Frequently Asked Questions
How can I get a copy of my tax return?
As of July 17, 2015, the research fee for copies of tax returns authorized by R.S. 47:1507 are as follows:
- $15.00 for a copy of any tax return or other document for each year or tax period requested, regardless of whether the requested return or document is located.
- $25.00 for each certified copy of any return or other document for each year or tax period requested, regardless of whether the requested return or document is located.
All research fees for copies must be paid when you submit the Tax Information Disclosure Authorization, Form R-7004. Payments can be by check or money order made payable to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Cash cannot be accepted. Credit card payments can be submitted in Louisiana File Online.
How do I obtain tax forms?
Most forms can be downloaded from the Department website on the Tax Forms page at this link. Alternatively, forms can be requested by calling (888)-829-3071, option 6 or by leaving a voice message at (225) 219-2113. It is helpful to know the form number you are requesting. Forms can also be picked up at LDR’s headquarters in Baton Rouge or the LDR regional office in New Orleans.
How do I check on the status of my Individual Income refund?
You may check the status of your refund online by clicking this link. You will need the following information about your refund to check the status:
- Social security number,
- Tax year,
- Return fling status, (single, married filing joint, etc.), and
- Amount of refund requested
You may also check the status of your individual income tax refund by calling (888) 829-3071 or 225-922-3270. These numbers are available 24 hours a day.
How do I change my address?
If I am having technical difficulties with the LDR Website, whom do I contact and how do I contact them?
If possible use the “Contact Us” function on the Website. If not call LDR for assistance.
What do I do if I owe taxes, but am unable to pay by the due date?
Submit your return by the due date. By filing timely, you avoid delinquent filing penalty. Any amount paid with your return will reduce the interest and late payment penalty charges. The Department will bill you for any tax, interest, and penalties that are owed.
Can I request a state income tax extension if I am unable to file my return before the due date?
If you are filing an individual income tax return, a partnership return, or a fiduciary income tax return, Act 410 of the 2022 Regular Legislative Session changed how an extension is granted starting with tax year 2022. If you know you cannot file your return by the due date, you do not need to file for an extension. For calendar year filers the extension will be to November 15th. No paper or electronic extension form needs to be filed to obtain the automatic extension.
If you are filing a corporation income tax return, Act 410 of the 2022 Regular Legislative Session changed how an extension is granted. If you know you cannot file your corporate income tax return by the due date, you do not need to file for an extension. You will automatically be granted an extension of six months from your due date IF you timely requested an extension for federal income tax purposes. For calendar year filers the extension will be to November 15th. No paper or electronic extension form needs to be filed to obtain the automatic extension. You will need to mark the box on Form CIFT-620 indicating that you timely requested an extension for federal income tax purposes in order to receive the extension.
Please note that the extension does not allow an extension of time to pay the tax due. Payments received after the return due date (generally May 15) will be charged interest and late payment penalty. To avoid interest and penalty assessments, the estimated taxes due should be paid before the original due date of the tax period.
For information on making income tax extension payments, click here. (Answer revised September 14, 2023)
Why did I receive a bill from LDR even though I have already made a payment?
It is possible the bill was scheduled to mail before your payment was received and processed. You may call (855) 307-3893 to verify the payment was received and obtain updated account balances. Taxpayers that have registered to use LaTAP may check their current balance online by logging into LaTAP.
If I change my federal ID number, is there anything I need to do with the Louisiana Department of Revenue?
Yes, if your federal ID number changes you must close your existing LDR account and open a new LDR account with the new federal ID number.
How do I obtain assistance with my tax questions?
Tax questions can be submitted by email at the Contact Us Online page on LDR’s website. Assistance can also be obtained in person at LDR’s headquarters in Baton Rouge or the LDR regional office in New Orleans or by phoning (855)-307-3893.
When trying to register in LaWage, after clicking on "Register Now", it keeps returning to the Online Options page.
A possible issue is that SPAM/PopUp Blockers and Browser Cookie Settings are interfering with LaWage and Severance applications. To resolve the issue you should do the following:
- In IE browser under "Internet Options" select the "Privacy" tab, then select "Advanced Privacy Settings". Within the Cookies frame, you must select "Override automatic cookie handling" in order to set the "Prompt" option under both the First-party Cookies and the Third-party Cookies.
General & runtime errors in LaWAGE:
Ensure you have the newest version of the program:
- Uninstall the current version of the application
- Go to https://webtax2.rev.louisiana.gov/LaWage2/, provide your information and click the "Download Program" button
- Install the application from the downloaded file
top of page