income.  The computation of
tax table income begins with federal adjusted gross income and makes certain
modifications.  The Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 47, Section 293 defines adjusted
gross income as the adjusted gross income of the individual for the taxable year that
is reportable on the individual’s federal income tax return.  No modifications are
made for lump sum distributions.  To the extent that lump sum distributions are not
properly includable in the federal adjusted gross income, such distributions are not
included in tax table income.
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Advance sales tax requirements
Out-of-state retail sellers who
have established “substantial
nexus” in Louisiana qualify as

dealers in Louisiana and are required to
pay the state advance sales tax on their
purchases for resale that are delivered to
Louisiana. They are also required to col-
lect and remit sales tax on their taxable
sales to Louisiana customers.

The state advance sales tax is recover-
able by claiming a credit on the state sales
tax return that is required to be filed with
the Department. “Substantial nexus” is
established through a number of business
activities, including the operation of a
business location in the state; having
personal representation in the state; main-
taining an inventory in the state of prop-
erty for sale, lease, or rental; selling
taxable services or leasing or renting
property in the state; delivering property
into the state in personally owned or
controlled vehicles; making intrastate
sales to vending operators; or through
the buying of property from Louisiana
wholesale suppliers and the selling of
that property in the intrastate commerce
of the state.

If out-of-state retail sellers have not
established nexus in Louisiana so as to be
classified as dealers in the state, they
cannot be required to collect and remit
the sales or use tax on their sales to
Louisiana customers, nor can they be
required to pay the advance sales tax to
their wholesale suppliers. To be exempt
from paying advance sales tax on pur-
chases for resale, sellers must certify in
writing to their wholesale suppliers that
they have not established substantial nexus
in Louisiana.

In a case where an out-of-state seller
purchases tangible personal property from
a Louisiana in-state wholesale dealer and
directs the dealer to ship the property
directly to the seller’s Louisiana in-state
customer, the out-of-state seller is re-
quired to remit the state advance sales tax
to their Louisiana supplier. The out-of-
state seller will, in this case, be required
to collect the appropriate sales tax, file a
Louisiana sales tax return, and remit the
tax that is due on intrastate sales.

For further information about advance
sales tax, contact the Sales Tax Division
at (225) 925-7356.

Inheritance tax may be filed at
Regional Offices
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Regional Offices
Alexandria
900 Murray Street, Room B-100
(318) 487-5333

Baton Rouge (Main Office)
330 N. Ardenwood Drive
(225) 925-7318

Baton Rouge Regional Office
8490 Picardy Avenue, Bldg. 600
(225) 763-5700

Lafayette
825 Kaliste Saloom Road, Brandywine III
Suite 150
(337) 262-5455

Lake Charles
One Lakeshore Drive, Suite 1550
(337) 491-2504

Monroe
122 St. John Street, Room 105
(318) 362-3151

New Orleans
1555 Poydras Street, Suite 900
(504) 568-5233

Shreveport
1525 Fairfield Avenue
(318) 676-7505

Thibodaux
1418 Tiger Drive
(985) 447-0976

Inheritance and Estate Transfer
Tax Returns may be filed at any
regional office of the Depart-

ment of Revenue. Regional offices are
authorized to issue inheritance tax re-
ceipts provided a complete return is filed
and accompanied with:

1. an affidavit of death and heirship;

2. a petition for possession (Act 314 of
1995 amended Article 2951 of the
Code of Civil Procedure to authorize
the filing of a tableau of distribution
or certain trust instruments in lieu of
a petition for possession);

3. a sworn detailed descriptive list or
inventory of assets;

4. a copy of a will, if any; and,

5. a copy of the federal estate tax return,
when required.

However, regional offices are prohib-
ited from issuing an inheritance tax re-
ceipt if:

1. one of the previously mentioned docu-
ments is missing;

2. a partial possession is being requested;

3. an installment agreement is being re-
quested;

4. the waiver of interest is being re-
quested; or,

5. prescription of taxes is being claimed.

For further information about inherit-
ance tax, call the Inheritance Tax Section
at (225) 925-7424, or write to: Louisiana
Department of Revenue, Inheritance Tax
Section, P. O. Box 201, Baton Rouge, LA
70821.
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File your
Louisiana Sales Tax Return
through the Internet at

www.rev.state.la.us

For more information, call
(225) 925-7356.
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Tax Topics is a quarterly publication of
the Louisiana Department of Revenue. In-
formation contained herein is of a general
nature; taxpayers requiring information con-
cerning a specific tax matter should con-
tact the appropriate tax office. Subscription
information may be obtained from the
Public Affairs Bureau at the address below,
or by calling (225) 925-4299.

This public document was published at a
total cost of $6,800. One hundred eight
thousand copies of this public document
were published in this first printing at a cost
of $6,800. The total cost of all printings of
this document, including reprints, is
$6,800. This document was published for
the Department of Revenue, Post Office
Box 201, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0201,
by the Division of Administration, State
Printing Office, to disperse information
concerning Louisiana tax matters deemed
to be of public interest under authority of
R.S. 47:1509. This material was printed in
accordance with the standards for printing
by state agencies established pursuant to
R.S. 43:31.

M. J. “Mike” Foster, Jr. Cynthia Bridges
Governor Secretary

Danny Brown
Public Information Director

Paulita Chartier Joy Lonibos
Public Information Specialist Graphics Designer

Revenue Information Bulletin:

Natural gas
Severance Tax
rate change

Under the authority of Louisiana
Revised Statute 47:633(9)(d)(i),
the Department of Natural Re-

sources has determined the “gas base rate
adjustment” for the twelve-month period
ending March 31, 2001, to be 2.8403.
Accordingly, the severance tax rate on
natural gas and related products described
in Louisiana R.S. 47:633(9)(a)(i) has been
set at 19.9 cents per thousand cubic feet,

measured at a base pressure of 15.025
pounds per square inch absolute and at
the temperature base of sixty degrees
Fahrenheit, effective July 1, 2001. The
reduced rates provided for in Louisiana
R.S. 47:633(9)(b) and (c) remain the same.

Revised reporting forms will be distrib-
uted as soon as they are available.  Ques-
tions should be directed to the Severance
Tax Division at (225) 925-7500.
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Investigation nets guilty pleas
The Department's Special Investigations Division recently participated in a
task force formed by the United States Secret Service that resulted in 11
individuals and eight corporations pleading guilty to criminal charges arising
from the failure to report $4.5 million in corporate and personal income and

the underpayment of at least $1.4 million in federal taxes and $160,015 in State Sales
taxes. The guilty pleas were the result of a 17-month investigation by the task force
into the fraudulent use of electronic food stamp cards.

The pleas were entered on April 24, 2001 before Judge Eldon E. Fallon, United States
District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana. The eight corporations pleaded guilty to
mail fraud for filing a materially false tax return via the United States Postal Service.
The under-reported sales resulted in the underpayment of $160,015 in sales taxes to
the state of Louisiana.

All the individuals pleading guilty were owners or co-owners of the stores operated
primarily by Rabah Hindi, 38, 8010 Morrison Road, New Orleans, La., and Bilal
Hindi 36, same address. In addition to charges of under reporting corporate and
personal income, Bilal and Rabah Hindi also pleaded guilty to conspiracy charges
relating to the supervision of operations at nine stores in New Orleans and Baton
Rouge.

The corporations pleading guilty were: NOR, Inc., d/b/a Downman Discount
Market, 4827 Downman Rd., New Orleans; Basha Inc., d/b/a Louisiana Meat
Market, 1641 Louisiana Ave., New Orleans; Family Farm Inc., d/b/a Family Farm
Market, 2541 N. Claiborne, New Orleans; Salam Inc., d/b/a Broad Meat Market, 325
S. Broad St., New Orleans; Dalal, Inc., d/b/a City Farm Market, 3800 St. Bernard
Ave., New Orleans; Malak, Inc., d/b/a Crowder Discount Market, 8426 I-10 Service
Rd., New Orleans; Serena, Inc., d/b/a Read Discount Market, 7045 Read Blvd., New
Orleans; and Hindi, Inc., d/b/a Save More Market, 2956 Nicholson Dr., Baton
Rouge.

In addition to the Hindis, other individuals pleading guilty were: Omar Ahmad, 38,
12345 I-10 Service Rd., New Orleans; Walid Ahmad, 36, 12345 I-10 Service Rd.,
New Orleans; Abdelrahim Ayyad, 42, 8812 Gevais St., New Orleans; Ahmad Ayyad,
34, 325 S. Broad St., New Orleans; Zuhdi Ayyad, 33, 7039 Ligustrum Dr., New
Orleans; Ayed Hammad, 37, 210 38th St., New Orleans; Ahmad Hindi, 26, 6318
Hayne Blvd., New Orleans; Ismail Odeh, 31, 1641 Louisiana Ave., New Orleans;
and Maskoor Ali Kahn, 52, 1600 Peach St., Metairie.

Drop shipments to a Louisiana
destination must bear sales tax on
billing

Louisiana retail dealers often sell tangible personal property for which an
invoice is issued to a customer located in another state, but which is drop-
shipped to a Louisiana location at the customer’s direction. Such shipments,

even though they are sold to and billed to a customer located in another state, are
sales made in Louisiana and must bear the advance Louisiana sales tax, as provided
by Revised Statute 47:306(B). If the property is intended for resale, the out-of-state
customer must be a registered Louisiana dealer in order to file a return and recover
the advance tax. His invoice, in turn, must bear Louisiana sales tax on the sale to the
Louisiana addressee.

The only exception is provided for in R.S. 47:306(B)(10), which says that a
manufacturer in Louisiana may sell tangible personal property for resale to an out-
of-state wholesale dealer of building materials, if the goods are drop-shipped to a
Louisiana dealer who holds an exempt wholesale “W” number. This provision was
added to the statute in 1998.


