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3. This Section does not alter any professional athletic 

team member's requirement to file the income tax schedule 

required under LAC 61:I.1305. 

C. Rate of Withholding. The withholding tax rate under 

this Section shall be 4.2 percent of the compensation 

attributable to "duty days" spent in Louisiana. 

D. Due Date of Withholding Return and Payment. A 

withholding payment must be submitted for each game 

played in Louisiana. The payment must be submitted on or 

before the last day of the month following the month in 

which the game was played. A withholding return must be 

submitted for each quarter in which a game was played in 

Louisiana to reconcile all payments made within that quarter. 

The withholding return must be submitted quarterly on or 

before the last day of the month following the quarter in 

which the game was played. 

E. Account Numbers 

1. Each professional athletic team not domiciled in 

Louisiana will be issued an identification number by the 

department. 

2. The professional athletic team filing the 

withholding return must be clearly identified by name, 

address and Louisiana revenue account identification 

number. The team's federal employer identification number 

will not be accepted as a substitute. The withholding return 

will not be considered complete unless the team's Louisiana 

revenue account identification number is on the return. 

1. All professional athletic teams that pay 

compensation to a nonresident individual for services 

rendered to the team within Louisiana must submit an annual 

withholding reconciliation schedule that includes a list of all 

team members who received Louisiana source income 

during the year. The list must include the following 

information: 

a. the name, Social Security number, and permanent 

physical address of all team members regardless of 

residency, and 

b. for each nonresident team member: 

 i. the total number of duty days spent with the 

team during the taxable year; 

 ii. the number of duty days spent in Louisiana; 

 iii. the total amount of compensation for services 

rendered to the team; 

 iv. the amount of compensation for services 

rendered to the team in Louisiana; and 

 v. the total amount deducted and withheld under 

this Section. 

2. The annual reconciliation schedule is due on or 

before the first business day following February 27 of each 

year for the preceding calendar year. The secretary may 

grant a reasonable extension of time, not exceeding 30 days 

for the filing of the annual reconciliation schedule. The 

annual reconciliation schedule is not considered to be 

remitted until it is complete. 

3. The permanent address listed on the annual 

reconciliation schedule will be presumed to be the residence 

of the team member for purposes of administering the Sports 

Facility Assistance Fund. 

G. Penalty for Failure to Timely Remit Schedules and 

Payments 

1. The following penalties will be imposed for failure 

to timely remit these returns, schedules, and payments. 

a. In the case of failure to timely remit any return or 

schedule required by this Section, the penalty shall be $500 

for the first such failure, $1,000 for the second such failure 

within the three-year period beginning on the due date of the 

first delinquent return or schedule, and $2,500 for each 

subsequent failure within the three-year period beginning on 

the due date of the first delinquent return or schedule. 

b. In the case of failure to timely remit any payment 

required by this Section, the penalty shall be 5 percent of the 

total payment due if the delinquency is for not more than 30 

days, with an additional 5 percent for each additional 30 

days or fraction thereof during which the delinquency 

continues, not to exceed 50 percent of the amount due. 

H. Exception to Withholding Requirement under This 

Section  

1. The secretary may grant an exception to 

withholding requirements under this Section to any 

professional athletic team not domiciled in Louisiana that 

agrees in writing to file team composite returns and remit 

composite payments as provided in LAC 61:I.1304.J. 

2. The composite return and composite payment will 

be considered to be a return and payment required by the 

secretary to administer the provisions of the Sports Facility 

Assistance Fund. 

3. This agreement will be binding on the secretary and 

the professional athletic team until it is revoked. Either party 

may revoke this agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

39:100.1, R.S. 47:164(D), R.S. 47:295, R.S. 47:1511, R.S. 47: 114 

and R.S. 47:1602.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 30:91 (January 2004), 

amended LR 39:104 (January 2013), repromulgated LR 39:330 

(February 2013). 

§1525. Income Tax Withholding on Gaming Winnings 

A. Withholding Requirement for Gaming Winnings 

1. Every person or business that pays gaming 

winnings won in Louisiana is required to withhold 

individual income taxes at a rate of six percent if income 

taxes are required to be withheld for the Internal Revenue 

Service under 26 USC 3402 on the same winnings.  

2. Additionally following current Department of 

Revenue practice, casinos that pay slot machine winnings in 

excess of $1,200 should issue a form W2-G and withhold at 
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a rate of 6 percent of the slot machine winnings regardless of 

the Internal Revenue Code withholding on such slot machine 

winnings. 

B. Reporting Requirements for Gaming Winnings 

1. Businesses that withhold income taxes on gaming 

winnings shall electronically report and remit the 

withholdings to the Louisiana Department of Revenue 

quarterly.  

2. Businesses required to withhold and to submit 

income taxes on gaming winnings shall send the Department 

of Revenue a report electronically containing a list of all 

winners annually in a format approved by the department. 

The report shall contain the following information as printed 

on federal form W-2G: 

a. the payor’s name, address, and federal 

identification number; 

b. the winner’s name, address, social security 

number, gross winnings, amount of federal income taxes 

withheld, and amount of state income taxes withheld.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:287.71, R.S. 47:287.785, and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Service Division, LR 36:2877 (December 2010). 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax 

Exemptions, Credits and Deductions 

§1901. Employer Tax Credits for Donations of 

Materials, Equipment, or Instructors to Certain 

Training Programs or Schools 

A. Definitions 

Department―the Department of Revenue. 

Employer―an entity authorized to do business in the 

state of Louisiana that employs one or more individuals 

performing services on its behalf. 

Instructor―an individual qualified, as determined by 

the training institution, to provide educational or 

instructional services designed to furnish technical 

knowledge to persons enrolled in a training program when 

the instructor's time or salary are donated by an employer. 

a. The donation of an instructor's time is when the 

instructor, while on the payroll of the donating employer, is 

allowed to spend a portion or all of a work day providing 

instructional services either on the premises of the training 

institution or on the employer's premises, when approved by 

the training institution as part of the training curriculum. 

b. The donation of an instructor's salary is when the 

funds for the salary of an instructor, who is an employee and 

on the payroll of the training institution, are provided by the 

donating employer. 

Latest Technology Available in Materials and 

Equipment―machinery and equipment that: 

a. has never been used except for normal testing by 

the manufacturer to ensure that the machinery or equipment 

is of proper quality and in good working order; 

b. has been used by the retailer or wholesaler solely 

for the purpose of demonstrating the product to customers 

for sale; 

c. is of the type currently manufactured for sale to 

customers; or 

d. has been used by the donating employer for three 

years or less and was still used in production immediately 

prior to donation. 

Training Institution―a public training provider, 

secondary or postsecondary vocational technical school, 

apprenticeship program registered with the Louisiana 

Department of Labor, or community college. The term does 

not include institutions or other entities organized for profit. 

Value―the donor's actual cost for new machinery or 

equipment or the appraised worth of used materials and 

equipment and instructional services. 

B. Tax Credit 

1. A credit shall be allowed against the individual and 

corporate income tax and the corporate franchise tax for the 

donation of the latest technology available in materials and 

equipment and the donation of instructors made to public 

training providers, secondary and postsecondary vocational-

technical schools, apprenticeship programs registered with 

the Louisiana Department of Labor, or community colleges 

within the state. 

2. The tax credit shall be an amount equal to one-half 

the value of the donated materials, equipment, or services 

rendered by the instructor at the time of donation. 

a. When used materials or equipment or 

instructional services are donated, the institution accepting 

the donation shall obtain an appraisal to establish the value 

of the materials, equipment, or instructional services, which 

is to be provided to the donating employer. 

b. When new materials or equipment are donated, 

the donating employer shall submit an invoice showing the 

actual price paid, which shall be considered the value of the 

donated property. 

3. A donation shall not qualify for the tax credit unless 

it is accepted by the training institution. 

a. The training institution accepting the donation 

shall furnish to the donating employer certification of the 

donation that includes the date of the donation and the value 

of the donated materials, equipment, or instructional 

services. 

b. The donating employer shall attach this 

certification to the income or franchise tax return filed with 

the department for the year in which the credit is claimed. 

4. The tax credit shall be a credit against the 

applicable tax or taxes for the tax period that the donation 

was made and when combined with all other applicable tax 

credits, shall not exceed 20 percent of the employer's tax 


