
Louisiana Register   Vol. 49, No. 12   December 20, 2023 2112

RULE 

Department of Revenue  
Policy Services Division 

Income Exemption for Digital Nomads 
(LAC 61:I.1357) 

Under the authority of R.S 47:297.18 and 1511, and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 9:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, (“the Department”) 
adopts LAC 61:I.1357 relative to the Louisiana individual 
income tax exemption for individual taxpayers who qualify 
as digital nomads.  

R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xxii) and 47:297.18, provide an 
individual income tax exemption for digital nomads, as 
defined therein. The digital nomad exemption authorizes 
individuals who qualify as a digital nomad to exempt up to 
50 percent of their gross wages from state income tax, 
limited to $150,000, for a period of up to two taxable years 
during taxable years 2022, 2023, 2024, and 2025. The 
primary purpose of this regulation is to implement R.S. 
47:293(9)(a)(xxii) and 47:297.18 as enacted by Act 387 of 
the 2021 Regular Session while providing guidance to 
taxpayers seeking to claim the digital nomad exemption. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 13. Income: Individual 
§1357. Income Exemption for Digital Nomads 

A. General Description 
1. The Digital Nomads Exemption provides a state 

individual income tax exemption for digital nomads, as 
defined by R.S. 47:297.18, equal to 50 percent of their gross 
wages, limited to $150,000, for a period of up to two taxable 
years during taxable years 2022, 2023, 2024, and 2025. 

2. The exemption applies only to gross wages 
received for remote work performed as a digital nomad in 
Louisiana. 

B. Definitions. For the purposes of this Section, the 
following terms shall have the meaning ascribed therein. 

Coworking Space—a membership-based workspace 
where diverse groups of freelancers, remote workers, and 
other independent professionals work together in a shared, 
communal setting. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Revenue or 
its successor. 

Employee—as defined in R.S. 47:111(A). 
Employer—as defined in R.S. 47:111(B). 
Full-Time Remote Worker—a remote worker employed 

on average for at least 30 hours of remote service per week. 
Nonresident Business—any business entity that has not 

filed nor is required to file any state tax return in Louisiana 
for taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2021; 
has no employees other than those who qualify as digital 
nomads working remotely, agents, or independent 
contractors within the state; is not registered to do business 
in the state; and is not transacting business with residents of 
the state or otherwise availing itself of Louisiana’s economic 
market. 

Remote Work Agreement—an agreement signed by the 
employer and the participating employee that defines the 
terms of a remote working arrangement, including the 
number of days per year the participating employee will 
work remotely and any restrictions on the place from which 
the participating employee will work remotely. 

Remote Work—work performed within the ordinary 
course and scope of employment on a workday that 
ordinarily would be performed at the employer’s work 
location, from an approved worksite other than the 
employer’s work location.  

C. Eligibility 
1. To qualify as a digital nomad for the purposes of 

this exemption, an individual must meet the following 
criteria: 

a. establish residency in Louisiana after December 
31, 2021; 

b. be a policyholder, subscriber, enrollee, or other 
individual enrolled in or insured by a health insurance issuer 
for major medical health insurance coverage; 

c. work remotely full-time for a nonresident 
business; 

d. must have the intent to work remotely in 
Louisiana prior to establishing residency; 

e. must file a Louisiana resident or part-year 
resident individual income tax return for the taxable year in 
which they are claiming the exemption; 

f. must not have been a resident or domiciliary of 
Louisiana for any of the three years immediately preceding 
the establishment of residency or domicile after December 
31, 2021; 

g. must not have been required to file a Louisiana 
resident or part-year resident individual income tax return 
for any of the three years prior to claiming the exemption 
and; 

h. performs the majority of employment duties in 
Louisiana either remotely or at a co-working space. 

2. Any nonresident service member of the Armed 
Forces of the United States of America and any spouse of a 
nonresident service member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States of America who meets the eligibility 
requirements of Paragraph 1 of this Subsection may qualify 
for the digital nomads exemption if: 

a. the nonresident service member is present in 
Louisiana in compliance with the nonresident service 
member’s military orders; 

b. the spouse is not a resident or domiciliary of 
Louisiana; and 

c. the spouse is present in Louisiana solely to be 
with the nonresident service member. 

3. Illustrative Examples. For each of the examples 
below, it shall be assumed that the eligibility requirements of 
Paragraph 1 of this Subsection have been met unless 
otherwise stated and the taxpayer continues qualifying 
employment for the second consecutive year. 

a. A nonresident taxpayer working remotely full-
time for a nonresident business relocates to and establishes 
residency in Louisiana on January 15, 2023, and continues to 
work remotely for the same nonresident business. The 
taxpayer will qualify for the income exemption for digital 
nomads for tax year 2023. 
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b. A nonresident taxpayer working remotely full-
time for a nonresident business relocates to and establishes 
residency in Louisiana on January 15, 2023, and continues to 
work remotely for the same nonresident business. However, 
the taxpayer failed to timely apply for the exemption. The 
taxpayer does not qualify for the income exemption for 
digital nomads for the second year because he was required 
to file a Louisiana resident or part-year resident individual 
income tax return for tax year 2023. 

c. A nonresident taxpayer working remotely full-
time for a nonresident business relocates to Louisiana on 
March 24, 2023, solely to reside with their spouse who is a 
nonresident member of the Armed Forces of the United 
States of America stationed in Louisiana. The nonresident 
taxpayer continues to work remotely for the same 
nonresident business. The taxpayer will qualify for the 
income exemption for digital nomads for tax year 2023. 

d. A nonresident taxpayer working remotely full-
time for nonresident business “A” relocates to and 
establishes residency in Louisiana on May 23, 2023. The 
taxpayer terminates employment with nonresident business 
“A” on July 2, 2023, and begins full-time remote 
employment with nonresident business “B” on July 3, 2023. 
The taxpayer will qualify for the income exemption for 
digital nomads for tax year 2023. 

e. A nonresident taxpayer working remotely full-
time for nonresident business “A” relocates to and 
establishes residency in Louisiana on May 23, 2023. The 
taxpayer terminates employment with nonresident business 
“A” on July 2, 2023, and begins full-time remote 
employment with a resident business on July 3, 2023. The 
taxpayer will qualify for the income exemption for digital 
nomads for the income earned while working for 
nonresident business “A” for tax year 2023. However, the 
taxpayer does not qualify for the exemption for the second 
year. 

f. A nonresident taxpayer relocates to and 
establishes residency in Louisiana on September 22, 2023 
and begins working in person full-time for a resident 
business. The taxpayer terminates employment with the 
resident business and begins full-time remote employment 
with a nonresident business on October 30, 2023. The 
taxpayer does not qualify for the income exemption for 
digital nomads because he relocated to Louisiana for in-
person employment with a resident business not as a remote 
worker for a nonresident business. 

g. A nonresident, unemployed taxpayer relocates to 
and establishes residency in Louisiana on January 15, 2023 
with an offer of employment to begin employment as full-
time remote worker with a nonresident business on February 
1, 2023. The taxpayer will qualify for the income exemption 
for digital nomads for tax year 2023. 

h. A nonresident, unemployed taxpayer relocates to 
and establishes residency in Louisiana on January 15, 2023. 
Taxpayer subsequently finds and begins employment as full-
time remote worker with a nonresident business on March 
30, 2023. The taxpayer does not qualify for the income 
exemption for digital nomads because he had no intent to 
relocate to Louisiana to work remotely.  

D. Limitations 
1. The department may approve no more than 500 

taxpayers for the life of the program. A taxpayer may be 

approved for the exemption for a second year after receiving 
recertification. 

2. No exemption is authorized for any wages earned 
by a digital nomad after December 31, 2025. 

E. Application 
1. Beginning January 1, 2023, taxpayers seeking to 

claim the digital nomad income tax exemption must apply 
each year by submitting Form R-90006, Digital Nomad 
Exemption Application and Certification of Exemption 
Amount. This annual application requirement applies to all 
taxpayers, including those who are applying for 
recertification for their second year of eligibility. 

2. The application period for calendar year 2022 shall 
begin on February 1, 2023 and conclude on March 31, 2023. 
Thereafter, the application period shall begin on February 1 
and conclude on March 31 of each subsequent calendar year 
for the prior year. If the start or end date falls on a weekend 
or holiday, the date will be the next business day. 
Applications may not be submitted and will not be accepted 
prior to, or subsequent to, the application period. Eligible 
applications shall be approved by the department on a first-
come, first-served basis as determined by the received date 
and time of a completed digital nomad exemption 
application. An application shall not be considered complete 
until all information requested by the department has been 
received.  

3. Taxpayers must electronically submit Form R-
90006, Digital Nomad Exemption Application and 
Certification of Exemption Amount to the Department for 
review by submitting their application to 
DigitalNomadExemption@La.gov. A taxpayer is approved 
upon satisfactorily demonstrating that they have met the 
requirements of Subsection C of this Section during the 
calendar year. 

4. Only applications concerning eligibility of gross 
wages earned for remote work performed by a digital nomad 
in the prior calendar year may be submitted and considered 
for purposes of the exemption. 

5. Each application must contain an applicant’s home 
mailing address, applicant’s Social Security number, a copy 
of the applicant’s remote work agreement, a copy of 
applicant’s W-2 for the year for which the application is 
submitted, a copy of the first and last pay stub from 
applicant’s employer for the year for which application is 
submitted, a copy of the first and last pay stub from 
applicant’s employer for the dates that applicant worked 
remotely for the year for which application is submitted, and 
a copy of the applicant’s Louisiana driver’s license and voter 
registration card. 

F. Certification 
1. After review and determination of qualification, the 

Department shall provide a copy of the completed Form R-
90006 to the taxpayer no later than April 30 of each calendar 
year notifying them as to whether their application has been 
approved or denied. If approved, the form shall notify the 
taxpayer of the amount eligible for the exemption, not to 
exceed 50 percent of the taxpayer’s gross wages earned as a 
digital nomad, limited to $150,000. If denied, the form shall 
provide the reasons for denial. 

G. Claiming the Exemption. 
1. Resident individual taxpayers shall make a 

modification on Schedule E of their Louisiana Form IT-540, 
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Louisiana Resident Income Tax Return, in accordance with 
La. R.S. 47:297.18. A part-year resident shall make the 
modification on the Nonresident and Part-Year Resident 
(NPR) Worksheet of the Louisiana Form IT-540B, Louisiana 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. 

2. The accrual of interest shall be suspended during 
any period of time that a delay in the issuance of a refund is 
attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide information 
or documentation required herein, as provided by La. R.S. 
47:1624(F). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:297.18 and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 49:2112 (December 2023). 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary 

2312#057 

 
 

RULE 

Department of the State 
Office of the Secretary of State 

Department Non-Statutory Fees (LAC 4:I.401) 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and under the authority of R.S. 
3:1447, R.S. 9:2782, R.S. 18:1293, R.S. 24:172, R.S. 
24:173.1, R.S. 25:1282, R.S. 25:1284, R.S. 36:742, R.S. 
40:1151.2, R.S. 43:19, R.S. 44.1 et seq., R.S. 44:402, R.S. 
44:405, R.S. 44:406, R.S. 44:408, R.S. 44:415, R.S. 44:420, 
R.S. 44:421, R.S. 49:222(A), R.S. 49:227, R.S. 49:228, 
Hague Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the 
Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents, 
and Hague Convention of 29 May 1993 on Protection of 
Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry 
Adoption (22 CFR Part 96), the Department of State has 
adopted a non-statutory fee schedule for the Department of 
State. In addition, the Department of State is adopting rules 
and fees for the Louisiana State Archives Facilities. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 4. Department of State  
§401. Department of State Non-Statutory Fee Schedule 

A. The Department of State has established non-statutory 
fee schedules for various filings, services, and publications. 
If a product referred to in the schedules shown below has to 
be mailed, the cost for mailing said product would be added 
to the fee charged.  

1. Department of State General Fees 
 

Item Fee 
Express Delivery (Cost Per Package) Actual Cost 
Non-Sufficient Funds Charge $25.00 
Photocopies (Per Page) $0.25 
Postage (Per Package) Actual Cost 
Public Records Request Fee (Certify Public Records) 

(Cost Per Certification Form) $20.00 
Public Records Request Fee (Cost Per Page up to 8 ½” X 

14”) (Two-sided copy is charged as two pages) $0.25 

Item Fee 
(Including Facsimile) 

Public Records Request Fee (Cost Per Page for Printed 
Copy Greater Than 8 1/2” X 14”) (Two-sided copy is 
charged as two pages) Actual Cost 

Public Records Request Fee (Cost Per Page for CD-
ROM or USB Drive) $0.25 

Public Records Request Fee (Cost Per Page for 
Electronic File Emailed) $0.25 

 
2. Business Services Division—Commercial 
 

Item Fee 
Corporations –  
 Complete Corporation Information  
 Computer Data Transfer  
 Weekly, Per Initial Load $2,500.00 
 50 Files at $200 Per Week $10,000.00 
 Total $12,500.00 
 Monthly, Per Initial Load $2,500.00 
 11 Monthly Files at $400 $4,400.00 
 Total $6,900.00 
 Monthly Trade Names Only, 12 Monthly Files  
 Total $1,725.00 

 Customized Computer List (Per Page)  

$25 for 1st 40 Records 
 Plus $0.01 Per Each  
Additional Record 

Miscellaneous Corporations Fees --  
 Agent for Service of Process $15.00 
 Certificate for Service of Process $20.00 
 Political Subdivision  $10.00 
 Power of Attorney $25.00 
Uniform Commercial Code –  
 Direct Access Fee, Annual Subscription, 
Unlimited Usage $400.00 

 Monthly Updates Information Computer Data 
Transfer, Annual Fee,  
 Monthly Updates Subscription $6,900.00 

 
3. Legal Division—Commissions 
 

Item Fee 
Adoptions (Apostilles or Authentication Certificates) 

(Cost Per Certificate) $10.00 
Apostille Certificate (Cost Per Certificate) $20.00 
Certificate of Authentication (Cost Per Certificate) $20.00 
Certificate of a Pardon (Cost Per Certificate) $20.00 
Certified Document (Executive Orders or Proclamations) 

(Per Document) 
$20.00 

Replacement Commission Certificate $20.00 
Replacement Identification Card $5.00 

 
4. Election Services—Publications 

 
Item Fee 

Bond Registration Certificate (Municipal Bonds) 
(Optional) $10.00 
Certified Copy (In Addition to Per Page Fee) 

$20.00 
Certified Copy of “Living Will” Declaration Registration $20.00 
“Living Will” Replacement of Identification Card $5.00 
Proces Verbal  
Recordation $10.00 
Proces Verbal (Cost Per Page) $2.00 
Public Officials Signature Registration Certificate $10.00 
Publications  
 Ballot Box $5.00 
 Buckram Bound Acts of Legislature  
 2010/I, II and III (2010 Regular Session) $172.00 
 2011/I and II (2011 Regular and 1st Extraordinary 

Sessions) $120.00 


