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Decrease in State Sales Tax Rate on  

Telecommunications Services and Prepaid Calling Cards 

Effective July 1, 2018 

 

Act 1 of the 2018 Third Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature has amended La. 

R.S. 47:321.1(A), (B) and (C) reducing the sales tax rate for this tax imposition from 1 percent 

(1%) to forty-five hundredths of one percent (0.45%).  This tax in the amount of 0.45 percent is 

levied upon the sale at retail, the use, the consumption, the distribution and the lease or rental of 

an item of tangible personal property; and upon the sale of services. The 0.45 percent state sales 

tax is in addition to the sales taxes already levied pursuant to La. R.S. 47:302, 321 and 331. This 

tax is to be collected by the dealer and wholesaler as provided by Chapter 2 of Title 47 of the 

Revised Statutes.   

 

Beginning July 1, 2018, the sales tax rate on intrastate telecommunications services and prepaid 

calling cards will be reduced from 4 percent (4%) to 3.45 percent (3.45%) and the state sales tax 

rate on interstate and international telecommunications services will be reduced from 3 percent 

(3%) to 2.45 percent (2.45%). 

 

If a dealer charges and collects state sales tax at the rate of 4 percent on intrastate 

telecommunications services and prepaid calling cards, or at the rate of 3 percent on interstate 

and international telecommunications services, on or after July 1, 2018, then the dealer must 

remit the excess sales taxes collected to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. Excess sales 

taxes collected are reported on Line 8 of the Sales Tax Return Form R-1029.   

The new tax rate of 0.45 percent levied pursuant to La. R.S. 47:321.1 will sunset on June 30, 

2025. 

 

Questions concerning this publication may be directed to sales.inquiries@la.gov.  
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