
Every employer who withholds or who is required to withhold Louisiana withholding tax 
from wages of employees, must file this return. This return covers only one taxable period 
and must be filed by the filing deadline preprinted on each return. Even though wages paid 
to employees were not sufficient to require withholding, a return should be filed and “zeros” 
entered on Lines 1 and 4, unless you are an Occasional filer. Occasional filers should file a 
return only for those periods in which there is withholding. Occasional filers should use the 
quarterly form for the appropriate tax period. Amounts withheld or due to be withheld must 
be paid with the return.

Do not use a return form that has been pre-addressed to a former owner. If you have not 
been assigned a tax identification number, apply for one by filing an application for Louisiana 
Revenue Account Number (R-16019) with the Department of Revenue, Post Office Box 201, 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-0201. This form is available on the Department’s website 
(www.revenue.louisiana.gov) under “General Forms.” Upon proper registration, you will be 
sent a pre-addressed return. When the business is discontinued or the payment of wages cease, 
mark the box on Form L-1 indicating “Final Return” and indicate the date the business closed 
or was sold. You must also file the Annual Reconciliation Form L-3 at that time.

Adjustments of tax for prior periods are not allowed on a current return. If in reviewing 
your prior period records you discover an error in reporting tax due, it will be necessary to 
file amended returns for all filing periods in which errors were made. If this is an amended 
return, mark the appropriate box. For more information on amended returns, see the Louisiana 
Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers, “Correcting Mistakes.”

Preparation of Form L-1
Line 1	 Enter the amount of Louisiana withholding tax withheld or required to be withheld 

from the wages of your employees for the tax period covered.

Line 2	 Enter penalty. If a return is not filed or the tax not paid by the due date, a penalty is 
imposed at the rate of 5 percent of the tax for every 30 days or fraction thereof that the 
return is late or the tax is unpaid. The maximum penalty is 25 percent.

Line 3	 Enter interest. Interest is due if the payment is late. Refer to the Tax Interest Rate 
Schedule (R-1111) for monthly interest rates that apply. Form R-1111 is available 
on the Department’s website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov

Line 4	 Remittance for amount due should be made by check, money order, electronic funds 
transfer, or credit card. Cash should not be sent through the mail.

Any employer who fails to withhold or pay amounts required to be withheld is personally liable 
for such amounts.
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Instructions for Employer’s Return of Louisiana Withholding Tax Form L-1

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:114 provides for the filing of state withholding tax returns either 
quarterly, monthly, or semimonthly. Quarterly filing is available to taxpayers whose liabilities 
average less than $500 per month. Taxpayers whose average liabilities are at least $500, but less 
than $2,000 per month are required to file monthly. Taxpayers whose liabilities are $2,000 or 
more per month are required to file semimonthly.

New withholding tax registrants are usually allowed to file quarterly until several returns are 
submitted and an average liability can be calculated. The average tax liability of all withhold-
ing registrants is reviewed periodically, usually just before the printing and mailing of coupon 
booklets, and filing frequencies are reassigned in accordance with R.S. 47:114. Therefore, 
the filing frequency that you are assigned for 2008 is not necessarily the same as your filing 
frequency for 2007.

Your assigned filing frequency for 2008 is shown on page one of this booklet and on each of 
the return coupons. The due dates for returns are as follows:

Filing Frequency	 Due Date
Quarterly	 Last day of month following close of calendar quarter
Monthly	 Last day of following month
Semimonthly 

1st to 15th 	 Last day of same month 
16th to last day 	 15th of following month

If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the return is due the next business day and 
becomes delinquent on the first day thereafter.

Occasional Filing Status
Employers may request Occasional filing status in writing if they have met the following criteria:

1.	 Have filed for two consecutive years.
2.	 Have not had withholdings in more than two quarters of any year.
3.	 Have not had withholdings exceeding $1,500 for any quarter previously filed.

All Occasional filing frequencies will be on a quarterly period. If there are no withholdings in 
a particular quarter, no return will be required. You must use the appropriate quarterly coupon 
for the period for which you are filing.

L-1 Payment Options 
An L-1 return for withholding tax should not be filed if an EFT or credit card payment for 
tax only is made. If the payment includes penalty or interest, an L-1 return segregating these 
amounts must be submitted. Otherwise, the payment will be considered the tax due.



Note: To ensure accurate processing, 
please print your figures as shown.
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For taxpayer assistance, call the Baton Rouge headquarters at (225) 219-7318,  
(225) 219-2114 (TDD Number), or the regional office in your area.

Alexandria (318) 487-5333 Monroe (318) 362-3151

Baton Rouge (225) 922-2300 New Orleans (504) 568-5233

Lafayette (337) 262-5455 Shreveport (318) 676-7505

Lake Charles (337) 491-2504 Thibodaux (985) 447-0976




