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M INSTRUCTIONS Pollution Control Devices | Sales/Use Tax Refund Claim Form

The Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) will accept claims and issue refunds for the four percent Louisiana
State sales/use tax paid on the purchase or lease of tangible personal property used or intended for the
purpose of eliminating, preventing, treating or reducing the volume or toxicity or potential hazards of
industrial pollution of air, groundwater, noise, solid waste, or hazardous waste in the state.

A Pollution Control Equipment Sales/Use Tax Exemption/Refund Application, R-1349, must be completed and
submitted to LDR with all required certifications and documentation.

Page 1 of the application requires a list of major
equipment components involved in the pollution
control device or system. This list should not include
cost amounts. It should include descriptions of the
items purchased or leased. LDR will forward this
list to the Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality for review or approval.

Page 4 of the application requires that a list of all
tangible personal property purchased or leased for
use or intended for the purpose of pollution control
accompany the completed application. This list should
be separated into four (4) schedules. These schedules
will be reviewed by LDR to verify your sales tax
refund claim and should be formatted as follows:

Schedule A: This schedule should list those items
purchased or leased by the applicant on which no
state sales/use taxes were paid to the vendor, but
were accrued and paid to LDR by the applicant.

This schedule should list vendor name, invoice
number, invoice date, purchase amount, description
of each item, period tax was accrued, and amount of
accrued tax paid to LDR.

» A copy of the applicant’s accrual account
highlighting the entry for the accrual of tax
for each item should also be included with
this schedule.

» If the applicant failed to timely remit the use tax
due on these purchases, interest and penalties will
be deducted from the refund if not remitted prior
to receipt of the refund claim.

» Legible copies of all invoices in excess of $15,000
must be included with this schedule.

» The applicant’s Louisiana state sales/use tax
account number must be provided.
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Schedule B: This schedule should list this items
purchased or leased by the applicant and state sales/
use tax was paid to the vendor.

This schedule should list vendor name, invoice
number, invoice date, purchase amount, amount of
Louisiana state sales tax paid on each purchase, and
a description of each item.

» Legible copies of all invoices in excess of $15,000
must be included with this schedule.

Schedule C: This schedule should list the items
purchased by the contractor(s).

The schedule should list the contractor name,
vendor name, invoice date, invoice number, amount
of purchase, tax amount, and a brief description of
each item.

» Legible copies of all invoices in excess of $15,000
must be included with this schedule.

Schedule CA: This schedule should list the items
purchased by the contractor(s) on which no tax was
paid to the vendor, but were accrued and paid to LDR
by the contractor(s).

This schedule should list vendor name, invoice
number, invoice date, purchase amount, description
of each item, period tax was accrued, and amount of
accrued tax paid to LDR.

» Legible copies of all invoices in excess of $15,000
must be included with this schedule.

» The contractor(s) Louisiana state sales/use tax
account number must be provided.

All schedules should list invoices in chronological order
and show monthly totals in the 4% tax paid column.

The name and telephone number of a contact person
familiar with this refund claim should also be included.

Qualifying items include all equipment, purchased
or leased, that is included in the working of the
pollution control device itself and all component
parts of that device.

Non-qualifying items include:
» small hand tools,

» safety equipment,

» blueprints,

» photographs,

» purchases made by a contractor that do not
become a component part of the device;

» Tepairs to existing equipment and rentals.

Credit will NOT be given on progress payments until
actual delivery of the tangible personal property.
Invoices to substantiate 100% of the taxes paid or
accrued on this property must be submitted with the
refund claim.

NOTE: After three years from the 31st day of
December of the year in which the tax became
due, no refund or credit for an overpayment
shall be made unless a claim for refund or
credit has been filed and received by the
Secretary from the taxpayer claiming such
refund or credit on or before the expiration of
said three year period.

Failure to submit all of this information may
result in processing delays.

Included in this brochure are forms and examples of:

» R-1349 - Pollution Control Equipment Sales/Use
Tax Exemption/Refund Application

» LAC 61:1.4302 - Pollution Control Devices and
Systems Excluded from the Definition of “Sale
at Retail”

» Schedules A, B, C, and CA

If you have any questions regarding your
application and claim for refund of Louisiana state
sales/use tax paid, please contact the Office Audit
Division at 225.219.2270 or by visiting our website at
http://revenue.louisiana.gov/.
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M RULE Louisiana Department of Revenue | Louisiana Administrative Code 61:1.4302

Under the authority of Revised Statute 47:301(10)91) and in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950, et.seq., the Secretary of the Department of Revenue has adopted
the following rule, L.A.C. 61:1.4302.

This regulation, promulgated pursuant to Act 1019 of the 1991 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature,
establishes the qualification criteria and application procedures for the state sales tax relief provided under
R.S. 47:301(10)(1), which excludes pollution control devices and systems from the definition of “sale at retail.”

§4302. Pollution Control Devices and Systems waste, hazardous waste, sludge, chemical
Excluded from the Definition of “Sale at Retail” waste, radiological wastes, noise, and any other
pollutants resulting from industrial emissions,
A. This Section describes the conditions under discharges, or releases into air, water, or land.

which certain sale or lease transactions involving
tangible personal property used for pollution
control purposes may be excluded from the
definition of sale at retail for purposes of the

3 percent tax levied by this Chapter and the
Louisiana Tourism Promotion District. It contains
the qualifications which must be met by the
property under consideration, the requirements
which are imposed upon the applicant for the tax
relief granted under this Act, and the procedures
to be followed in applying for the relief.

Pollution Control Device or System—any one or
more pieces of tangible personal property which
is intended and installed for the purpose of
eliminating, preventing, treating, or reducing
the volume or toxicity or potential hazards of
industrial pollution of air, water, groundwater,
noise, solid waste, or hazardous waste in the
state of Louisiana and which has been approved
by the Department of Environmental Quality and
the Department of Revenue and Taxation for the
tax relief granted by this Act.
B. Definitions. C. Qualifications.

For purposes of this Section, the following terms

i i ided under thi
shall have the meaning ascribed herein, To qualify for the tax relief provided under this

Act, a pollution control device or system must
Act or This Act—Act 1019 of the 1991 Regular comply with the following requirements.

Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 1. It must demonstrate to the Department

Industrial Application—the use, construction, of Environmental Quality its efficacy to

or installation of a pollution control device or a particular process or application. The
system by a business which is primarily engaged equipment must be approved by both the

in the exploration for or mining of minerals, Department of Environmental Quality and the
the manufacture or processing of raw materials Department of Revenue and Taxation in order
into tangible personal property for resale, or the to be excluded from the definition of sale at
processing, treatment, disposition, control or retail for state sales and use tax purposes.

contammenF, of polluting materials produced by 2. It (or the applicant) must demonstrate either:

another business.

a. a net decrease in the volume or toxicity
or potential hazards of pollution as a
result of the installation of the device or

system; or

Pollution—the environment of the state by any
means that would tend to degrade the chemical,
physical, biological, or radiological integrity

of such environment. Pollution includes solid
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b. that installation is necessary to comply
with federal or state environmental laws
or regulations.

3. It must be intended for use in an industrial
application. Use in residential, commercial,
recreational, or other applications do not qualify.

. Restrictions.

This exclusion and the tax relief provided under
this Act does not apply to:

1. modifications to processes carried out
primarily for reasons other than the reduction
of pollution;

2. installation or replacement of existing process
units carried out primarily for reasons other
than the reduction of pollution;

3. vehicles used to assist in operations.

Application and Documentation

1. Applicants seeking relief under this Act must
submit an application to the Department of
Revenue and Taxation for a certification of the
pollution control device or system.

2. The respective departments may require
the applicant to provide cost estimates,
engineering drawings, equipment
specification sheets, and any other
documentation necessary to establish the
identity and value of the property qualifying
for the exclusion. The documentation must
be sufficient to enable the Department of
Environmental Quality to establish the
efficacy of the pollution control device
or system, and to allow the Department
of Revenue and Taxation to ascertain the
allowable tax relief.

3. After receiving certification from the
Department of Environmental Quality, a
certificate of tax exclusion and/or refund
of taxes paid on approved pollution control
equipment will be issued by the Department

of Revenue and Taxation. Applicants must
assemble and consolidate all invoices on
purchases made by themselves and their
subcontractors. Refunds will not be issued
to subcontractors.

a. Owners and/or operators of qualifying
pollution control devices or systems may
apply for certification and refund of taxes
paid on or after September 6, 1991, and
prior to the date of certification.

b. In order for a pollution control device
or system to qualify as tax free at the
time of purchase, applicants must have
received a certification of approval
from the Department of Environmental
Quality and the Department of Revenue
and Taxation prior to the purchase or
lease of the equipment. The applicant, or
contractors who are duly authorized to act
as an agent of the applicant, may present
an approved certification in lieu of the tax
at the time of purchase.

c. If the application for the tax exemption
on the pollution control device or system
cannot be processed and approved before
purchases are made or property is imported
into the state for the project, the state
sales or use tax shall be paid at the time
of purchase or importation. Tax refunds
will be issued upon approval of the project
and the filing of proper claims. Applicants
filing for refunds will have purchased and
installed, or intend to install, the pollution
control device or system.

4. The owner and/or operator must report the

final cost of the pollution control devices or
systems to the Department of Revenue and
Taxation. Audits and inspections may be
performed by the respective departments to
ascertain the efficacy of the equipment. The
tax refund will be forfeited if the pollution
control device or system does not meet the
requirements of this Act.
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Approval of the equipment for a sales tax
refund does not relieve the applicant from
obtaining any other permits otherwise
required for the pollution control device
or system, including permits to install or
construct prior to start of construction.

Each application for tax relief must be
signed by an officer, principal, or other
person authorized to act in the behalf of the
applicant, and must be accompanied by a
certification affidavit executed by the owner
and/or operator and a certification affidavit
executed by a professional engineer. Both

certification affidavits will be prepared on the

application form supplied by the Department
of Revenue and Taxation.

G. Confidentiality.

Applications and all documentation and
cost information which are submitted to

the Department of Revenue and Taxation
under this Act are considered confidential
taxpayer information under the provisions
of R.S. 47:1508. Information which pertains
to pollution control devices or systems costs
will be maintained only at the office of the
Department of Revenue and Taxation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 47:301(10)(D)

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisisana

Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax
Division, LR 18:1414 (December 1992).
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