Remote Sellers Information Bulletin 18-002
November 27,2018

LOUISIANA | Louisiana Sales and Use Tax

pEpARTMENT o/ REVENUE | Commission for Remote Sellers

Remote Sellers Information Bulletin
No. 18-002
November 27,2018

Definition of Remote Seller and
Further Guidance to Remote Sellers

purpose of thls buIIet|n is to prowde a general deflnltlon for thes&remote sellers as WeII as to
provide further administrative guidance.

General Definition of Remote Seller

A remote seller means a seller who regularly—sells for sale at retail, use, consumption,
distribution, or for storage to be used for consumption or distribution any taxable tangible
personal property, products transferred electronically, or services for delivery within
Louisiana but does not have physical presence in Louisiana.

If a seller has physical presence in Louisiana, the seller is considered a dealer as defined by
LA R.S.47.301 and subject to state and local collection and remittance requirements.

Examples of remote sellers:

Example 1: Company A sells tangible personal property for delivery to purchasers in
Louisiana through only remote means including —through—its Internet
website, and—catalogs, telephone, television shopping channel or other
communication systems. Company A has no physical stores, affiliates or
salespersons in Louisiana.

Example 2: Company B sells tangible personal property for delivery to purchasers in
Louisiana through only remote means inelading— through its Internet

website, and catalogs, telephone, television shopping channel or other
communication systems. Company B is an affiliate of Company C,-buteach

company sells-differentlines-of products-Company C has retail stores located
in Louisiana. An online purchase from Company B cannot be returned or
exchanged in one of Company C’s stores in Louisiana.__No gift cards, credits,
discounts, warranties, or coupons are shared between the two separate
entities.
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The preceding general definition and examples of remote seller does not encompass +«

marketplace facilitators at this time. A separate definition for marketplace facilitators as
well as collection and remittance administrative matters will be considered by the

Commission and submitted to the Legislature for consideration during the 2019 regular
Session.

Informational Reporting Requirements for Remote SellersRetailers

A remote seller with cumulative annual gross receipts in excess of $50,000, including those
gross receipts of its affiliates, per calendar year must comply with the dual reporting
requirements of LA R.S. 47:309.1_as a remote retailer. For purposes of calculating annual
gross receipts, the remote seller and its affiliates must include all receipts from retail sales
of tangible personal property or taxable services where the property is delivered into
Louisiana or the beneficial use of the service occurs in Louisiana. See LDR Revenue
Information Bulletin 18-006 for more information.

Collection and Remittance Requirements for Remote Sellers

A remote seller with gross revenue for sales delivered into Louisiana in excess of $100,000
from sales or separate transactions of 200 or more sold for delivery into Louisiana_is a
dealer as defined in LA R.S. 47:301(4)(m)(i) and should voluntarily submit Form R- 1031A,
Application to File Direct Marketer Sales Tax Return, register-with the Louisiana Department

of Revenue (“LDR”). _-and-eellectand remitsales—tax—on—its—salesfordelivery—within

o 1—Remote-selle o bmit-Ee R 031A Applicatio

Sales—Tax—Return,—to—LDR. Depending on the remote seller’s facts and circumstances,
additional information may be requested following submission of the application.

Upon approval, the remote seller may begin collection of sales tax on its remote sales_for
delivery within Louisiana immediately. To remit the collected sales tax, the remote seller
must file the monthly Form R-1031, Direct Marketer Sales Tax Return. Note that the Form R-
1031 must be filed by paper and cannot be electronically filed at this time.
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Timeline of Registration

To calculate the amount and quantity of sales, remote sellers should consider sales during
the current calendar year and the immediately preceding calendar year. For example, if a
remote seller sold $120,000 of tangible personal property in 1,000 separate transactions for
delivery into Louisiana during 20187, the remote seller should voluntarily collect and remit
sales tax in 20189.

If the remote seller has not previously registered with LDR, the remote seller should
submit the Form R-1031A within thirty days of surpassing either of the thresholds of LA
R.S. 47:3011(4)(m)(i).! Assuming the application is approved by LDR, the remote seller
should commence collection of sales and use tax on sales for delivery into Louisiana no
later than ninety days from the date the remote seller surpassed either of the thresholds s
of LA R.S. 47:301(4)(m)(i). If the application is not approved, the applicant should adhere
to the instructions set forth in the notice from LDR.

Applicability of LA R.S. 47:309.1 Subsequent to Collection and Remittance

If the remote seller voluntarily collects and remits on its sales for delivery into Louisiana, the
remote seller is relieved from the reporting requirements of LA R.S. 47:309.1 beginning on
the date of collection. However, the portion of the calendar year preceding the date of
collection remains subject to the reporting requirements discussed above.

Enforcement of Act 5

While this collection and remittance provision is voluntary, the Commission will enforce the
collection and remittance requirements in accordance with Act 5 of the 2018 Second
Extraordinary Session at a speeified-date to be determined in 2019. Remote sellers can
expect at least thirty days’ notice prior to the commencement of mandatory collection and
remittance requirements, but should consider voluntarily collecting and remitting sales tax
on remote sales in the interim. Notice will be issued as provided by LA R.S. 47:302(W)(6)
following further work of the Commission and LDR. To evaluate the applicability of Act 5’s
amount and quantity of sales thresholds, remote sellers will need to consider both sales for
deliveryinto Louisiana during 2018 and 2019.

Questions concerning this publication may be directed to

LAremotesellerscommission@la.gov.te-

Kimberly Lewis Robinson
Chairman
Louisiana Sales and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers

1The two thresholds are (1) gross revenue for sales delivered into Louisiana in excess of $100,000 from sales or
2) separate transactions of 200 or more sold for delivery into Louisiana.
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