
The tax on beverages of low alcoholic content (beer) is an excise 

tax and is collected from the wholesale dealer who first handles 

and distributes such beverages within Louisiana. Before com-

mencing business as a Louisiana wholesale alcoholic beverage 

dealer, a company must (1) file a surety bond or certificate of 

deposit with the Louisiana Department of Revenue, and (2) 

obtain a permit from the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control. 

The minimum amount of the surety bond or certificate of deposit 

is $10,000. The maximum amount is at the discretion of the 

Secretary.

In addition to meeting the requirements of the Office of Alcohol 

and Tobacco Control, a dealer is required to file a return each 

month with the Department of Revenue disclosing all movements 

of beer for the month.

Louisiana Revised Statute 26:342 provides that the state beer tax 

is to be computed at the rate of $12.50 for each barrel containing 

not more than thirty-one gallons. The tax is computed on a pro-

portional rate for fractional parts of a barrel.

In addition to the state beer tax, Louisiana R.S.26:493 provides 

that the state must collect a Parish & Municipal (P & M) beer tax in 

the amount of $1.50 per standard barrel of thirty-one gallons.

The wholesale dealer is allowed a 1.5% discount for State beer 

tax and 2% discount for P & M beer tax on the gross amount of 

tax due for accurately reporting and timely remitting all taxes due, 

and as an offset for taxes paid on unsaleable products.

The monthly return, Louisiana State and Parish and Municipality 

Beer Tax Return, (Form R-5621) is furnished by the Louisiana 

Department of Revenue and is the means whereby a dealer 

reports and pays the State beer tax and the P & M beer tax 

each month. Calculate entries on Lines 1 through 16 to four 

decimal places. Detailed instructions for completing the monthly 

return (Form R-5621) are as follows:

Line 1 - Enter the beginning inventory on the first day of the 

month. The figure must agree with the ending inventory reported 

for the previous month.

Line 2 - Enter the total non tax-paid beer purchased within the 

state plus beer produced within the state for the month. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). Column B, Line 2 must 

equal the sum of Column A, Lines 2 and 3.

Line 3 - Enter the amount of all tax-paid beer purchased from 

other wholesale dealers within the state in Column A. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). 

Line 4 - Add lines 1 through 3. Column A and Column B must be 

identical.

Line 5 - Enter the total shipments to out-of-state breweries or cus-

tomers. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). Attach 

bills of lading for shipments to out-of-state breweries.

Line 6 - Enter total beer sales to federal agencies, such as military 

installations. Attach Tax Exemption Certificate (Form R-5606).

Line 7 - Enter total beer sales to ships and consulates. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A) and Tax Exemption 

Certificate (Form R-5607).

Line 8 - Enter total claims against carriers for merchandise 

broken, lost, or stolen in transit. Attach Supplemental Schedule 

(Form R-5621A).

Line 9 - Enter total beer returned to the brewery. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 10 - Enter in Column B all P & M beer sales in parishes/

municipalities that do not impose a P & M beer tax. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A).

Line 11 - Enter in Column B all P & M beer sold to other 

Louisiana bonded dealers. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form 

R-5621A).

Line 12 - Enter in Column B total P & M beer claims for warehouse 

breakage. Attach Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A). 

Line 13 - Enter total State and P & M beer destroyed. Attach 

Supplemental Schedule (Form R-5621A) and Certificate of 

Destruction (Form R-5605, “ABT-100”).

Line 14 - Enter the ending inventory on the last day of the month. 

Line 14 must reflect a physical inventory count at the end of the 

month.

Line 15 - Add Lines 5 through 14.

Line 16 - Subtract Line 15 from Line 4. Line 16 represents taxable 

disposals for the month.

Line 17 - Multiply Column A, Line 16 by $12.50 and Column B, 

Line 16 by $1.50.

Line 18 - Multiply Column A, Line 3 by $12.50.

R-5621i (4/16)

Instructions for Filing State and Parish  
and Municipal Beer Tax Return (Form R-5621)

Baton Rouge - Main Office
617 North Third Street, P.O. Box 201
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0201
Telephone: (855) 307-3893



Line 19 - Subtract Column A, Line 18 from Column A, Line 17 and 

enter in Column A. Enter the amount from Column B, Line 17 in 

Column B, Line 19.

Line 20b - Compute the discount amount allowed if the return is 

filed and payment is made timely. For each column, multiple the 

amount on Line 19 by the discount rate shown on Line 20a and 

enter the result in the respective column. Round to the nearest dol-

lar. Enter zero if the return or payment is delinquent.

Line 21 - Subtract Line 20b from Line 19.

Line 22 - If the return is delinquent not more than 10 days multiply 

Line 21 by 5 percent. If the return is delinquent more than 10 days, 

multiply Line 21 by 20 percent. If the return is filed timely, enter 

zero.

Line 23 - Interest is due if the payment of the tax is late. Refer 

to the Tax Interest Rate Schedule (R-1111) for monthly interest 

rates that apply. Form R-1111 is available on the Department’s 

website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Line 24 - Add Line 21 through Line 23.

Line 24a - Enter the amount from Column A, Line 24.

Line 24b - Enter the amount from Column B, Line 24.

Line 25 - Add Line 24a and Line 24b. Make payment to the Louisiana 

Department of Revenue. Do not send cash. 

The reverse side of the monthly tax return (Form R-5621) is for 

the distribution of taxable P & M beer sales. When beer is sold into 

a parish or municipality that has an ordinance in effect authoriz-

ing the Department of Revenue to collect the P & M beer tax, the 

wholesale dealer must list the location and the monthly total sold 

on the schedule on the reverse side of Form R-5621. The total 

amount of tax must agree with Line 19 on the face of the tax 

return for P & M beer. If a current P & M code list is needed, 

please contact the Baton Rouge main office of the Department of 

Revenue. If additional P & M distribution schedules are needed, 

please make photocopies or call the Baton Rouge main office to 

request extra forms. Please use the P & M distribution schedule 

provided; printouts may not be substituted, but they may be 

sent to provide backup information.
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