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LOUISIANA

DEPARTMENT of REVENUE

Who Must File A Return

Louisiana Revised Statute (R.S.) 47:162 provides that every
resident estate or trust and every nonresident estate or trust
deriving income from Louisiana sources is liable for an income tax
under the following guidelines:

1. The net income of an estate or trust for the taxable year is
$2,500 or more;

2. The gross income of an estate or trust for the taxable year is
$6,000 or more, regardless of the amount of net income;

3. The beneficiary of an estate or trust is a nonresident of Louisiana.

Grantor trusts, defined in Louisiana R. S. 47:187, are also required
to file a return if any part of the net Louisiana income is taxable to
the trust or to the nonresident beneficiaries of the grantor trust.

Definitions

Resident Trust - A trust or a portion of a trust created by the last
will and testament of a decedent domiciled in Louisiana at the time
of death. If the trust instrument provides that the trust is governed
by Louisiana law, the trust is considered to be a resident trust
even if the decedent was domiciled in another state at the time
of death. Any trust instrument that does not specify as to which
state’s governing law prevails and that is administered in this state
is considered a resident trust.

Resident Estate - The estate of a decedent who was domiciled in
Louisiana at the time of death.

Nonresident Trust - Any trust that is not considered to be a resident
trust. If the trust instrument provides that the trust is governed by
another state’s law, the trust is considered to be a nonresident trust
even if the decedent was domiciled in Louisiana at the time of death.

Nonresident Estate - The estate of a decedent who was not
domiciled in Louisiana at the time of death.

Fiduciary - Any person, firm, partnership, or association in whom a
legal or ethical relationship of trust is established between two or
more parties to manage and protect property or money. A fiduciary
will have sufficient knowledge of the affairs of the trust or estate to
enable the preparation and filing of a true and correct return.

Louisiana Taxable Income - R. S. 47:300.6 defines Louisiana taxable
income of a resident estate or trust as the amount of income taxed
in accordance with federal law for the same taxable year, less the
amount of the federal income tax deduction.

Estates and Trusts Located Outside the United States

Estates and trusts located outside the United States are generally
not required to file a United States fiduciary income tax return.
However, if the estate or trust derived income from Louisiana
sources, the filing of a Louisiana fiduciary income tax return is
required. The tax is imposed in the same manner as any other
nonresident estate or trust. An alternate method of imposing the tax
provided under R.S. 47:300.3(3) allows estates and trusts located
outside the United States to elect to be taxed on total gross income
from Louisiana sources at the rate of 5%.

Fiduciary Responsibility
As an entity in whom a relationship of trust is established to manage

General Information and Instructions for

Completing Form IT-541 Fiduciary Income Tax Return

and protect property and money, the fiduciary is responsible for the
preparation and filing of a true and correct return. R.S. 47:300.5
provides that the fiduciary of an estate or trust is personally liable
for the payment of all taxes, penalties, and interest due by the estate
or trust. The tax liability imposed on any beneficiary of the estate
and trust is not the responsibility of the fiduciary.

Income Taxed To Fiduciary

Under the provisions of R.S. 47:181 and R.S. 47:300.2, the income
tax imposed on an estate or trust for which a fiduciary will file
applies to the Louisiana taxable income of estates or of any kind of
property held in trust, including:

1. Income accumulated in trust for the benefit of unborn or
unascertained persons or persons with contingent interests,
and income accumulated or held for future distribution under the
terms of the will or trust;

2. Income that is to be distributed currently by the fiduciary to the
beneficiaries and income collected by a guardian of a minor that
is to be held or distributed as the court may direct;

3. Income received by the estates of deceased persons during the
period of administration or settlement of the estate; and,

4. Income that, in the discretion of the fiduciary, may be either
distributed to the beneficiaries or accumulated.

NOTE: Include all income from Electing Small Business Trusts
(ESBTSs) on this return. Also, there is no special tax calculation for
this income and no need to file a separate return.

Tax Rates Applied to Louisiana Taxable Income

R.S. 47:300.1 provides the tax to be assessed, levied, collected,
and paid upon the Louisiana taxable income of an estate or trust
shall be computed at the following rates:

1. 2% on the first $10,000 of Louisiana taxable income.
2. 4% on the next $40,000 of Louisiana taxable income.
3. 6% on Louisiana taxable income in excess of $50,000.

Information at Source

R. S. 47:164 provides that any person, firm, partnership, trust,
corporation, or organization making payments aggregated $1,000
or more during any taxable year for lease bonuses, delay rentals,
mineral leases affecting lands located in Louisiana and rentals paid
for real property located in Louisiana to a nonresident individual or
a firm, partnership, trust, corporation, or organization not located
in Louisiana shall file an information return with the Secretary of
Revenue on or before June 1 of the following year for each payee.
The Federal Information Return Form (Form 1099) used for reporting
such payments to the Internal Revenue Service may be used for
reporting the required information. A completed Federal Form 1099
should include: the name and address of the entity receiving the
payment, a Federal Employer Identification Number or the Social
Security Number of the payor and payee, and the amount and
description of the payment made to the payee. Federal Form 1099
shall be accompanied by the Annual Summary and Transmittal of
U.S. Information Returns, Federal Form 1096 furnishing the payor’s
name, address, federal employer identification number (EIN), and/
or social security number, along with the number of Forms 1099



enclosed. Informational returns reporting other items of income that
would normally appear on the Federal Form 1099 are required only
upon the specific request of the Secretary of Revenue.

For this purpose, amounts distributable to beneficiaries will be
reportable if the income shown on the fiduciary return is for lease
bonuses, delay rentals, or royalties from mineral leases affecting
lands located in Louisiana and rentals paid for the use of real
property located in Louisiana.

Due Date of the Fiduciary Return

A 2016 calendar year return is due on May 15, 2017. Fiscal year
returns must be filed on or before the 15th day of the fifth month
after the close of the fiscal period. If the due date falls on a weekend
or legal holiday, the return is due the next business day.

Where To File a Fiduciary Return

Fiduciary returns must be filed with the Louisiana Department of
Revenue, P. O. Box 3440, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3440.
DO NOT SEND CASH. Checks or money orders should be made
payable to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Fiduciary returns
may also be filed electronically using the LaTAP portal on the LDR
website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov.

Extension of Time For Filing

The Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue may grant
an extension of time for filing returns not to exceed six months from
the date the Louisiana income tax return is due. Extensions must be
filed before the due date of the return. An extension can be requested
on the LDR website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting additional
time to file your tax return. An extension does not extend the
time to pay the tax. Payments received after the due date will

be charged interest and penalties.

Amended Returns

If you file your fiduciary income tax return and later become aware of
any changes you must make, you must file an amended Louisiana
return along with an explanation of the change(s) and a copy of the
federal amended return, if one was filed. The form should be clearly
marked with an "X" in the "Amended Return" box.

Federal Tax Adjustments

R.S. 47:103(C) requires taxpayers whose federal returns are
adjusted to furnish a statement disclosing the nature and amounts
of such adjustments within 60 days after the adjustments have
been made and accepted. This statement should accompany your
amended return.

Rounding to Whole Dollars

Round cents to the nearest whole dollar on Form IT-541. Total
prepayments, including any credit carried forward from last year,
should also be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.

Allocation and Apportionment of Net Income

The Louisiana income tax is imposed upon only that part of the net
income of a nonresident estate or trust that is derived from sources
within Louisiana. Nonresident estates and trusts are required to
allocate and apportion theirincome. Use Schedule A — Computation
of Louisiana taxable income before income distribution deduction
and Schedule B — Computation of apportionment percentage
to calculate the amount of Louisiana taxable income before the
income distribution deduction. Estates and trusts located outside
the United States may elect to be taxed on total gross income from
Louisiana sources at the rate of 5%.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM IT-541

About this Form

The return has been designed for electronic scanning, which permits
faster processing with fewer errors. In order to avoid unnecessary
delays caused by manual processing, taxpayers should follow the
guidelines listed below:

1. Enter amounts only on those lines that are applicable.
2. Use only a pen with black ink.

3. Because this form is read by a machine, enter your numbers
inside the boxes like this:

011]12]|3]|4|5]6]7]|8]9]X

4. All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Numbers
should NOT be entered over the pre-printed zeros, in the boxes
on the far right, which are used to designate cents (.00).

5. To avoid any delay in processing, use this form for 2016 only.

6. If you are filing an amended return, mark an “X” in the
‘Amended Return” box on the face of the return.

This space on the last page of
the tax return is to be used only
when specifically instructed by the
Louisiana Department of Revenue
(LDR). Otherwise, leave blank.

SPEC
CODE

Identification of Estate or Trust

Provide the LDR Account Number for the Estate or Trust, its Federal
Identification Number, and the legal name of the estate or trust. Two
lines are provided for the name. Provide the address, city, state, and
zip code. Mark all applicable boxes indicating whether the trust is a
resident trust or a nonresident trust and whether the return being
filed is an initial return, an amended return, a final return, or a short
period return.

Provide the information requested where lines are indicated below
the name and address box. Indicate the date the entity was created
in the space provided. Provide the number of Schedules K-1 and
attach them to the return. Provide the numeric code for the type of
entity that is filing this return. The type of entity can be found on
Federal Form 1041, Box A.

Code Entity Type
1 Decedent's Estate
Simple Trust

Complex Trust
Qualified Disability Trust
ESBT (S portion only)
Grantor Type Trust
Bankruptcy Estate - Ch. 7
Bankruptcy Estate - Ch. 11
Pooled Income Fund
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COMPUTATION OF INCOME

Line 1 — Federal taxable income before modifications

Resident bankruptcy estates enter the taxable income amount
reported on Line 43 of the Federal Form 1040 that is an attachment
to the Federal Form 1041. All other resident trusts and resident
estates enter the taxable income amount reported on Federal Form
1041, Line 22.

If the estate or trust is a nonresident estate or trust, DO NOT
complete Lines 1 through 3E. Complete Schedule A -
Computation of Louisiana Taxable Income before Income
Distribution Deduction and Schedule B - Computation of
Apportionment Percent, if any of the net income is subject
to apportionment. See instructions for Schedule A beginning on
page 5.

ADDITIONS

Line 2A — Net income tax paid to any state or political or
municipal subdivision.

Enter the amount of net income tax paid to any state, political, or
municipal subdivision that was deducted on Federal Form 1041.

Line 2B - Interest Income from other States and their Political
or Municipal Subdivisions

Enter the amount of interest on obligations of a state, political, or
municipal subdivision other than Louisiana and its municipalities that
are vested with the estate, trust, or fiduciary on or after January 1, 1980.

Line 2C - Federal Exemption

Resident bankruptcy estates enter the exemption amount reported
on Line 42 of the Federal Form 1040 that is an attachment to the
Federal Form 1041. Resident trusts, and all other resident estates,
enter the exemption amount reported on Federal Form 1041, Line 20.

Line 2D - Federal Income Distribution Deduction

Resident bankruptcy estates enter zero. Resident trusts, and all
other resident estates, enter the amount from Federal Form 1041,
Line 18.

Line 2E —Total
Add Lines 2A through 2D.

SUBTRACTIONS

Line 3A - Interest from U.S. Government Obligations

Enter the amount of interest from U.S. government obligations or
any income that is exempt from taxation under the laws of Louisiana.

Line 3B — Depletion in Excess of Federal Depletion

Enter the amount of Louisiana depletion in excess of federal
depletion. In computing net income in the case of oil and gas wells,
a deduction is allowed for cost depletion or percentage depletion,
whichever is greater. Percentage depletion is calculated as 22% of
gross income from the property during the taxable year, excluding
from such gross income an amount equal to any rents and royalties
paid or incurred by the taxpayer from the property. The depletion
deduction cannot exceed 50% of the net income of the taxpayer
computed without allowance for depletion from the property. In
determining net income from the property, federal income tax is
considered an expense.

Line 3C - S Bank Exclusion

Enter the amount of the S Bank shareholder exclusion that the
estate or trust can claim. The amount of the exclusion is considered
nontaxable income. R.S. 47:297.3(B)(5) provides that “S Bank
nontaxable income” means: (A) the portion of the income reported
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by an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S Schedule K-1 or, (B) the
portion of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent
document, which is attributable to the net earnings used to compute
the S Bank’s shares tax as provided in R.S. 47:1967.

Line 3D — Exemption
Enter 2,500.

Line 3E - Total
Add Lines 3A through 3D.

Line 4 — Louisiana Taxable Income before Income Distribution
Deduction

For resident estates and trusts, Louisiana taxable income before
the income distribution deduction is calculated by adding the
amount on Line 1 to the amount on Line 2E and subtracting the
amount on Line 3E. Enter the result.

For nonresident estates and trusts, complete Schedule A and
Schedule B. Enter the result from Schedule A, Line 12.

Line 5 — Louisiana Income Distribution Deduction

Enter the portion of Louisiana income that was distributed or was
required to be distributed to the beneficiaries. Complete Schedule
C - Distributive Share of Beneficiaries by providing information for
each beneficiary.

Line 6 — Louisiana Taxable Income before Federal Income Tax
Deduction
Subtract Line 5 from Line 4.

Line 7A — Federal Income Tax Deduction
Enter the amount from Schedule D, Line 19.

Line 7B — Federal Disaster Relief Credits

Enter on Line 7B the amount of the estate or trust federal disaster
relief credits attributable to Louisiana. This amount is taken from
Schedule D, line 18.

Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid
on Louisiana income. Generally, when the federal income
tax liability is decreased by federal credits, the amount of the
Louisiana income tax liability increases. Act 23 of the 2005 1st
Extraordinary Legislative Session expanded the relief granted
to Louisiana taxpayers who claimed certain disaster credits
granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita. To avoid paying
additional income tax, Louisiana taxpayers who received these
federal credits may increase the amount of their Louisiana federal
income tax deduction by the amount of certain disaster relief
credits claimed on the 2016 federal income tax form. Louisiana
Administrative Code (LAC) 61:1.601 found on the LDR website at
www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies provides complete information
regarding disaster relief credits and designates the following federal
credits as disaster relief credits:

Employee Retention Credit

Work Opportunity Credit
Rehabilitation Tax Credit
Employer-Provided Housing Credit
Low Income Housing Credit

New Markets Tax Credit

Consult your tax advisor or the IRS for information concerning the
federal credits. You must attach a copy of the appropriate federal
forms to your return for your modified Louisiana federal income tax
deduction to be allowed.
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Line 8 — Louisiana Taxable Income
Subtract Line 7A from Line 6.

Line 9 — Computation of Tax

The Louisiana taxable income from Line 8 is taxed in three distinct
brackets, at 2%, 4%, and 6%, respectively. Complete Worksheet
1 - Calculation of Income Tax found on page 4 to determine your
income tax liability.

Line 10 — Credit for Net Income Taxes Paid to other States
Resident estates or trusts are allowed a credit for net income taxes
paid to other states. Credit may be claimed as a direct reduction of
the Louisiana income tax liability for net income taxes properly paid
to other states. No credit is allowable for gross receipts taxes or for
netincome taxes paid to the District of Columbia, cities, possessions
of the United States, or foreign countries. The credit may be applied
only against taxes due on income for the same year. The credit is
limited to the amount of Louisiana income tax calculated on the
income earned in other states. A copy of the returns filed with the
other states and completed Form R-10606 must be attached to your
Louisiana return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-018.

Line 11 — Other Nonrefundable Priority 1 Income Tax Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule NRC-P1, Line 7.

Line 12 — Total Income Tax after Priority 1 Credits
Subtract Lines 10 and 11 from Line 9.

Line 13A - Louisiana Citizens Assessment Paid

Enter the amount of the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance
assessment that was included in your property’s insurance premium.
A copy of the declaration page from your premium notice must be
attached to your return. For additional information regarding this
credit, visit www.revenue.louisiana.qov/citizens.

Line 13 — Louisiana Citizens Insurance Credit
Multiply the amount on Line 13A by 25 percent (.25) and enter the
result.

Line 14 — Other Refundable Priority 2 Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule RC-P2, Line 9.

Line 15 —Total Priority 2 Credits
Add Line 13 and Line 14.

Line 16 Tax Liability After Priority 2 Credits
If Line 12 is greater than Line 15, subtract Line 15 from Line 12.

Otherwise enter zero.

Line 17 — Overpayment After Priority 2 Credits
If Line 15 is greater than Line 12, subtract Line 12 from Line 15.
Otherwise enter zero.

Line 18 — Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule NRC-P3, Line 10. These credits
are limited to the tax liability calculated on Line 16.

Line 19 —Tax Liability After Priority 3 Credits
Subtract Line 18 from Line 16. If the result is less than zero, enter zero.

Line 20 — Overpayment After Priority 2 Credits
Enter the amount from Line 17.

Line 21 — Refundable Priority 4 Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule RC-P4, Line 6.

Line 22 — Amount of Credit Carried Forward from 2015
Enter the amount of any credit carried forward from 2015. This
amount is shown on your 2015 Form IT-541, Line 21.

Line 23 — For Nonresident Filers Only- Amount paid on your
behalf by a Composite Partnership Filing

Enter the amount of any payment made on your behalf by a
composite partnership filing. Enter the name of the partnership on
the line provided on the return. If more than one partnership made a
payment on your behalf, attach a schedule labeled with your name
and FEIN and list each partnership and payment made.

Line 24 — Amount of Louisiana Tax Withheld for 2016

Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in 2016. You
must attach copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms that indicate tax was
withheld.

Line 25 — Amount of Estimated Payments for 2016 and Amount
paid with Extension Request

Enter the total amount of estimated payments made for the 2016
tax year and the amount of the payment made with your extension
request from Schedule E, Line 6.

Line 26 — Total Refundable Tax Credits and Payments
Add Lines 20 through 25.

Line 27 — Overpayment
If Line 26 is greater than Line 19, subtract Line 19 from Line 26. If
Line 26 is equal to Line 19, enter a zero on Lines 27 through 34. If

Worksheet 1 - Calculation of Income Tax
Louisiana Taxable Income — Enter the amount of taxable income from

1 ¢ $ TAX
Line 8
First bracket: If Line 1 is greater than $10,000, enter $10,000. If Line 1 29,

2 |is less than $10,000, enter the amount from Line 1. Multiply the balance 2 Ra':e $
by 2% and enter the result in the TAX column.
Second Bracket: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If the balance is zero or

3 less, enter zero. If the balance is greater than zero, enter the balance or 3 4% $
$40,000, whichever is less. Multiply balance by 4%, and enter the result Rate
in the TAX column.
Third Bracket: Subtract $50,000 from Linel1, and enter the balance. If 6%

4 | less than zero, enter “0.” Multiply the balance by 6%, and enter the result 4 Ra':e $
in the TAX column.

5 Total Tax: Add the amounts in the tax column on Lines 2, 3, and 4. Enter 5 $
here and on Form IT-541, Line 9.
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Line 26 is less than Line 19, enter a zero on Lines 27 through 29
and go to Line 30.

Line 28 — Amount to be credited to 2017
Enter the amount of available overpayment shown on Line 27 that
you wish to credit to 2017.

Line 29 — Amount to be REFUNDED
Subtract Line 28 from Line 27. This amount is to be refunded.

Line 30 — Amount Owed
If Line 19 is greater than Line 26, subtract Line 26 from Line 19.

Line 31 — Interest

Interest is charged on all tax amounts not paid by the due date.
Enter the amount from the Interest Calculation Worksheet, page
15, Line 5.

Line 32 — Delinquent Filing Penalty

If you fail to file your tax return by the due date — on or before
May 15, 2017, for calendar year filers, or on or before your fiscal
year due date, or on or before your approved extension date, you
may be charged delinquent filing penalty. Enter the amount from the

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet, page 15, Line 7.

Line 33 — Delinquent Payment Penalty

If you fail to pay the tax due by the due date — on or before May
15, 2017, for calendar year filers, you may be charged delinquent
payment penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Payment
Penalty Calculation Worksheet, page 15, Line 7.

Line 34 — Total Amount Due
Add Lines 30 through 33.

Signature on Return

In order to be considered complete and to meet the requirements
of the Louisiana Income Tax Law, the return must be signed by
the individual or authorized officer of the organization receiving or
having custody or control and management of the income of the
estate or trust. If two or more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries,
any one of them may sign the return.

Any person(s), firm, or corporation who prepares a taxpayer’s return
must also sign. If a firm or corporation prepares the return, it must
be signed in the name of the firm or corporation. This verification
is not required where a regular, full-time employee of the taxpayer
prepares the return.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE A - Computation of Louisiana Taxable Income before Income Distribution Deduction

Use Schedule A when reporting income of nonresident estates
and trusts that earn income from Louisiana sources. R.S. 300.3(2)
provides that income items of nonresident estates and trusts are
subject to allocation or apportionment as determined by R.S.
47:241 through R.S. 47:247.

Line 1 — Federal Taxable Income before the Exemption and
Distribution Deduction

Nonresident bankruptcy estates enter the sum of the taxable income
amount reported on Line 43, and the exemption amount reported
on Line 42, of the Federal Form 1040 that is an attachment to the
Federal Form 1041. Nonresident trusts and all other nonresident
estates enter the sum of the amounts reported on Line 18, Line 20,
and Line 22 of Federal Form 1041.

Line 2 — Net Income Taxes Paid to any State or Political or
Municipal Subdivision

Enter the amount of net income taxes paid to any state or political
or municipal subdivision deducted on Federal Form 1041.

Line 3A - Income Exempt from Taxation

Enter the amount of any income that is exempt from taxation under
the laws of Louisiana, or that is prohibited from taxation by the
Constitution or laws of the United States. This amount must be
subtracted from federal taxable income. An example of such income
would be interest on U.S. government obligations.

Line 3B — Depletion in Excess of Federal Depletion

Enter the amount of Louisiana depletion in excess of federal
depletion. In computing net income in the case of oil and gas wells,
a deduction is allowed for cost depletion or percentage depletion,
whichever is greater. Percentage depletion is calculated as 22% of
gross income from the property during the taxable year, excluding
from such gross income an amount equal to any rents and royalties
paid or incurred by the taxpayer from the property. Percentage
depletion can not exceed 50% of the net income of the taxpayer
computed without allowance for depletion from the property. In

determining net income from the property, federal income tax is
considered an expense.

Line 3C — S Bank Exclusion

Enter the amount of the S Bank shareholder exclusion that the
estate or trust can claim. The amount of the exclusion is considered
nontaxable income. R.S. 47:297.3(B)(5) provides that “S Bank
nontaxable income” means: (A) the portion of the income reported
by an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S Schedule K-1 or, (B) the
portion of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent
document, which is attributable to the net earnings used to compute
the S Bank’s shares tax as provided in R.S. 47:1967.

Line 4 —Total Subtractions
Add Lines 3A through 3C.

Line 5 — Modified Federal Taxable Income before Distribution
Deduction

Add the amount on Line 1 to the amount on Line 2. From that total,
subtract the amount on Line 4 and enter the result.

Modified Federal Taxable Income Allocated or Apportioned to
Louisiana

In accordance with R.S. 47:300.3(2), Louisiana taxable income
of a nonresident estate or trust for a taxable year is computed by
applying the allocation and apportionment provisions of R.S. 47:241
through R.S. 47:247 to the estate’s or trust’s federal taxable income
for the same year modified by the provisions of R.S. 47:300.7(C).

In order to determine Louisiana taxable income, it is necessary
to separate all items of income into two general classes, namely:
those items that can be allocated directly to the state in which they
are earned, and those items of income that arise from business
partly within and without Louisiana. Louisiana’s share of allocable
items can be determined by direct allocation. In the case of net
income from business partly within and partly without the state, a
percentage of the net income must be apportioned to Louisiana on



the basis of an apportionment percentage.

If the Louisiana portion is entirely separable from the remainder, and
the use of the apportionment method would produce a manifestly
unfair result, a separate accounting may be made for Louisiana
business and the total net income. Prior written permission from the
Secretary must be secured to report by the separate accounting
method.

In computing net allocable income, all expenses, losses, and other
deductions, except federal income taxes that are directly attributable
to such income and a ratable portion of allowable deductions,
except federal income taxes that are not directly attributable to any
class of income should be deducted from gross allocable income.

Line 6A — Net Rents and Royalties
Enter the total amount of net rents and royalties earned by the
estate or trust.

Line 6B — Royalties from the Use of Patents, Trademarks
Enter the total amount of royalties from the use of patents,
trademarks, etc.

Line 6C — Income from Estates, Trust, and Partnerships
Enter the total amount of income derived from estates, trusts, and
partnerships.

Line 6D — Income from Construction, Repair, Etc.
Enter the total amount of income derived from construction, repair,
or other similar services.

Line 6E — Other Allocable income

Enter any other net allocable income. Other items of allocable
income such as interest income, dividends on corporate stock,
profits from sales and exchanges of capital assets, and salaries,
wages, or other compensations received by a nonresident individual
for personal services are considered allocable under the provisions
of R.S. 47:243.

6F —Total Allocable Income from all sources
Add Lines 6A through 6E.

Line 7 — Net Income Subject to Apportionment
Subtract Line 6F from Line 5.

Line 8 — Net Income Apportioned to Louisiana
Multiply Schedule A, Line 7 by the percentage from Schedule B, Line 7.

Line 9A — Net Rents and Royalties

Enter the amount of Louisiana net rents and royalties. Rents and
royalties from immovable or corporeal movable property must be
allocated to the state where the property is located at the time the
income is derived.

Line 9B — Royalties from the Use of Patents, Trademarks

Enter the amount of Louisiana royalties from the use of patents,
trademarks, etc. Royalties or similar revenue from the use of patents,
trademarks, copyrights, secret processes, and other similar intangible
rights must be allocated to the states in which such rights are used
by the licensee. Please attach a schedule showing your computation.

Line 9C - Income from Estates, Trust, and Partnerships

Enter the total amount of Louisiana income derived from estates,
trusts, and partnerships. Estates, trusts, and partnerships having
a corporation as a member or beneficiary must allocate and
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apportion their income within and without the state in accordance
with the processes and formulas prescribed for corporations, and
the share of any corporate member or beneficiary in the net income
from sources in this state, so computed, must be allocated to this
state in the return of the member or beneficiary.

Line 9D — Income from Construction, Repair, Etc.

Enter the amount of Louisiana income derived from construction,
repair, or other similar services. Income from construction, repair,
or other similar services must be allocated to the state in which the
service is performed. The phrase “other similar services” means
any work that has as its purpose the improvement of immovable
property belonging to a person other than the taxpayer where
a substantial portion of the work is performed at the location of
such property, whether or not such services actually result in
improvements to the property.

Line 9E — Other Allocable Income

Enter any other net Louisiana allocable income. Other items of
allocable income such as interest income, dividends on corporate
stock, and salaries, wages, or other compensations received
by a nonresident individual for personal services are considered
allocable under the provisions of R.S. 47:243. Please attach a
schedule of your computations.

Profits from sales and exchanges of capital assets consisting of
immovable or corporeal movable property are allocated to the state
where such property is located at the time the income is derived.
Profits from sales or exchanges not made in the regular course
of business, of property, other than capital assets consisting of
incorporeal property or rights, are allocated to the state where
such property is located at the time of the sale. A mineral lease,
royalty interest, oil payment, or other mineral interest is considered
to be Louisiana income if the property creating the mineral interest
is located in Louisiana. Other profits from sales and exchanges
of capital assets consisting of incorporeal property or rights is
allocated to the state in which the securities or credits producing
such income have their situs. Please attach a schedule showing
your computations.

Interest on customers’ notes and accounts, except when such
interest is from the primary business of making loans, must be
allocated by reference to the transaction from which the receivable
arose (to the state where delivery was made in the case of sales
of merchandise; where services were performed in the case of
charges for services, etc.). Interest on customers’ accounts when
the primary business is making loans is not allocable income.

Other interest and dividends must be allocated to the state in which
the securities or credits producing such income have their situs,
which is the business situs of such securities or credits, if they
have been so used in connection with the taxpayer’s business as
to acquire a business situs, or, in the absence of such a business
situs, the commercial domicile of the taxpayer. Dividends upon
stock having a situs in Louisiana must be allocated to the state
or states in which is earned the income from which the dividends
are paid, in proportion to the respective amounts of such income
earned in each state.

9F —Total Allocable Income from Louisiana
Add Lines 9A through 9E.

Line 10 — Modified Federal Taxable Income Allocated and
Apportioned to Louisiana
Add Lines 8 and 9F and enter the result on Line 10.



Line 11 — Federal ltemized Deductions Attributable to
Louisiana

Nonbusiness deductions are allowable to the extent that they are
attributable to Louisiana. In particular, nonbusiness interest shall
be attributed to Louisiana to the extent paid to persons or firms
domiciled in this state and nonbusiness charitable contributions
shall be attributed to Louisiana to the extent that they are made to
Louisiana organizations. If a contribution is made to an organization

that is present within and without Louisiana, the contributions shall
be attributed to Louisiana if made to a Louisiana chapter or branch
of the organization.

Line 12 — Louisiana Taxable Income Before Income
Distribution Deduction

Subtract Line 11 from Line 10. Enter the result on Schedule A, Line
12 and on Form IT-541, Line 4.

SCHEDULE B - Computation of Apportionment Percent

Computation of Apportionment Percent

Your principal type of business determines which factors apply in
the calculation of your Louisiana apportionment percent. For Air
Transportation, use factors (1) and (3); for Pipeline Transportation,
use factors (1), (2), and (3); for Other Transportation, use factors (1)
and (3); for Service Enterprises in which the use of property is not a
material income producing factor, use factors (1) and (2), otherwise,
use factors (1), (2), and (3); for Loan Business, use factors (2) and
(4); for Merchandising and Manufacturing, use factors (1), (2), (3),
and (5); and for Other Businesses use factors (1), (2), and (3).
Calculate your apportionment percent using Schedule B.

1. The Sales and Charges for Services Factor — The Louisiana
sales factor shall include all sales made in the regular course of
business where the goods, merchandise, or property is received in
this state by the purchaser. In the case of delivery by common carrier
or by other means of transportation, including transportation by the
purchaser, the place where the goods are ultimately received after
all transportation is completed shall be considered as the place at
which the goods are received by the purchaser. The Louisiana factor
shall also include all charges for services performed in Louisiana.

The sales factor for income from air transportation would be the
ratio of the gross receipts derived from passenger journeys and
cargo shipments originated in Louisiana and any other items of
apportionable income or receipts derived entirely from Louisiana
sources to total gross apportionable income of the taxpayer.

2. The Salaries and Wages Factor — There shall be included in
the Louisiana factor the total salaries, wages, and other personal
service compensation paid during the taxable year for services
rendered in Louisiana in connection with the production of
apportionable income.

3.The Property Factor — The Louisiana factor shall be the average
of the value of the taxpayer’s real property and tangible personal
property used in the production of apportionable income within this
state at the beginning of the taxable year and at the end of the
taxable year. For further information concerning the apportionment
factors, refer to R.S. 47:245.

4. Loan Factor — In the case of a loan business, the Louisiana factor
shall be the amount of loans made in this state during the period
for which the return is filed. For further information concerning the
apportionment factors, refer to R.S. 47:245.

5. Additional Sales Factor — Taxpayers whose net apportionable
income is derived primarily from the business of manufacturing or
merchandising (manufacturing, producing, and/or selling tangible
personal property) are required to use a fourth ratio. This is the
ratio of net sales made in the regular course of business and other
gross apportionable income attributable to this state to the total
net sales made in the regular course of business and other gross
apportionable income of the taxpayer. These sales are the same as
those reported on Schedule B, Line 1D.

This provision does not apply to the following:

¢ Any taxpayer subject to the tax imposed pursuant to Chapter
8 of Subtitle Il of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes
(Tobacco Tax).

* Any taxpayer whose income is primarily derived from the
production or sale of unrefined oil and gas.

6. Total Percentages — Add the percentages under Column 3 on
Lines 1D, 2, 3, 4, and 5.

7. Average of Percents — Divide Line 6 by the number of factors
used. Multiply the result by the amount on Schedule A, Line 7 to
determine the amount of net income apportioned to Louisiana.

SCHEDULE C - Distributive Shares of Beneficiaries

Enter the name and social security number of each beneficiary and his distributive share of the estate or trust income allocated to the
State of Louisiana. Each beneficiary’s distributive share is deemed to apply to taxable and nontaxable income, and to income from sources
within, as well as from sources without, the state. If additional space is needed, attach a separate schedule.

SCHEDULE D - Computation of Federal Income Tax Deduction

Both R.S. 47:300.6(A) for resident estates and trusts and R.S.
47:300.7(A) for nonresident estates and trusts allow for a federal
income tax deduction to be computed following the provisions of
R.S. 47:287.83 and 287.85. R.S. 47:287.85(C) allows a deduction
in computing net income for that portion of the federal income tax
levied on Louisiana income. The deductible portion of the federal
income tax is the sum of the allowable portion of the federal income
tax which is calculated at alternative capital gain rates and the
allowable portion of the federal income tax that is taxed at the
ordinary rates.

Line 1. Louisiana income before federal income tax deduction
Enter the amount of the Louisiana income before federal income
tax deduction found on Form IT-541, Line 6.

Line 2. Adjustments to convert Louisiana net income to a
federal basis

In order to make Louisiana net income and federal net income
comparable, Louisiana net income should be converted to a federal
basis. ltems of difference between federal and state net income
are divided into “compensating items” and “noncompensating



items” The modifications to federal taxable income provided
in R.S. 47:300.6(B) and R.S. 47:300.7(C) would be treated as
“noncompensating items” of difference between federal and state
income. These items arise from a difference in tax law between
federal and state and will never adjust themselves. Any items of
income or expense allocated in full outside Louisiana need not be
considered because a federal tax deduction cannot be allowed on
income that Louisiana will never tax.

The net adjustment to Louisiana income would be limited to the
excess of the sum of the items of deduction attributable to Louisiana
allowed by federal law, but not by Louisiana and the items of gross
income attributed to and taxed by Louisiana, but not by the federal
government over the items of deduction allowed by Louisiana, but
not by the federal government. An adjustment would not be made for
interest on U.S. government obligations since such an adjustment
would allow a federal tax deduction on income that Louisiana will
never tax.

ltems of difference that relate to apportionable income should
have the apportionment percentage applied before computing
the adjustment amount. Items of difference that relate to allocable
income are considered only if they relate to Louisiana allocable
income. The apportionment percentage is not applied to these
items.

Enter on Line 2 those items of difference between Louisiana and
federal income such as state income taxes, interest on obligations
of a state or political or municipal subdivision other than Louisiana,
and the deduction for additional depletion. The adjustment for
depletion is allowed only to the extent of the sum of the adjustments
for state income taxes and interest on obligations of a state or
political or municipal subdivision other than Louisiana.

Line 3. Louisiana Income on a Federal Basis
Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 and enter the result.

Line 4. Less Louisiana Income Taxed at Special Rates
Enter the amount of the capital gains allocable to Louisiana and
taxed at special rates on the federal return.

Line 5. Louisiana Ordinary Income on a Federal Basis
Subtract Line 4 from Line 3 and enter the result.

Line 6. Federal Taxable Income

Enter the amount of your federal taxable income from your federal
Form 1041, or the Federal Form 1040 attached to the Federal Form
1041 if a bankruptcy estate.

Line 7. Less Federal Income Taxed at Special Rates

Enter the amount of the income that is taxed at special rates, from
your Federal Form 1041 , or the Federal Form 1040 attached to the
Federal Form 1041 if a bankruptcy estate.

Line 8. Federal Net Income-Ordinary
Subtract Line 7 from Line 6 and enter the result.

Line 9. Ratio-Louisiana Ordinary/Federal Ordinary
Enter the ratio obtained by dividing Line 5 by Line 8.

Line 10. Ratio—Louisiana Special/Federal Special
Enter the ratio obtained by dividing Line 4 by Line 7.

Line 11. Federal Income Tax Liability
Enter the actual federal tax liability after being reduced for all credits
except the alternative minimum tax credit.

Line 12. Less Federal Special Rates Tax

Enter the amount of your special rates tax from your federal Form
1041, or the Federal Form 1040 attached to the Federal Form 1041
if a bankruptcy estate.

Line 13. Less Alternative Minimum Tax

Under most circumstances, the alternative minimum tax is not
deductible on the Louisiana return. The tax is deductible only to
the extent that Louisiana tax is paid on income on which alternative
minimum tax has been paid and no regular federal income tax
will be paid. Refer to Louisiana Administrative Code 61:1.1122 for
further explanation.

Line 14. Federal Ordinary Tax
Subtract Lines 12 and 13 from Line 11 and enter the result.

Line 15. Federal Income Tax Attributable to Louisiana Ordinary
Income
Enter the amount obtained by multiplying Line 14 by Line 9.

Line 16. Federal Income Tax on Louisiana Income Taxed at
Special Rates
Enter the amount obtained by multiplying Line 12 by Line 10.

Line 17. Federal Income Tax Disaster Relief Credits

Act 23 of the 2005 1st Extraordinary Legislative Session provides
that an estate or trust may increase the amount of its federal income
tax deduction by the amount of total Federal Disaster Relief Credits
attributable to Louisiana. Enter the amount of your total Federal
Disaster Relief Credits. Please refer to LAC 61:1.601 available on
the Department’s website regarding federal credits deemed by the
Secretary to be federal disaster credits.

Line 18. Federal income tax disaster relief credits attributable
to Louisiana

Multiply Line 17 by Line 9. Enter the result here and on Form IT-541,
Line 7B.

Line 19. Federal Income Tax Deduction
Add Lines 15, 16, and 18. Enter the result here and on Form IT-541,
Line 7A.

SCHEDULE E - Summary of Estimated Tax Payments and Extension Payment

Provide information regarding the estimated tax payments that you made for the 2016 tax year and the amount of payment

made with the extension request.




GENERAL INFORMATION ON ALL CREDITS

R.S. 47:1675 provides for general rules governing the application of tax credits. Credits should be applied in numerical order using the
codes provided below. If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed.
The schedule should clearly identify the credit, your name, and LDR account number. If documentation is required, you must submit the
documentation with your return. For faster processing, you can upload all required information when you file your return electronically.
Revenue Information Bulletins (RIB) are posted on www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies under Policy Documents.

Certain tax credits have been reduced according to Acts 125 and 133 of the 2015 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. Please
refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 15-021 for information on the Act 125 reductions.

Note: Transferrable credits will be claimed on Schedule NRC-P3, Part Il or Schedule RC-P2, Part Il. If you are claiming a credit that is
recorded in the Tax Credit Registry, you must attach a completed Credit Utilization Form (R-6140, Section 2) and a copy of the Credit

Registration Form (R-6135) to the tax return. See RIB No. 14-005.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 1 CREDITS, SCHEDULE NRC-P1

Below is a list of nonrefundable credits available for Louisiana income
tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and the dollar amount
claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1 through 6. See Revenue
Information Bulletin No. 15-021 for more information. NOTE: Use only the
codes referenced in the table of Schedule NRC-P1.The codes listed
here are not interchangeable with other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Premium Tax 11010 51010

LINE 7 — TOTAL INCOME TAX CREDITS
Add Lines 1 through 6 and enter the result on IT-541, Line 11.

CODE

100 - PremiumTax — R.S. 47:227 provides a credit for 72 percent of
premium taxes paid during the preceding twelve months by an
insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana. A
copy of the premium tax return and cancelled checks in pay-
ment of the tax must be attached to the return.

120 - Bone Marrow — R.S. 47:287.758 provides a credit to
employers, authorized to do business in the state, who
incur bone marrow donor expense by developing a bone
marrow donation program, educating employees related to
bone marrow, making payments to a health care provider for
determining tissue types of potential donors, paying wages
to an employee for time related to tissue typing and bone
marrow donation, etc. The wage expense used to obtain the
credit cannot be deductible as an expense for income tax
purposes. The amount of the credit was equal to 18 percent
of the bone marrow donor expense paid or incurred by the
employer during the tax year.

140 - Nonviolent Offenders — R.S. 47:287.752 provides a credit
for an entity who provides full-time employment to an indi-
vidual who has been convicted of a first-time nonviolent
offense, has completed a court-ordered program certified by
the employee’s probation officer, and has worked 180 days. A
statement signed by both the employer and employee certify-
ing the employee’s full-time work status for the year must be

attached to the return.

150 - Qualified Playgrounds — R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit for
donations to assist qualified playgrounds. The credit is the
lesser of $720 or 36 percent of the value of the cash, equip-
ment, goods, or services donated. For more information on

CODE
this credit, see Revenue Ruling No. 02-020 posted on LDR’s
website.

155 - Debt Issuance — R.S. 47: 6017 provides a credit for 72

percent of the filing fee paid to the Louisiana State Bond
Commission, which is incurred by an economic develop-
ment corporation in the preparation and issuance of bonds.

160 - Contributions to Educational Institutions — R.S. 47:37 and
R.S. 47:287.755 provide a credit of 29 percent of the value of
tangible property of a sophisticated and technical nature to
educational institutions in the State of Louisiana. The institu-
tion that receives the donation must furnish to the donor or
seller a certification of such donation, contribution, or sale
below cost, which shall include the date and the value of the
property donated, contributed, or sold.

170 - Donations to Public Schools — R.S. 47:6013 provides a
credit for qualified donations made to a public school. The
credit is equal to 28.8 percent of the appraised value of
a qualified donation of property made to a public school.
“Public school” is defined as a public elementary or second-
ary school. “Qualified donation” is defined as a donation of
immovable property purchased or otherwise acquired by a
corporation and donated to a public school immediately adja-

cent or contiguous to such property.

175 - Donations of Materials, Equipment, Advisors, Instructors
—R.S.47:6012 provides a credit for employers within the state
for donations of the latest technology available of materials,
equipment, or instructors to public training providers, sec-
ondary and postsecondary vocational-technical schools,
apprenticeship programs registered with the Louisiana
Workforce Commission, or community colleges to assist
in the development of training programs designed to meet
industry needs. The credit is for 36 percent of the value of
the donated materials, equipment, or services rendered
by the instructor. When taken with other applicable credits,
this credit cannot exceed 20 percent of the employer’s tax
liability for any taxable year.

199 - Other — Reserved for Future Credits


http:// www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 3 CREDITS, SCHEDULE NRC-P3

Below is a list of nonrefundable credits available for Louisiana
income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 6. See Revenue Information Bulletin No. 15-021 for more
information. NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table
of Schedule NRC-P3. The codes listed here are not inter-
changeable with other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Apprenticeship 21316 51010

LINES 7 THROUGH 9 — Complete Lines 7 through 9 ONLY if a
transferable credit is claimed (credit codes 251 through 262). For
Lines 7A, 8A, and 9A, enter the LDR State Certification number
from Form R-6135, if applicable.

LINE 10 — TOTAL INCOME TAX CREDITS
Add Lines 1 through 9 and enter the result on IT-541, Line 18.

CODE

200 - Atchafalaya Trace — R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit to cer
tain heritage-based cottage industries that have entered into
a contract with the State Board of Commerce and Industry. A
copy of the contract must be attached to the return.

208 - Previously Unemployed — R.S. 47:6004 provides a credit
for hiring a previously unemployed person who participates
in the Family Independence Work Program in a newly cre-

ated full-time job.

210 - Recycling Credit — R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for the
purchase of certain equipment or service contracts related
to recycling. The credit must be certified by the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality and a copy of the

certification must be attached to the return.

212 - Basic Skills Training — R.S. 47:6009 provides a credit for
employers who pay for training to bring employees’ reading,
writing, or mathematical skills to at least the 12th grade level.
The credit is limited to $180 per participating employee, not to

exceed $21,600 for the tax year.

218 - Inventory Tax — Use this code for the current year credit
and carryforward of credit deemed nonrefundable by Act 5
of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session (ITEP), and for
carryforward of credit (not current year credit) deemed nonre-
fundable by Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session
and by Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session. R.S.
47:6006 allows a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to political
subdivisions in Louisiana on inventory held by manufac-
turers, distributors, or retailers. Act 4 of the 2016 Second
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the amount
of the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required
that groups of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer
for purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the credit
claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. Act 5 of the
2016 Second Extraordinary Session changed the inventory
tax credit to a nonrefundable credit for taxes paid on inventory
by any manufacturer who claimed the property tax exemption
under the Industrial Tax Exemption Program (ITEP) during
the same year the inventory taxes were paid, and taxes paid
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CODE

219 -

224 -

226 -

228 -

230 -

231 -

232 -

by any company related to such manufacturer for taxes paid
on inventory that is related to the business of such manufac-
turer.

Ad Valorem Natural Gas — Use this code for carryforward
of credit (not current year credit) deemed nonrefundable by
Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session and by Act
4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session. R.S. 47:6006
allows a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivi-
sions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used or consumed
in providing natural gas storage services or operating
natural gas storage facilities. Act 4 of the 2016 Second
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the amount
of the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required
that groups of affiliated companies be treated as one tax-
payer for purposes of the limitations on refundability, for the
credit claimed on returns filed on or after July 1, 2016.

New Jobs Credit — R.S. 47:34 and R.S. 47:287.749 provide
a credit to employers who establish or expand a business
in the state. A schedule that includes the calculation of the
credit must be attached to the return and must also include
the name, address, and Social Security Number of each new
employee; highest number of full-time and qualified part-time
employees during the previous year; highest number of full-
time and part-time employees during the current year; number
of new employees hired for new jobs created during this taxable
year; and the amount of credit carried forward from the previous
year.

Refunds by Utilities — R.S. 47: 287.664 provides a credit
for certain court ordered refunds made by utilities to its
customers.

Eligible Re-entrants — R.S. 47:287.748 provides a credit
to encourage the employment in full-time jobs in the state
of Louisiana of re-entrants who have been convicted of a
felony and who have successfully completed the Intensive
Incarceration Program as provided for in R.S. 15:574.4.

Neighborhood Assistance - R.S. 47:35 and R.S.
47:287.753 provide a credit for an entity engaged in the
activities of providing neighborhood assistance, job training,
education for individuals, community services, or crime pre-
vention in Louisiana. The credit is for up to 50 percent of the
amount contributed for investment in programs approved by
the Commissioner of Administration and the credit shall not
exceed $180,000 annually.

Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015 provides a
credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit
under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities.
Use this code for Research and Development credits earned
for expenditures made in tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2009. The credit is obtained through the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development and documenta-
tion from that agency must be attached to the return. See
Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on LDR’s website.

Cane River Heritage — R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit for
a heritage-based cottage industry located or to be located
in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. The



CODE

CODE

234 -

236 -

238 -

240 -

251 -

252 -

253 -

254 -

taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Department of
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a copy of the con-
tract must be attached to the return.

LA Community Economic Development — R.S. 47:6031
provides a credit for money donated, contributed, or repre-
sented by a sale below cost by the taxpayer to a certified
community development corporation or a certified com-
munity development financial institution. The credit must
be certified and approved by the Department of Economic
Development, and a copy of the certification must be
attached to the return.

Apprenticeship — R.S. 47:6033 provides a credit to
employers equal to one dollar for each hour of employ-
ment for an eligible apprentice, limited to 1,000 hours for
each eligible apprentice. An eligible apprentice is a person
who has entered into a written apprentice agreement with
an employer or an association of employers pursuant to
a registered apprenticeship program or who is enrolled in
a training program accredited by the National Center for
Construction Education and Research. For more informa-
tion regarding this credit, please contact the Louisiana
Workforce Commission.

Ports of Louisiana Investor — R.S. 47:6036(C) pro-
vides a credit to encourage investment in state port
facilities in Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development to receive certifica-
tion. A copy of the certification of the credit must be attached
to the return.

Ports of Louisiana Import Export Cargo — R.S. 47:6036(1)
provides a credit to encourage the use of state port facili-
ties in Louisiana. The credit is based on the number of
tons of qualified cargo imported and exported from or to
manufacturing, fabrication, assembly, distribution, process-
ing or warehousing facilities located in the state. Taxpayers
must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certifica-
tion of the credit must be attached to the return.

Motion Picture Investment — R.S. 47:6007(C)(1) pro-
vides a credit for taxpayers domiciled in Louisiana, other
than motion picture production companies, who invest in
a state-certified motion picture production. Taxpayers tak-
ing this credit may attach Form R-10611, available on the
Department’s website, as documentation for this credit. See
Revenue Information Bulletin 15-033 for more information.

Research and Development — R.S. 47:6015 provides a
credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax
credit under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activi-
ties. Use this code for Research and Development credits
earned for expenditures made in tax years beginning before
January 1, 2009.

Historic Structures — R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if the
taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the rehabilitation
of a historic structure located in a Downtown Development
or a cultural district. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin
14-007 and 14-007A on LDR'’s website.

Digital Interactive Media — R.S. 47:6022 provides a
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256 -

257 -

258 -

259 -

260 -

261 -

262 -

299 -
300 -

credit for the investment in businesses specializing in
digital interactive media before January 1, 2012. See
Revenue Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s website for
more information. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development to receive
certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must be
attached to the return.

Motion Picture Employment of Resident — R.S. 47:1125.1
provides a credit for the employment of residents of
Louisiana in connection with the production of a motion
picture. The credit may flow to an individual via a partnership,
limited liability company, Subchapter S Corporation, or other
entities. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 05-005 on
LDR’s website.

Capital Company — R.S.51:1924 provides a credit for the
investment in a certified Louisiana capital company. The
credit must be approved by the Commissioner of the Office
of Financial Institutions. A copy of the certification from
the Office of Financial Institutions must be attached to the
return.

LA Community Development Financial Institution
(LCDFI) - R.S. 51:3085 et seq. provide a credit for certain
investments in an LCDFI to encourage the expansion of
businesses in economically distressed areas. The Louisiana
Office of Financial Institutions administers this program.

New Markets — R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the
taxpayer makes certain qualified low-income community
investments, as defined in Section 45D of the Internal
Revenue Code. The taxpayer must be certified by the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development and
approved by LDR. Information on the program investment
limits are posted as Revenue Information Bulletins on LDR’s
website.

Brownfields Investor Credit — R.S. 47:6021 provides
a credit to encourage the cleanup, redevelopment, and
productive reuse of brownfields in the state. The credit is
obtained through the Department of Economic Development
and the Department of Environmental Quality.

Motion Picture Infrastructure — R.S. 47:6007(C)(2) pro-
vides a credit for an approved state-certified infrastructure
project for a film, video, television, or digital production
or postproduction facility. Taxpayers must apply to the
Louisiana Department of Economic Development to receive
certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must be
attached to the return. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin
06-004 on LDR’s website.

Angel Investor — R.S. 47:6020 provides a credit to
encourage third party investment of taxpayers who make
qualified investments to certified Louisiana entrepreneurial
businesses on or after January 1, 2011. To earn the Angel
Investor Tax Credit, taxpayers must file an application with
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development.

Other — Reserved for Future Credits

Biomed/University Research — R.S.17:3389 provides
a credit for a company that establishes research activi-



CODE CODE
ties in either a Biomedical or University Research and 310 - Manufacturing Establishments — R.S. 47:4305 provides
Development Park. The taxpayer must enter into a contract a credit to certain manufacturing establishments that have
with the Louisiana Department of Economic Development entered into a contract with the Louisiana Department of
and a copy of the contract showing the credit granted must Economic Development. A copy of the contract showing the
be attached to the return. credit granted must be attached to the return.

305 - Tax Equalization — R.S. 47:3202 provides a credit for tax 315 - Enterprise Zone — R.S. 51:1782 et. seq. provide a credit
equalization for certain businesses locating in Louisiana. for private sector investments in certain areas, which are
The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana designated as “Enterprise Zones” The taxpayer must enter
Department of Economic Development and a copy of the into a contract with the Louisiana Department of Economic
contract showing the credit granted must be attached to the Development and a copy of the contract showing the credit
return. granted must be attached to the return.

399 - Other — Reserved for Future Credits

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRIORITY 2 REFUNDABLE CREDITS, SCHEDULE RC-P2

Lines 1 through 5

Below is a list of refundable tax credits available for Louisiana
income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1
through 5. See Revenue Information Bulletin No. 15-021 for more
information.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table of Schedule
RC-P2. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description  Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Angel Investor 6111F 41010].

Lines 6 through 8 — Complete Lines 6 through 8 ONLY if a trans-
ferable credit is claimed (credit code 62F). For Lines 6A, 7A, and
8A, enter the LDR State Certification number from Form R-6135,
if applicable.

9 — Total Income Tax credits — Add Lines 1 through 8 and enter
the result on IT-541, Line 14.

CODE

52F - Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels — R.S. 47:6006.1 allows a
refundable credit for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes
paid on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act
Waters. The following must be attached to the return: a
copy of the tax assessment, a copy of the cancelled check
in payment of the tax, and a copy of a completed Form
LAT 11A from the Louisiana Tax Commission.

54F - Telephone Company Property — R.S. 47:6014 allows a
refundable credit for up to 40 percent of the ad valorem
taxes paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a telephone
company, with respect to that company’s public service
properties located in Louisiana. The credit may be passed
through to individuals who are shareholders or members
of certain legal entities. See Revenue Information Bulletin
01-004 on LDR’s website. A schedule must be attached
stating which entity paid the tax and obtained the credit on
the taxpayer’s behalf.
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CODE

55F - Prison Industry Enhancement — R. S. 47:6018 allows a
refundable credit for 72 percent of the state sales and use
tax paid by a taxpayer on purchases by a taxpayer of spe-
cialty apparel items from a private sector Prison Industry
Enhancement (PIE) contractor.

56F - Urban Revitalization — R.S. 51:1801 et seq. allow
a refundable credit for investing in certain economi-
cally depressed areas of the state. Taxpayers must
apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic
Development to receive certification. A copy of the cer-

tification of the credit must be attached to the return.

57F - Mentor — Protégé — R.S. 47:6027 allows a refundable
credit for a mentor business that fulfills the terms of a
Mentor-Protégé Agreement as approved by the Louisiana
Department of Economic Development. A copy of the cer-

tification of the credit must be attached to the return.

58F - Milk Producers — R.S. 47:6032 allows a refundable credit
for a resident taxpayer engaged in the business of produc-
ing milk for sale. Those milk producers that have obtained
permits under the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title
51 and have met the requirements of the Food and Drug
Administration shall be certified by the Department of
Health to receive the credit. For more information see

Revenue Information Bulletin 08-014 on LDR’s website.

59F - Technology Commercialization — R.S. 51:2351 et seq.
allow a refundable credit for a qualifying business that
invests in the commercialization of Louisiana technology.
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy
of the certification of the credit must be attached to the

return.

61F - Angel Investor — R.S. 47:6020 allows a refundable credit
to encourage third party investment of taxpayers who make
qualified investments to certified Louisiana entrepreneurial
businesses between January 1, 2005 and December 31,
2009. To earn the Angel Investor Tax Credit, taxpayers
must file an application with the Louisiana Department of
Economic Development. Refer to Revenue Information

Bulletin 06-020 on LDR’s website.



CODE

CODE

62F -

65F -

67F -

68F -

70F -

71F -

Musical and Theatrical Production — R.S. 47:6034
allows a refundable credit for the production expenses,
employment of college and vocational-technical stu-
dents, employment of residents, and for the construction,
repair, or renovation of facilities related to productions
and performances. No credit shall be allowed under this
provision if credit has been granted for the Motion Picture
Investment or Infrastructure credit (R.S. 47:6007) or
the Sound Recording Investment credit (R.S. 47:6023).
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of
the certification must be attached to the return.

School Readiness Child Care Provider — R.S. 47:6105
allows a refundable credit for a child care provider who
operates a facility or facilities where care is given to foster
children in the custody of the Louisiana Department of
Children and Family Services (DCFS) or to children who
participate in the Child Care Assistance Program admin-
istered by the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE).
The credit is based on the average monthly number of
children who attended the facility multiplied by an amount
based on the quality rating of the child care facility. For
more information regarding this credit, contact Louisiana
Department of Education.

School Readiness Business-Supported Child Care -
R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable credit for a taxpayer who
incurs eligible business-supported child care expenses.
The percentage of eligible expenses allowed for the credit
depends on the quality rating of the child care facility
to which the expenses are related or the quality rating
of the child care facility that the child attends. Copies of
cancelled checks and other documentation to support
the amount of eligible expenses must be maintained and
provided upon request. For more information regarding
this credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education

School Readiness Fees and Grants to Resource and
Referral Agencies — R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable
credit for the payment by a business of fees and grants
to child care resource and referral agencies. The credit
shall not exceed $5,000 per tax year. For more informa-
tion regarding this credit, please contact the Louisiana
Department of Education.

Retention and Modernization — R.S. 51:2399.1 et seq.
allow a refundable credit for an employer who incurs
qualified expenditures to modernize existing operations
in Louisiana to retain the business in the state. Taxpayers
must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certifica-
tion of the credit must be attached to the return.

Conversion of Vehicle to Alternative Fuel - R.S. 47:6035
allows a refundable credit for the purchase of, or conver-
sion of, a vehicle designed to run on an alternative fuel.
See Revenue Information Bulletin No. 13-023 for definition
of alternative fuel. The credit is not allowed for the costs
associated with the purchase or conversion of a flexible
fuel vehicle, designed to run on both alternative fuel and
gasoline or diesel. The purchased vehicle must be properly
registered with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety.
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73F -

74F -

80F -

You must attach documentation verifying the conversion or
purchase of the vehicle. The credit is for 36 percent of the
cost of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel prop-
erty that has been purchased or installed. If the taxpayer is
unable to determine the exact cost attributable to the quali-
fied clean-burning motor vehicle, the credit amount cur-
rently allowed is equal to 7.2 percent of the cost or $1,500,
whichever is less.

Digital Interactive Media — R.S. 47:6022 allows a refund-
able credit for the investment in businesses specializing
in digital interactive media and software. Taxpayers
must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic
Development to receive certification. A copy of the certi-
fication of the credit must be attached to the return. See
Revenue Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s website.

Leased Solar Energy Systems — Use this code for sys-
tems installed by a third party through a lease with the
residence owner. R.S. 47:6030 provides a refundable credit
tax for taxpayers who purchased and installed through a
lease with the residence owner a solar electric system at a
single-family detached residence located in the state. Only
one credit is allowed per residence including prior installa-
tions for which a credit was received. The credit is equal to
38 percent of the first $20,000 of the cost of such system.
For the purpose of determining the amount of the credit on
leased systems, the cost of a system is limited to no more
than $2 per watt for a system purchased and installed on
or after July 1, 2015. Since the system is limited to provid-
ing for no more than six kilowatts of energy, the maximum
credit base for leased systems is $12,000. Form R-1086,
available on LDR’s website, must be attached to your return
as documentation for this credit. When taking this credit, the
taxpayer will not be eligible for any other state tax credit,
exemption, exclusion, deduction, or any other tax benefit for
that property. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-026 on
LDR’s website.

Other Refundable Credit — Reserved for future credits.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRIORITY 4 REFUNDABLE CREDITS, SCHEDULE RC-P4

Lines 1 through 5

Below is a list of additional refundable tax credits available for
Louisiana income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying
code, and the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on
Lines 1 through 5. See Revenue Information Bulletin No. 15-021
for more information.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table of Schedule
RC-P4. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:
Credit Description Code Amount of Credit Claimed
Inventory Tax 5|0|F 4100 .

Line 6 — Total Income Tax credits — Add Lines 1 through 5 enter
the result on IT-541, Line 21.

CODE

50F - Inventory Tax — You must use Form R-10610 to calculate
the amount of credit you can claim. R.S. 47:6006 allows
a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions
in Louisiana on inventory held by manufacturers, distribu-
tors, or retailers. Act 4 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary
Session changed the limitation on the amount of the
excess credit over tax that is refunded, and required that
groups of affiliated companies be treated as one taxpayer
for purposes of the limitations on refundability. Except for
new business entities formed or first registered to do busi-
ness in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed that if
the total amount eligible for the credit is less than or equal
to $500,000, 100% of any excess credit is refundable, and
for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75% of any
excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.
For new business entities formed or first registered to do
business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4 deemed
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CODE

51F -

that if the total amount eligible for the credit is less than
$10,000, 100% of any excess credit is refundable, and
for total eligible amounts $10,000 or more, 75% of any
excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.
Act 5 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session changed
the inventory tax credit to a nonrefundable credit for taxes
paid on inventory by any manufacturer who claimed the
property tax exemption under the Industrial Tax Exemption
program (ITEP) during the same year the inventory taxes
were paid, and for taxes paid by any company related to
such manufacturer on inventory that is related to the busi-
ness of such manufacturer.

Ad Valorem Natural Gas —You must use Form R-10610 to
calculate the amount of credit you can claim. R.S 47:6006
allows a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivi-
sions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used or consumed
in providing natural gas storage services or operating
natural gas storage facilities. Act 4 of the 2016 Second
Extraordinary Session changed the limitation on the
amount of the excess credit over tax that is refunded, and
required that groups of affiliated companies be treated as
one taxpayer for purposes of the limitations on refundabil-
ity. Except for new business entities formed or first regis-
tered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act 4
deemed that if the total amount eligible for the credit is less
than or equal to $500,000, 100% of any excess credit is
refundable, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000,
75% of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is
refundable. For new business entities formed or first reg-
istered to do business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, Act
4 deemed that if the total amount eligible for the credit is
less than $10,000, 100% of any excess credit is refundable,
and for total eligible amounts $10,000 or more, 75% of any
excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable.



DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not
pay all amounts due on or before the due date.

1. A 2016 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2017.

2. Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of
the fifth month after the close of the taxable year.
3. If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the return

is due the next business day.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your obliga-
tion to pay all tax amounts due by the original due date.

Interest — If your income tax is not paid by the due date, you will
be charged interest on the unpaid tax until the balance is paid
in full. The interest rate is variable and the 2017 interest rate is
posted on LDR’s website on Form R-1111, Interest Rate Schedule
Collected on Unpaid Taxes. To compute the DAILY INTEREST
RATE, multiply the 2016 monthly interest rate by 12 then divide
the result by 365 and carry out to seven places to the right of
the decimal. Example: Assume the 2017 monthly interest rate is
0.58383 percent, multiply 0.00583 by 12 then divide the result by
365 to get the daily interest rate of 0.0001917.

Interest Calculation Worksheet

1 | Number of days late from the due date.
2 | Daily interest rate (See instructions above.) 0.
3 | Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)
Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 30.) .00
5 Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 t_)y Line 3, and .00
enter the result on Form IT-541, Line 31).

Delinquent Filing Penalty — A delinquent filing penalty will be
charged for failure to file a return on or before your due date, or
your approved extension date. The penalty is five percent of the tax
for each 30 days or fraction thereof during which the failure to file
continues. By law, the maximum delinquent filing penalty that can
be imposed is 25 percent of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from your due date, or your
approved extension date.

2 | Divide Line 1 by 30 days. m
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of

3 | days remain, increase to nearest whole
number.)

4 | 30-day penalty percentage m
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3

5 | by Line 4. The result cannot exceed
25 percent.)

6 | Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 30.) .00
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty due

7 | (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter
the result on Form IT-541, Line 32.) .00
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Important Notice: The sum of both the delinquent filing and delin-
quent payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due.
Thirty-day increments are used for the calculation of the delinquent
filing and delinquent payment penalties. These penalties are based
on the date LDR receives the return or payment. In addition to
the delinquent penalties mentioned above, you may also incur a
negligence penalty if circumstances indicate willful negligence or
intentional disregard of rules and regulations.

Delinquent Payment Penalty — If you fail to pay the tax due by
the due date, a delinquent payment penalty of 5 percent of the tax
not paid by the due date will accrue for each 30 days, or fraction
thereof, during which the failure to pay continues. This penalty
cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due. Use the worksheet below
to calculate that penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

Number of days late from the due date.

Divide Line 1 by 30 days.

Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase the amount to the
nearest whole number.)

30-day penalty percentage

Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3
by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25
percent.)

.00

Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 30.)

Total amount of Delinquent Payment
Penalty (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter
the result on Form IT-541, Line 33.)

.00




