
Education Credit – Line 13 - Resident taxpayers are allowed a credit 
of $18 for each child attending a kindergarten, elementary, or secondary 
school (kindergarten through twelfth grade) located in Louisiana, if the child 
qualifi es as a dependency exemption on the taxpayer’s Louisiana income 
tax return. This credit is not allowed if the Deduction for Elementary and 
Secondary school tuition is claimed on Schedule E. 

Child Care Credit Carried Forward From 2011 through 2014 Line 12C 
– The child care tax credit for taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross 
income exceeds $25,000 may not be refunded and any unused credit 
amounts can be used over the next four years. For the 2015 tax year, 
credits from 2011 through 2014 can be applied on Line 12C. Any remain-
ing child care credit from 2010 can not be applied to the 2015 tax liability. 
(R.S. 47:297.4)

School Readiness Credit Carried Forward From 2011 through 2014 
Line 12E – The school readiness credit for taxpayers whose federal 
adjusted gross income exceeds $25,000 may not be refunded and any 
unused credit amounts can be used over the next four years. For the 2015 
tax year, credits from 2011 through 2014 can be applied on Line 12E. Any 
remaining credit from 2010 can not be applied to the 2015. (R.S. 47:6104)

Refund Options – The MyRefund debit card is no longer a refund option. 
Taxpayers will have the option to receive their refund by: (2) a paper 
check or (3) have your refund directly deposited. Option 1 was omitted 
on purpose.

IMPORTANT!
Certain income tax credits have been reduced according to the 2015 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. Please refer to Revenue 
Information Bulletins at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsAndPolicies/
Policies. See instructions for each credit for specifi c changes. 

SCHEDULE D – DONATION OF REFUND

Taxpayers can donate all or part of their refund to various organizations or 
funds. The following new donations appear on Schedule D:

Line 19- The Louisiana Youth Leadership Seminar Corporation 

Line 20- Lighthouse for the Blind in New Orleans

Line 21- The Louisiana Association for the Blind

Line 22- Louisiana Center for the Blind

Line 23- Affiliated Blind of Louisiana, Inc.

Line 24- Louisiana State Troopers Charities, Inc.

SCHEDULE E – ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME

Employment of Certain Disabled Individuals Deduction – Code 49E  –  
(R.S. 47:297.13) This deduction is for taxpayers who provides continuous 
employment to a qualifi ed disabled individual within Louisiana. The 
deduction is equal to 50 percent of the gross wages paid to the individual 
during the fi rst four continuous months of employment and 30 percent 
of the gross wages paid during each subsequent continuous month 
of employment. The qualifying individual must be employed for four 
continuous months for no less than an average of twenty hours a week at 
a rate comparable to and in the same setting as other employees of the 
taxpayer performing the same or similar task. The deduction is limited to 
100 employees and the taxpayer must apply to Department of Health and 
Hospitals to qualify for one of the slots. 

SCHEDULE F – REFUNDABLE CREDITS

Inventory Tax Credit & Ad Valorem Natural Gas  –  Codes 50F and 51F – 
Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session made the following changes 
to both credits:

a. If the amount of the ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions 
in Louisiana is less than $10,000, 100 percent of the amount paid is 
refundable. 

b. If the ad valorem taxes paid are $10,000 or more, only 75 percent of 
the excess credit over the tax is refundable. You must use page 2 of 
Form R-10610 to calculate the amount of credit you can claim. The 
remaining amount not refunded may be carried forward as a credit for 
the next fi ve years. 

Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 06-036 and 15-019.

Solar Energy Systems – Non-Leased – Code 64F – Act 131 of the 2015 
Regular Legislative Session made several changes to the solar credit. The 
solar energy systems tax credit for purchased systems is equal to the lesser 
of: 1.) $2 by the total size of the system as measured in DC watts or; 2.) 50% 
of the fi rst $20,000. Act 131 also repealed the eligibility of numerous types 
of systems, including but not limited to solar thermal systems and solar air 
conditioning systems, and imposed a requirement that the solar energy 
system be installed on the homeowner’s primary residence. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 15-026 on LDR’s website. Any return claiming the 
solar credit must be fi led electronically.  (R.S. 47:6030)

School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff – Code 66F – The 
credit is for eligible child care directors and eligible child care staff based 
on certain attained qualifi cations. The amount of the credit is  adjusted 
each year if there is an increase in the Consumer Price Index Urban 
(CPI-U). The credit amount for 2015 is posted at www.qrslouisiana.org/
child-care-staff/tax-credit-requirements. For more information regarding 
this credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE). (R.S. 
47:6106)

Alternative Fuel Credit – Code 71F – Act 125 of the 2015 Regular 
Legislative Session amends La. R.S. 47:6035(C)(1) to change the tax 
credit for conversion of vehicles to alternative fuel usage from 50 percent 
of the cost of the qualifi ed clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property to 
36 percent. In addition, currently, according to La. R.S. 47:6035(D), if a 
taxpayer is unable to or elects not to determine the exact cost attributable 
to such qualifi ed clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property, the taxpayer 
may claim a credit equal to 10 percent of the cost of the motor vehicle or 
$3,000, whichever is less. Act 125 would also change those amounts to 
7.2 percent of the cost of the motor vehicle or $1,500, whichever is less.

Solar Energy Systems – Leased – Code 74F –  Act 131 of the 2015 Regular 
Legislative Session made several changes to the solar credit. The credit is 
equal to 38 percent of the fi rst $20,000 of the cost of such system. For the 
purpose of determining the amount of the credit on leased systems, the cost of 
a system is limited to no more than $3.50 per watt for a system purchased and 
installed after December 31, 2014 and $2 per watt for a system purchased and 
installed on or after July 1, 2015. Since the system is limited to providing for no 
more than six kilowatts of energy, the maximum credit base for leased systems 
is $12,000. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-026 on LDR’s website. (R.S. 
47:6030) If you are claiming the solar credit, you must fi le your return 
electronically. 

SCHEDULE G – NONREFUNDABLE CREDITS

Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States – R.S. 47:33 – Act 109 of the 
2015 Regular Legislative Session made changes to the credit. The credit 
is allowed ONLY if both of the following conditions are met:

a. The other state provides a similar credit for Louisiana income taxes 
paid on income derived from property located in, or from services 
rendered in, or from business transacted in Louisiana.

b. The other state does not allow a nonresident a credit against the 
income taxes imposed by that state for taxes paid or payable to the 
state of residence. 

The credit is limited to the amount of Louisiana income tax calculated on 
the income earned in the other states. See Revenue Information Bulletin 
15-018.

Research and Development Tax Credit – Code 231 – R.S. 47:6015(K) 
allows a credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 
26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities. Use this code for Research 
and Development credits earned for expenditures made beginning January 1, 
2015. The credit is obtained through the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development and documentation from that agency must be attached to the 
return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on LDR’s website.

VISIT THESE LDR WEBSITE:

www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms for forms and instructions.

www.revenue.louisiana.gov/individuals for tax information.

www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fi leonline for free fi ling and payment options.
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SPEC

CODE

This space on the last page of the tax return is to be used only when specifi cally 

instructed by the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR). Otherwise, leave blank.

WHO MUST FILE A RETURN

1. If you are a Louisiana resident who is required to fi le a federal individual 

income tax return, you must fi le a Louisiana income tax return reporting all 

income earned in 2015.

2. You must fi le a return to obtain a refund or credit if you overpaid your tax 

through withholding, declaration of estimated tax, credit carried forward, claim-

ing a 2015 refundable child care credit or a Louisiana earned income credit.

3. If you are not required to fi le a federal return but had Louisiana income tax 

withheld in 2015, you must fi le a return to claim a refund of the amount 

withheld. Refer to the IRS requirements for fi ling in order to determine if you must 

fi le a federal return. For additional information, see the NOTE on page 2.

4. Military – If you are military personnel whose home of record is Louisiana 

and you meet the fi ling requirements of 1 or 2 above, you must fi le a return 

and report all of your income, regardless of where you were stationed. If you 

are single, you should fi le a resident return (Form IT-540), reporting all of 

your income to Louisiana. If you are married and both you and your spouse 

are residents of Louisiana, you should fi le a resident return (Form IT-540), 

reporting all of your income to Louisiana. 

 Any military personnel whose domicile is NOT Louisiana must report any 

nonmilitary Louisiana sourced income on Form IT-540B. The federal Military 

Spouses Residency Relief Act has extended certain residency protections to 

spouses of military members. Under this Act, a spouse’s state of residence 

does not change when he or she moves to a new state to be with a service-

member who is under military orders to be in the new state. A spouse who is 

NOT a resident of Louisiana but is in Louisiana solely to be with a Louisiana 

stationed servicemember who is NOT a resident of Louisiana must report all 

Louisiana sourced income other than wages, interest, or dividends, on Form 

IT-540B. Income earned within or derived from Louisiana sources such as 

rents, royalties, estates, trusts, or partnerships is taxable to Louisiana. See 

Revenue Information Bulletin 10-005 for more information. 

 If you are married and one of you is not a resident of Louisiana, you may fi le as 

a resident (Form IT-540) or a nonresident (Form IT-540B), whichever is more 

benefi cial to you and your spouse. Resident taxpayers are allowed a credit for 

income tax paid to another state on nonmilitary income or on income earned by 

your spouse if that income is included on the Louisiana return. Use Nonrefundable 

Tax Credits, Schedule G, Line 1 to report taxes paid to another state.

 Louisiana residents who are members of the armed services and were 

stationed out-of-state for 120 or more consecutive days on active duty may 

be entitled to an exemption of up to $30,000 of military income. See the 

instructions for Schedule E, page 5 Code 10E.

5. Professional Athletes – Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 61:III.1527 

requires all professional athletes that participate in athletic events within 

Louisiana to fi le all tax returns, including extension requests, electronically. 

Nonresident professional athletes must fi le Form IT-540B-NRA electronically.  

6. A temporary absence from Louisiana does not automatically change your 

domicile for income tax purposes. You must confi rm your intention to change 

your domicile to another state by actions taken to establish a new domicile 

outside of Louisiana and by actions taken to abandon the Louisiana domicile 

and its privileges. Examples of establishing a domicile include registering to 

vote, registering and titling vehicles, obtaining a driver’s license, changing 

children’s school of attendance, obtaining a homestead exemption, or any 

other actions that show intent to establish a new domicile outside of Louisiana. 

These are intended as examples and do not necessarily indicate a change 

in residency. You are considered to be a Louisiana resident if you continue 

to maintain a residence in Louisiana while working in another state. Use 

Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G, Line 1, to report taxes paid to the 

other states.

7. Surviving Spouses, Executors, Administrators, or Legal Representatives – 

A fi nal return for a decedent must be fi led if you are the surviving spouse, 

executor, administrator, or legal representative, and the decedent met the fi ling 

requirements at the date of death. If both conditions apply, mark the decedent 

box on the face of the return for the appropriate taxpayer and attach a copy of 

the death certifi cate. If a refund is due to the decedent’s estate, survivor, etc., 

you must also complete and attach Form R-6642, Statement of Claimant to 

Refund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer.

FORMS

Forms and instructions are on the LDR website, www.revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms. 

AMENDED RETURNS

If you fi le your income tax return and later become aware of any changes you must 

make to income, deductions, exemptions, or credits, you must fi le an amended 

(corrected) Louisiana return. You must use the correct form for the tax year being 

amended, mark an “X” in the “Amended Return” box on the face of the return, 

include an explanation of the change and a copy of the federal amended return, 

Federal Form 1040X, if one was fi led. If you are amending your income tax return 

due to utilizing a Net Operating Loss (NOL) carryback, you must mark an “X” in 

the “Amended Return” box and also in the “NOL Carryback” box on the face of the 

return, include an explanation of the change and a copy of the federal amended 

return, Federal Form 1040X, if one was fi led.

NOTE: Do not make any adjustments for refunds received or for payments 

made with the original return. This information is already on fi le.

FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS

Louisiana Revised Statute (R.S.) 47:103(C) requires taxpayers whose federal 

returns are adjusted to furnish a statement disclosing the nature and amounts of the 

adjustments within 60 days after the adjustments have been made and accepted. 

This statement should accompany the amended state return.

WHEN TO FILE

1. A 2015 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2016.

2. Returns for fi scal years are due on or before the 15th day of the fi fth month 

after the close of the taxable year.

3. If the due date falls on a weekend or legal state holiday, the return is due the 

next business day.

WHERE TO FILE AND PAY TAX

Enter your legal name and Social Security Number on your return and any 

correspondence. NOTE: On a joint return, list the names and the Social Security 

Numbers on Form IT-540 in the same order that you listed them on your federal return.

A return for which a payment is due should be mailed to P.O. Box 3550, Baton 

Rouge LA 70821-3550. Print the last four digits of your Social Security Number 

on your check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH. An electronic payment 

option is available on the LDR website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fi leonline.

You can also pay your taxes by credit card over the internet or by telephone. 

Visit www.officialpayments.com or call 1.888.2PAY TAX (1.888.272.9829).

All other individual income tax returns should be mailed to P.O. Box 3440, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821-3440. 

EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING A RETURN

The Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue may grant an extension of 

time for fi ling returns not to exceed six months from the date the Louisiana income 

tax return is due. Extensions must be fi led electronically before the due date of 

the return. An extension can be requested on the LDR website at www.revenue.

louisiana.gov/fileonline.

By requesting an extension, you are only requesting additional time to fi le your 

tax return. An extension does not extend the time to pay the tax. Payments 

received after the due date will be charged interest and penalties. 

INSTALLMENT REQUEST

If you are unable to pay the balance in full by the due date, you may submit an 

installment request, Form R-19026, which is available on the LDR website at www.

revenue.louisiana.gov/taxforms. There is a fee of $105 to establish a standard 

installment payment agreement.

INTEREST AND PENALTIES

See Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheet on page 13.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS

You should keep copies of federal and state tax returns and W-2 statements for four 

years. In most cases, you do not have to submit a copy of your federal return with 

your state returns. If you have completed Schedule H to claim federal disaster relief 

credits, submit the specifi ed forms as indicated in the instructions.

CONSUMER EXCISE TAX RETURN 

Louisiana imposes an excise tax on tobacco products and alcoholic beverages. If 

you purchased any of these products on the internet or through the mail, you are 

required to pay the excise tax on those products. You should use the Consumer 

Excise Tax Return, Form R-5629, to report and pay the tax due on these products.

!
• Use black ink only.
• Free internet filing and E-pay services are available for most Louisiana taxpayers at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline.
• See the inside back cover for What’s New for 2015.

General Information for Filing Your 2015 Louisiana Resident Individual Income Tax Return
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ABOUT THIS FORM
The return has been designed for electronic scanning, which permits 
faster processing with fewer errors. In order to avoid unnecessary delays 
caused by manual processing, taxpayers should follow the guidelines 
listed below:

1. Enter amounts only on those lines that are applicable.

2. Use only a pen with black ink. 

3. Because this form is read by a machine, enter your numbers inside 
the boxes like this:

4. All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Numbers 
should NOT be entered over the pre-printed zeros, in the boxes on 
the far right, which are used to designate cents (.00).

5. To avoid any delay in processing, use this form for 2015 only. 

6. If you are fi ling an amended return, mark an “X” in the “Amended 
Return” box on the face of the return. 

Nonresidents and part-year residents must use Form IT-540B to fi le 
their Louisiana return. Nonresident professional athletes must elec-
tronically fi le Form IT-540B-NRA.

Name, address, and Social Security Number – Enter your legal name, 
address, daytime telephone number, Social Security Number, and date 
of birth on your return. If there is a change in your name since last year’s 
return (for example, new spouse), mark the “Name Change” box. LDR 
automatically updates your account when you change your address with 
the Post Office. Failure to notify the Post Office of your address change 
will result in your account not being updated. A direct address change can 
also be accomplished by fi ling your tax return electronically. If married, 
enter Social Security Numbers and date of birth for both you and your 
spouse. On a joint return, your names and Social Security Numbers must 
be listed in the same order that you listed them on your federal return.

NOTE: If you are not required to fi le a federal return, but had Louisiana 
income tax withheld in 2015, complete Lines 1 through 6D. In the appro-
priate boxes above Line 7, enter the total amount of wages and income 
and mark the box to the right. Skip to Line 16, enter zero “0” and complete 
the remainder of the return. You must enter the total amount of wages and 
income in the boxes above Line 7. Failure to do so will result in process-
ing delays.

Lines 1-5 – Filing status – You must use the same fi ling status on your 
Louisiana return as you did on your federal return. In the box on the left, 
enter the number corresponding to your fi ling status: “1” for Single, “2” 
for Married Filing Jointly, “3” for Married Filing Separately, “4” for Head of 
Household, and “5” for Qualifying Widow(er). Head of Household status 
is for unmarried people who paid over half the cost of keeping up a home 
for a qualifying person. If you fi le as Head of Household, you must show 
the name of the qualifying person in the space provided if the person is 
not a dependent. 

Lines 6A and 6B – Exemptions – Mark an “X” in the appropriate boxes. 
You must use the same number of exemptions on your Louisiana return 
as you did on your federal return, unless: you are listed as a dependent on 
someone else’s return, you are age 65 or over, you are blind, or your fi ling 
status is Qualifying Widow(er). You must claim an exemption for yourself 
on Line 6A, even if someone else claimed you on their federal tax return. 
This box has already been marked with an “X” for you.

Line 6C – Enter the names of the dependents listed on your federal return. 
Complete the required information. If you have more than 6 dependents, 
attach a statement to your return with the required information. In the box 
on Line 6C, enter the total number of dependents claimed. 

Line 6D – Add Lines 6A, 6B, and 6C. 

Line 7 – Enter the amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. This 
amount is taken from Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 4, OR from Federal 
Form 1040A, Line 21, OR from Federal Form 1040, Line 37. If your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income is less than zero, enter “0.” 

The following residents should use Schedule E to determine their 
Louisiana Adjusted Gross Income:

1.  Residents with exempt income such as interest on U.S. government 
obligations and public employee retirement systems.

2.  Residents with recapture of START contributions.

3.  Residents with interest income from obligations of other states and 
their political subdivisions.

4.  Residents age 65 years or older with annual retirement income tax-
able to Louisiana.

5.  Residents who are active duty military and have served 120 or more 
consecutive days out-of-state during the calendar year.

6.  Residents who have paid school tuition, home-schooled educational 
expenses, or public school educational expenses for qualifi ed dependents.

Mark the box on Line 7 if the amount from Schedule E, Line 5C, is used. 
In order to complete Schedule E, you may need to fi rst compute your 
modifi ed federal income tax deduction on Schedule H if you claimed 
federal disaster relief credits on your 2015 federal return. 

Lines 8A, 8B and 8C – If you did not itemize your deductions on your 
federal return, skip Lines 8A, 8B, and 8C and go to Line 9.

Line 8A – If you itemized your deductions on your federal return, enter 
the amount of your federal itemized deductions, shown on Federal Form 
1040, Schedule A, Line 29. 

Line 8B – If you itemized your deductions on your federal return and your 
fi ling status is 1 or 3, enter $6,300; 2 or 5, enter $12,600; 4, enter $9,250.

Line 8C – Subtract Line 8B from Line 8A. If less than zero, enter zero “0.”

Line 9 – If you claimed federal disaster relief credits on your federal return 
as a result of Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita, you must complete 
Schedule H to determine your modifi ed federal income tax deduction for 
Louisiana. The federal disaster relief credits claimed for this year and 
allowed by the IRS could be credits that are carried forward from previous 
years. However, the credits must be utilized on your federal return. Attach 
a copy of your federal return that indicates the amount of the credit, a 
copy of Federal Form 3800, and a copy of the appropriate IRS form to 
substantiate the amount of the credit.

If you have not claimed federal disaster relief credits, enter your federal 
income tax liability on Line 9. This amount is taken from your federal return. 
Below are the federal returns and line numbers that indicate your federal 
income tax liability.

• Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 10.

• Federal Form 1040A, Line 37, minus the amount from Line 29.

• Federal Form 1040, use the worksheet below. 

Optional Deduction – The federal tax deduction calculated on the work-
sheet may be increased by the amount of foreign tax credit claimed on 
Federal Form 1040, Line 48. If this additional deduction is claimed, no 
special allowable credit may be claimed on Louisiana Nonrefundable Tax 
Credits, Schedule G, Line 4.

Federal Income Tax Deduction Worksheet

1 Enter the tax from Federal Form 1040, Line 56  $_____________

2 Net Investment Income Tax. Enter amount from

  Federal Form 8960, Line 17 $_____________

3 Federal Tax. Add lines 1 and 2. $_____________

4a Enter the amount from Form 4972, Line 30. $_____________

4b Enter the amount from Form 8962, Line 29. $_____________

5  Add lines 4a and 4b. $_____________

6  Subtract line 5 from line 3 and enter on line 9. 

 If amount is negative enter zero. $_____________

Line 10 – Subtract Line 8C and Line 9 from Line 7. If less than zero, enter 
zero “0.”

Line 11 – Use the tax table that corresponds with your fi ling status. Locate 
the amount of your tax table income from Line 10 in the fi rst two columns 
of the tax table. Read across to the column numbered the same as the 
total number of exemptions claimed on Line 6D. The amount shown in 
that column is your Louisiana tax liability. Enter this amount on Line 11. 
If you have more than 8 exemptions, refer to the instructions at the top of 
the tax tables.

Line 12A – If you have claimed a Federal Child Care Credit on either 
Federal Form 1040A, Line 31, or Federal Form 1040, Line 49, enter the 
amount.

Line 12B – Enter the amount of your 2015 Louisiana Nonrefundable 
Child Care Credit from the Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit 
Worksheet on page 15. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be 
greater than $25,000 to claim this credit. See instructions on page 14.

Line 12C – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable Child 
Care Credit carried forward from 2011 through 2014. The amount of your 
2010 Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Carryforward cannot be included 
in this amount. To determine the carry forward amount, use the Louisiana 
Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 15. 
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Instructions for Preparing Your 2015 Louisiana Resident Income Tax Return Form (IT-540)
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Instructions for Preparing Your 2015 Louisiana Resident Income Tax Return Form, Continued...

Consumer Use Tax Worksheet
Under La. R.S. 47:302(K), LDR is required to collect an 8 percent tax on out-of-state purchases subject to use tax. This 8 percent rate (which includes 4 

percent to be distributed by LDR to local governments) is in lieu of the actual rate in effect for your area, and is payable regardless of the actual combined 

state and local rate for your area.

This law ensures that Louisiana businesses are not at a competitive disadvantage with out-of-state businesses who are not required to collect sales tax.

1. Taxable purchases ................... $ .00

 Tax rate (8 percent)....................  X .08

2. Total use tax due  ................... $ .00
Enter here and on Form 

IT-540, Line 17.

Line 12D – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable School 
Readiness Credit. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be 
greater than $25,000 to claim this credit. The amount is determined 
from your Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet on page 
16. In the boxes under Line 12D, enter the number of your qualifi ed 
dependents who attended the associated star rated facility or facilities. 

Line 12E – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Nonrefundable School 
Readiness Credit carried forward from 2011 through 2014. The amount of 
your 2010 Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Carryforward cannot 
be included in this amount. To determine the carry forward amount, use 
the Louisiana Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet on 
page 16.

Line 13 – A credit of $18 is allowed for each dependent child claimed on 
Line 6C who attended school in Louisiana from kindergarten through 12th 
grade for at least part of this year. This credit is not allowed if the deduc-
tions for Elementary and Secondary school tuition is claimed on Schedule 
E. Enter the number of qualifi ed dependents in the space provided. 
Multiply the number of qualifi ed  dependents by $18 and enter the result.

Line 14 – Enter the amount of the Other Nonrefundable Tax Credits from 
Form IT-540, Schedule G, Line 11.

Line 15 – Add Lines 12B through 14.

Line 16 – Subtract Line 15 from Line 11. If less than zero or if you are not 
required to fi le a federal return, enter zero “0” and complete the remainder 
of the return.

Line 17 – During 2015, if you purchased goods for use in Louisiana 
from outside the state and were not charged Louisiana state sales tax, 
you are required to fi le and pay the tax directly to LDR. This includes 
purchases from catalogs, television, Internet, another state, or outside the 
U.S. See the Consumer Use Tax Worksheet below. If any of the items 
were alcoholic beverages or tobacco products, you are required to fi le a 
Consumer Excise Tax Return, R-5629, which is posted on LDR’s website. 
Do not include purchases made for your business. You must register your 
business with LDR and report the use tax for your business under that 
account. 

Line 18 – Add Lines 16 and 17.

Name Boxes - Enter the fi rst 4 characters of the primary taxpayer’s last 
name in the boxes at the bottom of the second, third, and fourth pages.

Line 19 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Refundable Child Care 
Credit from the 2015 Louisiana Refundable Child Care Credit Worksheet, 
page 17, Line 11. This worksheet must be attached to your return. Your 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be $25,000 or less to claim a 
credit on this line. See instructions on page 14.

Line 19A – Enter the amount from the 2015 Louisiana Refundable Child 
Care Credit Worksheet, page 17, Line 3.

Line 19B – Enter the amount from the 2015 Louisiana Refundable Child 
Care Credit Worksheet, page 17, Line 6.

Line 20 – Enter the amount of your 2015 Louisiana Refundable School 
Readiness Credit. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be 
$25,000 or less to claim this credit. The amount is determined from your 
Louisiana Refundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet on page 18. In 
the boxes under Line 20, enter the number of your qualifi ed dependents 
who attended the associated star rated facility or facilities. 

Line 21 – Enter the amount of your Louisiana Earned Income Credit (LA 
EIC). If you claimed a Federal Earned Income Credit (EIC), you are entitled 
to a LA EIC as provided under R.S. 47:297.8. The refundable credit is equal 
to 3.5 percent of your Federal EIC. See the Louisiana Earned Income Credit 
Worksheet, page 18.

Line 22 – Enter the amount of the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 
assessment that was included in your homeowner’s insurance premium 
in boxes 22A. Multiply the amount by 72 percent (.72) and enter the 
result on Line 22. A copy of the declaration page from your premium 
notice must be attached to your return. For additional information regard-
ing this credit, visit www.revenue.louisiana.gov/citizens.

Line 23 – Enter the amount of the Other Refundable Tax Credits from 
Form IT-540, Schedule F, Line 7.

Line 24 – Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in 2015. You 
must attach copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms that indicate tax was with-
held. If the withholding amount exceeds 10 percent of the income shown 
on Form IT-540, Line 7, you must attach a copy of your federal return. 

Line 25 – Enter the amount of any credit carried forward from 2014. This 
amount is shown on your 2014 Form IT-540, Line 34, or IT-540B, Line 35.

Line 26 – Enter the total amount of estimated payments you made for the 
2015 tax year.

Line 27 – Enter the amount of the payment made with your 2015 
extension request.

Line 28 – Add Lines 19, and 20 through 27. Do not include amounts on 
Line 19A, 19B and 22A.

Line 29 – Overpayment If Line 28 is greater than Line 18, subtract 
Line 18 from Line 28. Your overpayment may be reduced by the 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty. If Line 28 is equal to Line 
18, enter a zero on Lines 29 through 36 and go to Line 37. If Line 28 is 
less than Line 18, enter a zero on Lines 29 through 35 and go to Line 36. 

Line 30 – See instructions for Underpayment Penalty, page 13.

Line 31 – If Line 29 is greater than Line 30, subtract Line 30 from Line 
29. If Line 30 is greater than Line 29, enter zero “0”, subtract Line 29 from 
Line 30 and enter the balance on Line 36.

Line 32 –  You may donate all or part of your overpayment (Line 31) 
to various organizations or funds listed on Schedule D, Lines 2 through 
24. Enter the amount from Schedule D, Line 25. This amount cannot be 
greater than Line 31. 

Line 33 – Subtract Line 32 from Line 31. This amount of overpayment is 
available for credit or refund. 

Line 34 – Enter the amount of available overpayment shown on Line 33 
that you wish to credit to 2016. 

Line 35 – Subtract Line 34 from Line 33. This amount is to be refunded. 
You must select how you want to receive your refund. Enter a “2” in the 
box if you want to receive your refund by paper check. Enter a “3” in the 
box if you want your refund directly deposited into your bank account.  
Carefully enter the information in the boxes to indicate the  type of bank 
account, the routing number, and the account number. Your nine digit 
routing number appears under the memo line of your check; your bank 
account number will appear to the right of your routing number. You are 
required to answer the question regarding the location of the bank 
account. If the information is unreadable or if you do not select a 
method to receive your refund, you will receive your refund by paper 
check. Option 1 was omitted on purpose.

Name Boxes – Enter the fi rst 4 characters of the primary taxpayer’s last 
name in the boxes at the bottom of the second, third, and fourth page.

Line 36 – If Line 18 is greater than Line 28, subtract Line 28 from Line 
18. If you entered an amount from Line 30 as the result of underpayment 
penalty exceeding an overpayment, complete Line 37 through 40, enter 
zero “0” on Lines 41 through 44, and go to Line 45.
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Instructions for Preparing Your 2015 Louisiana Resident Income Tax Return Form, Continued...

Instructions for Schedule D – Donations

Lines 37 through 40 – You may make a donation to the funds listed on 
Lines 37 through 40. You must include payment for the amount being 
donated with your return. The donation will not be made unless you make 
the payment and can not be refunded at a later date.

Line 41 – Interest is charged on all tax amounts not paid by the due date. 
Enter the amount from the Interest Calculation Worksheet, page 13, Line 5.

Line 42 – If you fail to fi le your tax return by the due date – on or before 
May 15, 2016, for calendar year fi lers, on or before your fi scal year due 
date, or on or before your approved extension date, you may be charged 
delinquent fi ling penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Filing 
Penalty Calculation Worksheet, page 13, Line 7.

Line 43 – If you fail to pay the tax due by the due date – on or before 
May 15, 2016, for calendar year fi lers, you may be charged delinquent 
payment penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Payment Penalty 
Calculation Worksheet, page 13, Line 7. 

Line 44 – See instructions for Underpayment Penalty, page 13. 

Line 45 – Add Lines 36 through 44. You may make payment by credit card 
or electronic debit on www.revenue.louisiana.gov/fileonline. You may 

also make payment by check or money order. DO NOT SEND CASH. 
Make your check or money order payable to the Louisiana Department 
of Revenue. Print the last four digits of your Social Security Number on 
your check or money order and attach it to your return.

You can also pay your taxes by credit card over the internet or by telephone. 
Visit www.officialpayments.com or call 1-888-2PAY-TAX (1-888-272-9829).

Social Security Numbers – Enter your social security number in boxes 
provided on each page of your return.

Name Boxes – Enter the fi rst 4 characters of the primary taxpayer’s last 
name in the boxes under the signature line.

Filing – YOU MUST SIGN AND DATE YOUR RETURN. If married fi ling 
jointly, both spouses must sign. If your return was prepared by a paid 
preparer, that person must also sign in the appropriate space and enter 
his or her identifi cation number. DO NOT SUBMIT A PHOTOCOPY OF THE 
RETURN. Only submit an original return.

Line 1 – Enter the amount of adjusted overpayment from Form IT-540, Line 31.

Line 2 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to The 
Military Family Assistance Fund. This fund provides assistance to family 
members of active Louisiana military personnel.

Line 3 – You may donate all or a part of your adjusted overpayment to 
the Coastal Protection and Restoration Fund for the purposes of coastal 
restoration, conservation, and hurricane protection. For more information, 
visit www.coastal.louisiana.gov.

Line 4 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
SNAP Fraud and Abuse Detection and Prevention. This fund provides fraud 
and abuse detection and prevention activities related to the Supplemental 
Nutritional Assistance Program.

Line 5 – You may contribute an amount of your adjusted overpayment 
to the Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START) 
Savings Program. IMPORTANT: If fi ling a joint return, you or your spouse 
must be a registered account owner in the START Savings Program in order 
to contribute all or part of your overpayment. If you do not have an account, 
you may contact the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance at 
1-800-259-5626, or go to www.startsaving.la.gov to enroll. All contributions 
of your overpayment will be equally distributed among the account holder’s 
benefi ciaries.

Line 6 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Wildlife Habitat and Natural Heritage Trust Fund. This fund provides for the 
acquisition and management of lands used for state parks, state forests, and 
wildlife and fi shery management areas.

Line 7 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Cancer and Lung Trust Fund (LCLTFB). This fund provides for 
resources to reduce the incidence, morbidity, mortality, and economic impact 
of all forms of cancer through education, prevention, research, and early 
detection. 

Line 8 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Animal Welfare Commission for the purpose of promoting the 
proper treatment and well-being of animals. For more information, visit www.
lawca.org.

Line 9 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to promote 
unity among member food banks in Louisiana in support of their common 
mission to feed the hungry. For more information, visit www.lafba.org.

Line 10 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the Make-
A-Wish Foundation of the Texas Gulf Coast & Louisiana. For more information, 
visit www.texgulf.wish.org.

Line 11 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Association of United Ways/LA 2-1-1 for the purpose of the 2-1-1 
helpline. For more information, visit www.louisiana211.org.

Line 12 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
American Red Cross. For more information, visit www.redcross.org.

Line 13 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Dreams Come True, Inc. for the purpose of fulfi lling dreams of children with 
life-threatening illnesses. For more information, visit www.dctofl a.com.

Line 14 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Inc. (LCADV). The purpose 
of this fund is to promote and strengthen quality comprehensive services for 
all individuals affected by domestic violence. For more information, visit www.
lcadv.org.

Line 15 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment for 
maintaining decorative lighting on the Crescent City Connection. 

Line 16 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment for the 
operation and maintenance of the New Orleans ferries. 

Line 17 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Honor Guard for Military Funerals Fund. This fund provides for military funeral 
honors for members of Louisiana’s military forces. 

Line 18 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to 
the Bastion Community of Resilience Fund. This fund provides for the 
development of innovative housing for recent war veterans and their families. 

Line 19 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Youth Leadership Seminar Corporation, also known as Hugh 
O’Brian Youth Leadership to inspire and develop our global community of 
youth and volunteers to a life dedicated to leadership, service and innovation. 
For more information, visit visit www.hoby.org. 

Line 20 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Lighthouse for the Blind in New Orleans, Inc. For more information, visit  
www.lighthouselouisiana.org. 

Line 21 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana Association for the Blind. This association is dedicated to improving 
the quality of life for the blind through training, services and employment. For 
more information, visit www.lablind.com.

Line 22 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment 
to the Louisiana Center for the Blind. For more information, visit www.
louisianacenter.org.

Line 23 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Affiliated Blind of Louisiana, Inc., whose missions is to teach individuals who 
are blind and deaf-blind the skills that lead to independence, employment and 
community integration. For more information, visit www.affiliatedblind.org.

Line 24 – You may donate all or part of your adjusted overpayment to the 
Louisiana State Troopers Charities, Inc.

Line 25 – Add Lines 2 through 24. This amount cannot be more than Line 1. 
Also, enter this amount on Form IT-540, Line 32.
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Line 1 – Enter the amount of your Federal Adjusted Gross Income. This 
amount is shown either on your Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 4 OR your 
Federal Form 1040A, Line 21, OR your Federal Form 1040, Line 37. If the 
amount is less than zero, mark the box on Line 1. Do not use a negative 
sign with the amount. For example, if your Federal AGI is a $10,000 loss, 
mark the box on Line 1 and enter 10,000.

Line 2 – Tax-exempt interest and dividend income reported on your 
federal return are taxable to Louisiana if ALL of the following conditions 
are met:

a. You are fi ling as a resident of Louisiana.

b. The interest or dividend income is received from obligations of 
a state or political subdivision of a state other than Louisiana. 
Obligations of the State of Louisiana, its political subdivisions, 
or public corporations created by them and their constituted 
authorities are exempt from Louisiana taxes.

c. The obligations were purchased on or after January 1, 1980.

Enter the TOTAL taxable interest and dividends. Do not list interest and 
dividends separately. See Revenue Ruling 11-001 if you have any Build 
America Bonds.

Line 2A – Enter any previously exempted Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance 
and Revenue Trust (START) contributions that were refunded to you during 
2015 by the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Aid.

Line 3 – Add Lines 1, 2, and 2A. If the amount is less than zero, enter zero 
“0.” This line may not be less than zero. 

EXEMPT INCOME LINES 4A THROUGH 4H
Income items that are considered exempt by Louisiana law to arrive at 
Louisiana taxable income are referenced individually by a three-digit 
code. Enter the description, identifying code, and dollar amount in the 
appropriate spaces on Lines 4A through 4H.

NOTE:  Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule E. 

The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other 

codes listed in this booklet. 

EXAMPLE: 

Exemption Description  Code  Amount

START Savings Program

CODE EXEMPTION DESCRIPTION

01E – Interest and Dividends on US Government Obligations – 

Enter the amount of interest and dividends received from U.S. 

government obligations that are included in the amount on Line 

1 of Schedule E. Include amounts received from mutual funds, 

which are identifi ed as income from investments in U.S. govern-

ment obligations. If the amount is not identifi ed specifi cally, it is 

taxable and cannot be excluded.

02E – Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement Benefi ts – Enter the 

amount of retirement benefi ts received from the Louisiana State 

Employees’ Retirement System. This amount should be included 

in the amount on Schedule E, Line 1.

03E – Louisiana State Teachers’ Retirement Benefi ts – Enter the 

amount of retirement benefi ts received from the Louisiana State 

Teachers’ Retirement System. This amount should be included in 

the amount on Schedule E, Line 1.

04E – Federal Retirement Benefi ts – Enter the amount of retirement 

benefi ts received from a Federal Retirement System. This amount 

should be included in the amount on Schedule E, Line 1.

05E – Other Retirement Benefi ts – Enter the amount of retirement 

benefi ts received from any retirement systems whose benefi ts are 

specifi cally exempted by law from Louisiana income tax. In the 

space provided, enter the name of the retirement system or the 

statutory citation exempting these benefi ts from Louisiana income 

tax. A list of the eligible retirement systems and their statutory 

citations can be found on LDR’s website.

CODE EXEMPTION DESCRIPTION

06E – Annual Retirement Income Exemption for Taxpayers 65 

Years of Age or Older – Up to $6,000 of your annual retirement 

income may be exempted from state taxation if your fi ling status is 

single, head of household, married fi ling separately, or qualifying 

widow(er), and you are 65 years of age or older. If your fi ling status 

is married fi ling jointly, both you and your spouse are age 65 

years or older, and each of you received annual retirement income, 

up to $6,000 of the annual retirement income that each taxpayer 

 receives may be exempt from state taxation. “Annual retirement 

income” that is taxable to Louisiana is any distributions from a 

pension, an annuity, or an  individual retirement arrangement 

(IRA)  that you receive and report on Federal Form 1040A, Lines 

11b and 12b, or Federal Form 1040, Lines 15b and 16b. Do not 

include retirement benefi ts that are coded as 02E, 03E, 04E, or 

05E. Enter the name of the payor on the line provided.

 If your fi ling status is single, head of household, married fi ling 

separately, or qualifying widow(er), determine the exempt amount 

that should be entered for code 06E by completing the FIRST 

COLUMN of the worksheet provided below.

 If your fi ling status is married fi ling jointly, determine the exempt 

amount that should be entered for code 06E by completing BOTH 

COLUMNS of the worksheet provided below.

Worksheet for Code 06E Taxpayer  Spouse

1. Enter retirement income you received and 
reported on Federal Form 1040A, Lines 
11b and 12b, OR that you reported on 
Federal Form 1040, Lines 15b and 16b. 
Enter taxpayer’s amount on Line 1(a) and 

enter spouse’s amount on Line 1(b).

a.

________

b.

________

2. Enter retirement income you received 
and reported as codes 02E, 03E, 04E, 
and 05E of Schedule E. Enter taxpayer’s 
amount on Line 2(a) and enter spouse’s 

amount on Line 2(b). ________ ________

3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.
________ ________

4. Maximum exemption for individuals 65 or 

older. $6,000 $6,000

5. For each taxpayer 65 or older, enter the 

amount from Line 3, or Line 4, whichever 

is less. ________ ________

6. If your fi ling status is single, head of household, married fi ling 
separately, or qualifying widow(er), enter the amount from Line 
5(a) above on Schedule E and code as 06E. If your fi ling status 
is married fi ling jointly, add the amounts on Lines 5(a) and 5(b) 
above and enter the result on Schedule E and code as 06E.

07E – Taxable Amount of Social Security – Social Security benefi ts 
that are taxed on your federal return are exempt from Louisiana 
tax. Enter the amount shown on your Federal Form 1040A, Line 
14b, or Federal Form 1040, Line 20b.

08E – Native American Income – Louisiana Administrative Code 
61:I.1303 provides that income derived from sources on the 
reservation that have been earned or received by an enrolled 
member of a federally recognized Indian tribe who resides on 
that tribe’s reservation shall be exempted from Louisiana indi-
vidual income tax. The income derived from sources outside of 
the reservation, including sources outside of Louisiana, that 
have been earned or received by an enrolled member of a feder-
ally recognized Indian tribe residing on that tribe’s reservation 
is taxable for Louisiana individual income tax purposes. Income 
earned by a member of a federally recognized tribe residing off 
of the tribe’s reservation in Louisiana is taxable regardless of the 
income source. Additionally, an enrolled member of a federally 
recognized Indian tribe who resides on the reservation for a por-
tion of the year and resides off the reservation for a portion of the 
year is taxed based on where the enrolled member resided when 
the income was earned.

Instructions for Schedule E
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09E – START Savings Program Contributions – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)
(vi) provides that any Louisiana Student Tuition Assistance and 
Revenue Trust (START) account holders with a fi ling status of 
single, married fi ling separately, head of household, and quali-
fying widow(er) can exempt up to $2,400 per benefi ciary from 
Louisiana taxable income. Account holders with a fi ling status 
of married fi ling jointly can each exempt up to $4,800 per ben-
efi ciary from Louisiana taxable income. In certain situations, the 
exemption amount can be doubled. See Revenue Information 
Bulletin 06-003 on LDR’s website.

10E – Military Pay Exclusion – R.S. 47:293(9)(e) provides an exclusion 
to Louisiana residents who were on active duty in the U.S. armed 
forces for 120 or more consecutive days. The exempt portion is 
the compensation earned outside of Louisiana during and after 
120 plus consecutive days of active duty, up to $30,000. Example: 
If on January 15, 2015, you went on active duty and continuously 
remained on active duty at least through May 14, 2015 (120 days)
during which you served 40 days in Louisiana and the remainder 
outside of Louisiana, income from the 41st day forward is exempt, 
up to $30,000, once you have served more than 120 consecutive 
days. Retain a copy of your official orders, including endorsements 
that establish your 120 plus consecutive days of active duty with 
your 2015 return. If fi ling electronically, bring a copy of your orders 

including endorsements to your tax preparer.

11E – Road Home – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(i) provides that any grant, 

loan, or other benefi t directly or indirectly provided to a taxpayer 

by a hurricane recovery entity shall be excluded if the income 

was included in the taxpayer’s Federal Adjusted Gross Income. 

Hurricane recovery entities that provided benefi ts are the Road 

Home Corporation, the Louisiana Recovery Authority, the 

Disaster Recovery Unit of the Office of Community Development, 

or the Louisiana Family Recovery Corps. This amount should be 

included in the amount on Schedule E, Line 1.

13E – Recreation Volunteer – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xii) provides an 

exclusion of $500 per tax year for individuals who volunteer 

for recreation departments. To qualify for this exclusion, the 

taxpayer must serve as a volunteer for 30 or more hours during 

the taxable year and must be registered as a volunteer with a 

recreation department operated by the state of Louisiana or 

a political subdivision of the state. The recreation department 

must certify that the taxpayer served as a volunteer and was not 

compensated for their services.

14E – Volunteer Firefi ghter – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xii) provides an exclu-

sion of $500 per tax year for individuals who serve as volunteer 

fi refi ghters. To qualify for this exclusion, the taxpayer must com-

plete 24 hours of continuing education and be an active member 

of the Louisiana State Fireman’s Association or on the depart-

mental personnel roster for the State Fire Marshal’s Volunteer 

Fireman’s Insurance Program. To substantiate the exclusion, a 

taxpayer should retain either a membership card with the tax-

payer’s name and the applicable tax year, a lifetime membership 

card, or a copy of the departmental personnel roster for the State 

Fire Marshal’s Volunteer Fireman’s Insurance Program and a 

certifi cate or other document provided to the taxpayer noting the 

date of the training, the topic covered, the duration of the train-

ing, and name and contact information of the person providing 

the training to support the continuing education requirements.

16E –  Voluntary Retrofi t Residential Structure – R.S. 47:293(9)(a)(xiii) 

provides an exclusion for a taxpayer who voluntarily retrofi ts an 

existing residential structure on which the homestead exemption 

is claimed for ad valorem tax purposes and the structure is not 

rental property. The exclusion is for 50 percent of the cost paid or 

incurred on or after January 1, 2007, less the value of any other 

state, municipal, or federally sponsored fi nancial incentives and is 

limited to $5,000 per retrofi tted residential structure. To qualify, the 

voluntary retrofi tting must not be a construction, reconstruction, 

alteration, or repair of an existing residential structure and 

must comply with the State Uniform Construction Code. See 

Revenue Information Bulletin 09-007 for more information.

17E –  Elementary and Secondary School Tuition – R.S. 47:297.10 
provides a deduction for expenses paid for your qualifi ed depen-
dent’s enrollment in a nonpublic elementary or secondary school or 
any public elementary or secondary laboratory school operated by 
a public college or university. The dependent must be claimed on 
your 2015 return or must have been claimed on your 2014 return. 
To calculate the amount of the deduction, use the 2015 Louisiana 
School Expense Deduction Worksheet on the back of Schedule E. 

18E – Educational Expenses for Home-Schooled Children – R.S. 
47:297.11 provides a deduction for expenses paid for home-
schooling your qualifi ed dependent. The dependent must be 
claimed on your 2015 return or must have been claimed on your 
2014 return. To calculate the amount of the deduction, use the 
2015 Louisiana School Expense Deduction Worksheet on the 
back of Schedule E.

19E –  Educational Expenses for a Quality Public Education – R.S. 
47:297.12 provides a deduction for expenses paid for a quality 
education for your qualifi ed dependent’s enrollment in a public 
elementary or secondary school. The dependent must be claimed 
on your 2015 return or must have been claimed on your 2014 
return. To calculate the amount of the deduction, use the 2015 
Louisiana School Expense Deduction Worksheet on the back of 
Schedule E.

20E – Capital Gain from Sale of Louisiana Business – R.S. 47:293(9)
(a)(xvii) provides a deduction for net capital gains resulting from 
the sale or exchange of an equity interest; or from the sale or 
exchange of substantially all of the assets of a nonpublicly traded 
corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other organi-
zation commercially domiciled in Louisiana. Attach a copy of your 
federal return and supporting forms and a schedule showing the 
calculation of the deduction and all tiers of any fl ow-thru amounts. 
See Revenue Information Bulletin 10-017 for more information. 

49E – Other – On a separate schedule, list the source and amount of 
other income included in Schedule E, Line 1, which Louisiana 
cannot tax. You must attach copies of supporting documentation 
in order to verify the exemption claimed on this line. Do not list 
income earned in another state. Residents of Louisiana are taxed 
on all income, regardless of where the income was earned. Credit 
for taxes paid to other states may be deducted on Nonrefundable 
Tax Credits, Schedule G, Line 1. Nonresident and Part-Year 
Residents should use Form IT-540B to determine their Louisiana 
tax. Nonresident professional athletes must fi le Form IT-540B-NRA 
electronically.

 Employers claiming the disability deduction under R.S. 47:297.13 
should use this line to reduce income earned by certain qualifying 
disabled individuals. Disabled individuals claiming an exemp-
tion under R.S. 47:59.1 for making adaptations to their home 
should use this line to deduct the expenses from their gross 
income. Persons receiving disability income (R.S. 47:44.1(B)) 

for a permanent, total disability may exclude up to $6,000 of 

annual disability income from their taxable income. Persons 

claiming an S Bank shareholder exclusion should use this line to 

report the exclusion, which is equal to the S Bank shareholder’s 

nontaxable income from Louisiana taxable income. “S Bank 

nontaxable income” means the portion of the income reported 

by an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S, Schedule K-1, or the 

portion of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent 

document, which is attributable to the net earnings used to com-

pute the S Bank’s shares tax as provided in R.S. 47:1967. See 

Revenue Ruling 11-001 if you have any Build America Bonds.

Note: Depletion deduction is limited to the amount of federal depletion. 

Louisiana does not have a provision that allows excess depletion on 

individual income tax.

Line 4I – Add Lines 4A through 4H.

Line 4J – Enter the amount of federal tax applicable to the exempt income 
shown on Line 4I. If Line 9 on Form IT-540 is greater than zero, complete 
both options and use the option that results in the lower federal tax. You 
may need to fi rst compute your modifi ed federal income tax deduction for 
Louisiana purposes if you have taken certain federal credits as a result of 
Hurricanes Katrina or Rita. See instructions for Line 9 on page 2.

Instructions for Schedule E, Continued...
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If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach a separate schedule for each credit claimed. The schedule should clearly identify the 
credit, your name, and Social Security Number. If documentation is required, you must submit the documentation with your return.  For faster processing, 
you can upload all required information when you fi le your return electronically. Revenue Information Bulletins (RIB) are posted on www.revenue.
louisiana.gov/policies under Policy Documents.

Certain income tax credits have been reduced according to Acts 109, 125 and 133 of the 2015 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. Please 
refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 15-021 for information on the Act 125 reductions.

Note: If you are claiming a credit that is recorded in the Tax Credit Registry, you must attach a completed Credit Utilization Form (R-6140, Section 2) 
and a copy of the Credit Registration Form (R-6135) to the tax return. See RIB No. 14-005. 

General Information Regarding Tax Credits

Instructions for Refundable Tax Credits, Schedule F

Line 1 – R.S. 47:297.9 allows a refundable credit for 100 percent of the 
amount paid by an active or reserve military servicemember, the spouse 
of an active or reserve military servicemember, or the dependent of such 
servicemember for obtaining a Louisiana noncommercial hunting or fi sh-
ing license. A copy of the noncommercial hunting and/or fi shing license 
must be submitted to LDR in order to claim the credit. Complete all infor-
mation requested in Lines 1A through 1D. Per Act 125 reduction, multiply 
Line 1D by 72 percent (.72) and enter results on Line 1E. The credit for 
the license is valid only during the time the servicemember is on active 
duty and does not apply to purchases of lifetime licenses. Please contact 
LDR for more information concerning this credit.

Additional Refundable Tax Credits, Lines 2 through 6
Additional refundable credits available for the tax year ending December 
31, 2015 are referenced individually by a three-digit code.  Please enter 
the credit description, identifying code, amount of credit prior to reduction 
as applicable and the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces 
on Lines 2 through 6.  Act 125 reductions noted in the instructions below 
refer to the reductions made by Act 125 of the 2015 Regular Legislative 
Session. See Revenue Information Bulletin No. 15-021 for more informa-
tion. Unless otherwise stated in the instructions for each line, enter credit 
amounts in column labeled “ amount of credit claimed”.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule F. The 
codes listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed in 
this booklet.

Example: 

Credit Description  Code  Amount of Credit Claimed

Historic Residential  

Line 7 – Add Lines 1E and 2 through 6. Also, enter the amount on Form 
IT-540, Line 23. 

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

50F – Inventory Tax – R.S. 47:6006 allows a refundable credit for 100 
percent of the ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions in 
Louisiana on inventory held by manufacturers, distributors, or 
retailers if the amount paid is less than $10,000. If the amount you 
paid is less than $10,000, enter that amount under the “amount of 
credit claimed” column. If the ad valorem taxes paid are $10,000 
or more, Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session only 
allows 75 percent of the excess credit over tax to be refunded. 
You must use page 2 of Form R-10610 to calculate the amount 
of credit you can claim. Enter the amount paid under the “amount 
prior to reduction” column and the credit amount as calculated on 
Form R-10610 under the “amount of credit claimed” column. Refer 
to Revenue Information Bulletin 06-036 and 15-019. 

51F – Ad Valorem Natural Gas – R.S. 47:6006 allows a refundable credit 
for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions 
in Louisiana on natural gas held, used, or consumed in providing 

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

 natural gas storage services or operating natural gas storage facili-
ties if the amount paid is less than $10,000. If the amount you paid 
is less than $10,000, enter that amount under the “amount of credit 
claimed” column. If the ad valorem taxes paid are $10,000 or more, 
Act 133 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session only allows 75 
percent of the excess credit over tax to be refunded. You must use 
page 2 of Form R-10610 to calculate the amount of credit you can 
claim. Enter the amount paid under the “amount prior to reduction” 
column and the credit amount as calculated on Form R-10610 under 
the “amount of credit claimed” column. Refer to Revenue Information 
Bulletin 06-036 and 15-019.

52F – Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels –R.S. 47:6006.1 allows a refundable 
credit for 100 percent of the ad valorem taxes paid on vessels in Outer 
Continental Shelf Lands Act Waters. Copies of the tax assessment, the 
cancelled check in payment of the tax, and a completed Form LAT 11A 
from the Louisiana Tax Commission must be attached to the return.

54F – Telephone Company Property – R.S. 47:6014 allows a 
refundable credit for up to 40 percent of the ad valorem taxes 
paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a telephone com-
pany with respect to that company’s public service properties 
located in Louisiana. The credit may be passed through to 
individuals who are shareholders or members of certain legal 
entities. See Revenue Information Bulletin 01-004 on LDR’s 
website. A schedule must be attached stating which entity 
paid the tax and obtained the credit on the individual’s behalf.

55F – Prison Industry Enhancement – R.S. 47:6018 allows a refund-
able credit for the state sales and use tax paid by a taxpayer on 
purchases of specialty apparel items from a private sector Prison 
Industry Enhancement (PIE) contractor. Contact LDR for further 
information regarding this credit. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is 
calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

56F – Urban Revitalization – R.S. 51:1801 et seq. allows a refund-
able credit for investing in certain economically depressed areas 
of the state. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the 
certifi cation of the credit must be attached to the return. 

57F – Mentor-Protégé – R.S. 47:6027 allows a refundable credit for 
a mentor business that fulfi lls the terms of a Mentor-Protégé 
Agreement as approved by the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. A copy of the certifi cation of the credit must be 
attached to the return.

58F – Milk Producers – R.S. 47:6032 allows a refundable credit for 
a resident taxpayer engaged in the business of producing milk 
for sale. Those milk producers that have obtained permits under 
the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 51, and have met the 
requirements of the Food and Drug Administration, shall be 
certifi ed by the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals to 
receive the credit. Revenue Information Bulletin 08-014 provides 
information regarding the credit.

4 0 0 00.6 0 F

Instructions for Schedule E, Continued...

Option 1:

If Line 4I is: Then enter on Line 4J:

Less than $15,000 -0-

$15,000 - $50,000 25% of the amount over $15,000

More than $50,000
$8,750, plus 40% of the amount 

over $50,000

Option 2: Divide Line 4I by Line 1. Carry out two decimal places in the 
percentage. For example, 48.32 percent. DO NOT ROUND UP. The per-
centage cannot exceed 100 percent. Multiply your total federal tax from 
Form IT-540, Line 9, by the ratio obtained. If there is no applicable federal 
tax, enter zero “0.”

Line 4K – Subtract Line 4J from Line 4I.

Line 5A – Subtract Line 4K from Line 3.

Line 5B – Enter the amount of your IRC 280C expense adjustment. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06–017 for further details. To substantiate 
the credit, provide LDR with a copy of Federal Form 3800 that indicates 
the credit plus the appropriate form for the credit. A shareholder of an 
S corporation or other pass-through entities should attach a copy of 
Schedule K-1 to substantiate the credit.

Line 5C – Subtract Line 5B from Line 5A. Enter the result here and on 
Form IT-540, Line 7. Mark the box on Form IT-540, Line 7, indicating that 
Schedule E was used. If the amount is less than zero, enter zero “0.”



Instructions for Refundable Tax Credits, Schedule F, Continued...

59F – Technology Commercialization – R.S. 51:2351 et seq. allows 
a refundable credit for a qualifying individual or business 
that invests in the commercialization of Louisiana technology.  
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the certifi cation of 
the credit must be attached to the return. 

60F – Historic Residential – R.S. 47:297.6 allows a refundable credit 
for the amount of eligible costs and expenses incurred during the 
rehabilitation of an owner-occupied residential or owner-occu-
pied mixed use structure located in a National Register Historic 
District, a cultural district, a local historic district, a Main Street 
District, or a downtown development district. The tax credit is lim-
ited to one credit per rehabilitated structure and can not exceed 
$18,500 per structure. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana 
Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Division of 
Historic Preservation for certifi cation. A copy of the certifi cation of 
the credit must be attached to the return. Enter credit amount as 
allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently 
allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount by 74 percent (.74).

61F – Angel Investor – R.S. 47:6020 allows a refundable credit 
for taxpayers who made third party investments in certifi ed 
Louisiana entrepreneurial businesses between January 1, 2005, 
and December 31, 2009. To earn the Angel Investor Credit, tax-
payers must fi le an application with the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 
06-020 on LDR’s website. 

62F – Musical and Theatrical Productions – R.S. 47:6034 allows 
a refundable credit for the production expenses, transportation 
costs, employment of college and vocational-technical students, 
employment of residents, and for the construction, repair, or 
renovation of facilities related to the live performance industry. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the certifi cation of 
the credit must be attached to the return.

64F – Solar Energy Systems – Non-Leased – R.S. 47:6030 provides 
a refundable credit for taxpayers who purchased and installed a 
solar electric system at a single-family detached residence locat-
ed in the state that serves as the primary residence. Taxpayers 
are also eligible for the credit when a resident has purchased a 
newly constructed home with such systems already installed. 
Only one credit is allowed per residence including prior installa-
tions for which a credit was received. The credit is equal to 50 
percent of the fi rst $25,000 of the cost of a solar electric system 
if installed before July 1, 2015. If the system was purchased and 
installed on or after July 1, 2015, the credit is equal to the lesser 
of $2.00 per watt or  50 percent of the fi rst $20,000 of the cost 
of purchase and installation. See Revenue Information Bulletin 
13-026 and 15-026 on LDR’s website. Form R-1086, available on 
LDR’s website, must be attached to your return as documentation 
for this credit. When taking this credit, the taxpayer will not be eli-
gible for any other state tax credit, exemption, exclusion, deduc-
tion, or any other tax benefi t for that property. If you are claim-
ing the solar credit, you must fi le your return electronically. 

65F – School Readiness Child Care Provider – R.S. 47:6105 allows 
a refundable credit for a child care provider who operates a 
facility or facilities where care is given to foster children in the 
custody of the Louisiana Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) or to children who participate in the Child Care 
Assistance Program administered by the Louisiana Department 
of Education (LDE). The credit is based on the average monthly 
number of children who attended the facility multiplied by an 
amount based on the quality rating of the child care facility. For 
more information regarding this credit, contact LDE. 

66F – School Readiness Child Care Directors and Staff – R.S. 47:6106 
allows a refundable credit for eligible child care directors and 
eligible child care staff. The tax credit is based on certain attained 
qualifi cations for directors and staff members. The credit amount is 
variable and the 2015 amount is posted at www.qrslouisiana.org. 
For more information regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana 
Department of Education (LDE). 

67F – School Readiness Business-Supported Child Care – R.S. 
47:6107 allows a refundable credit for a taxpayer who incurs 

eligible business-supported child care expenses. The percent-
age of eligible expenses allowed for the credit depends on the 
quality rating of the child care facility to which the expenses are 
related or the quality rating of the child care facility that the child 
attends. Copies of cancelled checks and other documentation 
to support the amount of eligible expenses must be maintained 
and provided upon request. For more information regarding this 
credit, contact the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE).

68F – School Readiness Fees and Grants to Resource and Referral 
Agencies – R.S. 47:6107 allows a refundable credit for a taxpay-
er whose business pays fees and grants to child care resource 
and referral agencies. The credit can not exceed $5,000 per 
tax year. For more information regarding this credit, contact the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE).

70F – Retention and Modernization – R.S. 51:2399.1 et seq. allows 
a refundable credit for an employer who incurs qualifi ed expen-
ditures to modernize existing operations in Louisiana to retain 
the business in the state. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development to receive certifi cation. A 
copy of the certifi cation of the credit must be attached to the return.  

71F – Conversion of Vehicle to Alternative Fuel – R.S. 47:6035 
allows a refundable credit for the purchase of, or conversion of 
a vehicle designed to run on an alternative fuel. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin No. 13-023 for defi nition of alternative 
fuel. The credit is not allowed for the costs associated with 
the purchase or conversion of a fl exible fuel vehicle, designed 
to run on both alternative fuel and gasoline or diesel. The 
purchased vehicle must be properly registered with the Louisiana 
Department of Public Safety. You must attach documentation 
verifying the conversion or purchase of the vehicle. Prior to 
Act 125, the credit was equal to 50 percent of the cost of the 
qualifi ed clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property that has 
been purchased and installed. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed 
is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent. If the 
taxpayer is unable to determine the exact cost attributable to 
the qualifi ed clean-burning motor vehicle, prior to Act 125, the 
credit was equal to 10 percent of the cost of the motor vehicle 
registered in this state or $3,000, whichever is less. Enter credit 
amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount 
currently allowed is equal to 7.2 percent of the cost or $1,500, 
whichever is less. 

73F – Digital Interactive Media & Software – R.S. 47:6022 provides 
a credit to individuals for the investment in businesses special-
izing in digital interactive media and software. Taxpayers must 
apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development 
to receive certifi cation. A copy of the certifi cation of the credit 
must be attached to the return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 
12-017 on LDR’s website. 

74F –  Solar Energy Systems – Leased – The credit is for taxpayers 
who purchased and installed, through a lease with the residence 
owner, a solar electric system at a single-family detached 
residence located in the state. Only one credit is allowed per 
residence including prior installations for which a credit was 
received. The credit is equal to 38 percent of the fi rst $20,000 
of the cost of such system. For the purpose of determining the 
amount of the credit on leased systems, the cost of a system is 
limited to no more than $3.50 per watt for a system purchased 
and installed after December 31, 2014 and $2 per watt for a 
system purchased and installed on or after July 1, 2015. Since 
the system is limited to providing for no more than six kilowatts of 
energy, the maximum credit base for leased systems is $12,000. 
Form R-1086, available on LDR’s website, must be attached to 
your return as documentation for this credit. When taking this 
credit, the taxpayer will not be eligible for any other state tax 
credit, exemption, exclusion, deduction, or any other tax benefi t 
for that property. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-026 on 
LDR’s website. (R.S. 47:6030) If you are claiming the solar 
credit, you must fi le your return electronically. 

80F – Other Refundable Credit – Reserved for future credits.
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2 2 4 5 0 0 00.

Line 1 –  If you are a resident of Louisiana, you are allowed a credit for 
income taxes paid to other states for income reported on your Louisiana 
return (R.S.47:33). Note that you may not claim the tax withheld; you must 
fi le a return with the other state and claim the tax actually paid. You may 
not claim credit for taxes paid to cities or foreign countries. See Revenue 
Ruling 02-013 for information on taxes paid to the District of Columbia. 

The credit is allowed ONLY if both of the following conditions are met:

a. The other state provides a similar credit for Louisiana income taxes 
paid on income derived from property located in, or from services 
rendered in, or from business transacted in Louisiana.

b. The other state does not allow a nonresident a credit against the 
income taxes imposed by that state for taxes paid or payable to the 
state of residence.

The credit is limited to the amount of Louisiana income tax calculated 
on the income earned in the other states. A copy of the returns fi led with 
the other states must be attached to your Louisiana return. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 15-018.

Complete Lines 1A through 1H. List the state in Column 1; the income 
earned in that state that is taxable to Louisiana in Column 2; and the 
net tax liability as reported on the other state’s return in Column 3. This 
fi gure does not come from your W-2, 1099R or W-2G forms. Exception: 
Mississippi taxable income and tax liability on gambling winnings will 
be on the W-2G form. In Column 4, divide the amount in Column 2 by 
the amount reported on Form IT-540, Line 7. Round the percentage to 
two places after the decimal. In Column 5, multiply Column 4 by your 
Louisiana income tax found on IT-540, Line 11. Round to nearest dollar. 
In Column 6, enter the lesser of Column 3 or Column 5 for each line. If 
additional space is needed, please complete Form R-10606 and enter the 
totals on Line 1I and check the box on Line 1L. Enter the total of Line 1A 
through 1I on Line 1J. Enter the amount from Column 3, Line 1J on Line 
1K and the amount from Column 6, Line 1J on Line 1L.

 Line 2 – A credit of $72 is allowed for the taxpayer, spouse, or dependent 
who is deaf, has lost the use of a limb, is mentally incapacitated, or is blind 
(R.S. 47:297(A)). Only one credit is allowed per person. The disability 
must exist at the end of the taxable year or, if death occurred during the 
taxable year, at the date of death. If you are claiming this credit for the 
fi rst time, a physician’s statement is required certifying the disability. For 
purposes of this credit:

• DEAF is defi ned as one who cannot understand speech through audi-
tory means alone (even with the use of amplifi ed sound) and must 
either use visual means or rely on other means of communication.

• LOSS OF LIMB is defi ned as one who has lost one or both hands, at or 
above the wrist, or one or both feet, at or above the ankle. This credit 
also applies if use of the limb or limbs has been lost permanently.

• MENTALLY INCAPACITATED is defi ned as one who is incapable of 
caring for himself, or of performing routine daily health requirements, 
due to his condition.

• BLIND is defi ned as one who is totally blind or whose central fi eld of 
acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses 
or whose visual acuity is limited to a fi eld no greater than 20 degrees. 

The names of the qualifying dependents must be entered on Line 2C. On 
Line 2D, enter the total number of qualifying individuals. Multiply Line 2D 
by $72 and enter the result on Line 2E.

Line 3 – Taxpayers who donate a computer or other technological equip-
ment to educational institutions in Louisiana are allowed a credit of 29 
percent of the value of the property donated (R.S. 47:37). The recipient 
certifi es the donation of property by using Form R-3400 the Certifi cate 
of Donation available on LDR’s website. You must attach the completed 
certifi cation form to your return. On Line 3A, enter the value of the property 
donated to an educational institution in Louisiana. Multiply the amount 
on Line 3A by 29 percent and enter the result on Line 3B. Round to the 
nearest dollar.

Line 4 – Taxpayers are allowed a credit of 7.2 percent of the following 
federal credits: a credit for the elderly computed on Federal Schedule R; 
a foreign tax credit found on Federal Form 1040, Line 48; a residential 
energy credit found on Federal Form 1040, Line 53 plus 7.2 percent of 
any investment tax credit or jobs credit computed on Federal Form 3800 
(R.S. 47:297(B)). If the credit was not used on the federal return because 
of the alternative minimum tax, you must reduce this amount by the por-
tion of the credit that was not used. Enter the total federal credit on Line 
4A. Multiply Line 4A by 7.2 percent and enter the result or $18, whichever 
is less, on Line 4B.

Additional Nonrefundable Credits Lines 5 Through 10

Additional nonrefundable credits available for the tax year ending 
December 31, 2015 are referenced individually by a three-digit code. 
Enter the credit description, identifying code, and the dollar amount 
claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 5 through 10. Act 125 reduc-
tions noted in the instructions below refer to the reductions made by Act 
125 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session. See Revenue Information 
Bulletin No. 15-021 for more information.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table on Schedule G. 
The codes listed here are not interchangeable with other codes listed 
in this booklet. 

Example: 

Credit Description Code  Amount of Credit Claimed

New Jobs Credit  

Line 11 – Add Lines 1L, 2E, 3B, 4B, and 5 through 10. Also, enter the 
amount on Form IT–540, Line 14.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION

100 – Premium Tax – R.S. 47:227 provides a credit for premium 
taxes paid during the preceding 12 months by an insurance 
company authorized to do business in Louisiana. The credit may 
be passed to individuals through certain legal entities such as 
partnerships. A schedule must be attached listing the entities 
that paid the premium tax and generated the credit on behalf of 
the individual. Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 
reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is calculated by 
multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

105 – Commercial Fishing – R.S. 47:297(C) provides a credit for 
gasoline and special fuels taxes paid for operating or propelling 
any commercial fi shing boat. Attach a schedule listing all invoic-
es and taxes paid. Do not claim the credit if you have already 
received a fuel tax refund. Enter credit amount as allowed prior 
to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is cal-
culated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

110 – Family Responsibility – R.S. 47:297(F) provides a credit for the 
amount contributed in a family responsibility program under the 
provisions of R.S. 46:449. The amount of this credit was equal to 
33.3 percent of the contribution, not to exceed $200. Enter credit 
amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount 
currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 
percent (.72). The credit cannot exceed $144.

115 – Small Town Doctor/Dentist – R.S. 47:297(H) provides a credit 
for certifi ed medical doctors and dentists licensed to practice 
in certain areas of Louisiana. The credit was limited to $5,000. 
Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The 
credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the 
amount by 72 percent (.72). The credit is now limited to $3,600.

120 – Bone Marrow – R.S. 47:297(I) provides a credit to employ-
ers authorized to do business in the state who incur bone 
marrow donor expense by developing a bone marrow dona-
tion program, educating employees related to bone marrow 
donations, making payments to a health care provider for 
determining tissue types of potential donors, and paying wages 
to an employee for time related to tissue typing and bone 
marrow donation. If the wage expense is used to obtain the 
credit, it cannot be deducted as an expense for income tax 
purposes. The amount of the credit was equal to 25 percent 
of the bone marrow donor expense paid or incurred by the 
employer during the tax year. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed 
is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

125 – Law Enforcement Education – R.S. 47:297(J) provides a credit 
for certain law enforcement officers and specifi ed employees of 
the Louisiana Departments of Public Safety or Corrections for 
specifi c post-secondary educational expenses incurred in the 
pursuit of an undergraduate degree related to law enforcement. 
Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The 
credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the 
amount by 72 percent (.72). The credit is limited to $540.

Instructions for Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G



130 – First Time Drug Offenders – R.S. 47:297(K) provides a credit 
for a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an individual 
who has been convicted of a fi rst time drug offense, and who is 
less than 25 years of age at the time of initial employment. Enter 
credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit 
amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount 
by 72 percent (.72).

135 – Bulletproof Vest – R.S. 47:297(L) provides a credit for the 
purchase of a bulletproof vest for certain law enforcement 
personnel. The amount of this credit was equal to 100 percent of 
the purchase price, not to exceed $100. Enter credit amount as 
allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently 
allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72). 
The credit cannot exceed $72.

140 – Nonviolent Offenders – R.S. 47:297(O) provides a credit for 
a taxpayer who provides full-time employment to an individual 
who has been convicted of a fi rst-time nonviolent offense, has 
completed a court-ordered program certifi ed by the employee’s 
probation officer, and has worked 180 days. A statement signed 
by both the employer and employee certifying the employ ee’s 
full-time work status for the year must be attached to the return. 
Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The 
credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the 
amount by 72 percent (.72).

145 – Owner of Newly Constructed Accessible Home – R.S. 
47:297(P) provides a credit for a taxpayer who owns a newly 
constructed one or two-family dwelling on which the homestead 
exemption is claimed. The dwelling must include certain acces-
sible and barrier free design elements. The credit was for the 
lesser of $1,000 or tax, and is taken in the taxable year that the 
construction of the dwelling completed. Form R-1089, available 
on LDR’s website, must be attached to your return as documen-
tation for this credit. Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 
125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is calculated 
by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72). The credit is the 
lesser of $720 or tax.

150 – Qualifi ed Playgrounds – R.S. 47:6008 provides a credit for 
donations to assist qualifi ed playgrounds. The credit was for the 
lesser of $1,000 or one-half of the value of the cash, equipment, 
goods, or services donated. For more information on this credit, 
see Revenue Ruling 02-020 posted on LDR’s website. Enter 
credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit 
amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount 
by 72 percent (.72). The credit is the lesser of $720 or 36 percent 
of the value of the cash, equipment, goods, or services donated.

155 – Debt Issuance – R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit for the fi ling fee 
paid to the Louisiana State Bond Commission, which is incurred 
by an economic development corporation in the preparation and 
issuance of bonds. Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 
reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is calculated by mul-
tiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

175 – Donations of Materials, Equipment, Advisors, Instructors 
R.S. 47:6012 provides a credit for employers within the state 
for donations of the newest technology available in materials, 
equipment, or instructors to public training providers, secondary 
and postsecondary vocational-technical schools, community 
colleges, or apprenticeship programs registered with the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission to assist in the development 
of training programs designed to meet industry needs. The 
credit was for 50 percent of the value of the donated materials, 
equipment, or services rendered by the instructor. When taken 
with other applicable credits, this credit cannot exceed 20 
percent of the employer’s tax liability for any taxable year. Enter 
credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit 
amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount 
by 72 percent (.72).

199 – Other – Reserved for future credits. 

200 – Atchafalaya Trace – R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit to certain 
heritage-based cottage industries that have entered into a con-
tract with the State Board of Commerce and Industry. A copy of 
the contract must be attached to the return. Enter credit amount 

as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently 
allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

202 – Organ Donation – R.S. 47:297(N) provides a credit to off-
set certain expenses incurred by an individual or spouse for 
a living organ donation. Enter credit amount as allowed prior 
to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed 
is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

204 – Household Expense for Physically and Mentally 
Incapable Persons – R.S. 47:297.2 provides a credit for 
a person who maintains a household that includes one or 
more dependents who are physically or mentally incapable 
of caring for them selves. The credit is for the applicable 
percentage of employment related expenses allowable 
pursuant to Section 21 of the Internal Revenue Code. 

208 – Previously Unemployed – R.S. 47:6004 provides a credit for 
hiring a previously unemployed person who participates in the 
Family Independence Work Program in a newly created full-time 
job. Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. 
The credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying 
the amount by 72 percent (.72).

210 – Recycling Credit – R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for the 
purchase of certain equipment or service contracts related to 
recycling. The credit must be certifi ed by the Louisiana Department 
of Environmental Quality and a copy of the certifi cation must be 
attached to the return. Enter credit amount as allowed prior 
to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed 
is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

212 – Basic Skills Training – R.S. 47:6009 provides a credit for 
employers who pay for training to bring employees’ reading, 
writing, or mathematical skills to at least the 12th grade level. 
The credit was limited to $250 per participating employee, not to 
exceed $30,000 for the tax year. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed 
is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72). 
The credit cannot exceed $180 per participating employee and 
cannot exceed $21,600 for the tax year. 

224 – New Jobs Credit – R.S. 47:34 and R.S. 47:287.749 provide a 
credit to employers who establish or expand a business in the 
state. A schedule that includes the calculation of the credit must 
be attached to the return and must include the name, address, 
and Social Security Number of each new employee; highest num-
ber of full-time and qualifi ed part-time employees during the pre-
vious year; highest number of full-time and part-time employees 
during the current year; number of new employees hired for new 
jobs created during this taxable year; and amount of credit carried 
forward from the previous year. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is 
calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

226 – Refund by Utilities – R.S. 47:287.664 provides a credit for 
certain court ordered refunds made by utilities to its customers. 
Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The 
credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the 
amount by 72 percent (.72).

228 – Eligible Re-entrants – R.S. 47:287.748 provides a credit to a 
taxpayer who employs an eligible re-entrant in Louisiana. An 
eligible re-entrant is defi ned as a person who has been convicted 
of a felony and who has successfully completed the Intensive 
Incarceration Program, as provided in R.S. 15:574.4. Enter credit 
amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount 
currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 
percent (.72).

230 – Neighborhood Assistance – R.S. 47:35 and R.S. 47:287.753 
provide a credit for an entity engaged in the activities of providing 
neighborhood assistance, job training, education for individuals, 
community services, or crime prevention in Louisiana. The credit 
was for up to 70 percent of the amount contributed for investment 
in programs approved by the Commissioner of Administration. 
Enter credit amount as allowed prior to Act 125 reduction. The 
credit amount currently allowed is calculated by multiplying the 
amount by 72 percent (.72). The credit is equal to 50 percent of 
the amount contributed and can not exceed $180,000.

Instructions for Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G, Continued...
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Instructions for Nonrefundable Tax Credits, Schedule G, Continued...

231 –  Research and Development – R.S. 47:6015(K) allows a credit 
for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 26 
U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities. Use this code 
for Research and Development credits earned for expenditures 
made beginning January 1, 2015. The credit is obtained through 
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development and docu-
mentation from that agency must be attached to the return. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on LDR’s website.

232 – Cane River Heritage – R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit for a 
heritage-based cottage industry located or to be located in the 
Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. The taxpayer 
must enter into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a copy of the contract 
must be attached to the return. Enter credit amount as allowed 
prior to Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is 
calculated by multiplying the amount by 72 percent (.72).

234 – LA Community Economic Development – R.S. 47:6031 
provides a credit for money donated, contributed, or represented 
by a sale below cost by the taxpayer to a certifi ed community 
development corporation or a certifi ed community development 
fi nancial institution. The credit must be certifi ed by the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development, and a copy of the 
certifi cation must be attached to the return. 

236 – Apprenticeship – R.S. 47:6033 provides a credit to employers 
for one dollar for each hour of employment of an eligible 
apprentice, limited to 1,000 hours for each eligible apprentice. 
An eligible apprentice is a person who has entered into a written 
apprentice agreement with an employer or an association of 
employers pursuant to a registered apprenticeship program 
or who is enrolled in a training program accredited by the 
National Center for Construction Education and Research. For 
more information regarding this credit, contact the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission. 

238 – Ports of Louisiana Investor – R.S. 47:6036(C) provides a credit 
to individuals to encourage investment in state port facilities in 
Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the 
certifi cation of the credit must be attached to the return. 

240 – Ports of Louisiana Import Export Cargo – R.S. 47:6036(I) 
provides a credit to individuals to encourage the use of state 
port facilities in Louisiana. The credit is based on the number 
of tons of qualifi ed cargo imported and exported from or to 
manufacturing, fabrication, assembly, distribution, processing, 
or warehousing facilities located in the state. Taxpayers must 
apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to 
receive certifi cation. A copy of the certifi cation of the credit must 
be attached to the return. 

251 – Motion Picture Investment – R.S. 47:6007(C)(1) provides 
a credit for an individual taxpayer residing in Louisiana who 
invests in a state-certifi ed, motion picture production. Taxpayers 
taking this credit may attach Form R-10611, available on 
LDR’s website, as documentation for this credit. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 15-033 for more information.

252 – Research and Development – R.S. 47:6015 provides a credit 
for any taxpayer who claims a federal income tax credit under 
26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities. Use this 
code for Research and Development credits earned for expendi-
tures made in tax years beginning before January 1, 2009. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 09-020 on LDR’s website. 

253 – Historic Structures – R.S. 47:6019 provides a credit if 
the taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the rehabilita-
tion of a historic structure that is located in a Downtown 
Development District or cultural district. Refer to Revenue 
Information Bulletin 14-007 and 14-007A on LDR’s website. 

254 – Digital Interactive Media – R.S. 47:6022 provides a credit to 
individuals for the investment in businesses specializing in digi-
tal interactive media. Use this code for Digital Interactive Media 
credits earned for expenditures made prior to January 1, 2012. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the certifi ca-
tion of the credit must be attached to the return. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s website. 

256 – Motion Picture Employment of Resident – R.S. 47:1125.1 
provides a credit for the employment of residents of Louisiana 
in connection with the production of a motion picture. The 
credit may fl ow to an individual via a partnership, limited liability 
company, Subchapter S Corporation, or other entities. Refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 05-005 on LDR’s website. 

257 – Capital Company – R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit for any per-
son who invests in a certifi ed Louisiana Capital Company. This 
credit must be approved by the Commissioner of the Louisiana 
Office of Financial Institutions. A copy of the certifi cation must be 
attached to the return. 

258 – LA Community Development Financial Institution (LCDFI) – 
R.S. 51:3085 et seq. provides a credit for certain investments in an 
LCDFI to encourage the expansion of businesses in economically 
distressed areas. The Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions 
administers this program. Enter credit amount as allowed prior to 
Act 125 reduction. The credit amount currently allowed is limited 
to 54 percent of the investment.

259 – New Markets – R.S. 47:6016 provides a credit if the taxpayer 
makes certain qualifi ed low-income community investments, as 
defi ned in Section 45D of the Internal Revenue Code. The tax-
payer must be certifi ed by the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development and approved by LDR. Information on the program 
investment limits are posted as Revenue Information Bulletins on 
LDR’s website. 

260 – Brownfi elds Investor Credit – R.S. 47:6021 provides a credit 
to individuals to encourage the cleanup, redevelopment, and 
productive reuse of brownfi elds sites in the state. The credit 
is obtained through the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development and the Louisiana Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

261 – Motion Picture Infrastructure – R.S. 47:6007(C)(2) provides 
a credit for an approved state-certifi ed infrastructure project for 
a fi lm, video, television, or digital production or postproduction 
facility. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development to receive certifi cation. A copy of the 
certifi cation of the credit must be attached to the return. Refer to 
Revenue Information Bulletin 06-004 on LDR’s website. 

262 – Angel Investor – R.S. 47:6020 provides a credit for taxpayers 
who make third party investments in certifi ed Louisiana entre-
preneurial businesses on or after January 1, 2011. To earn the 
Angel Investor Credit, taxpayers must fi le an application with the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 12-009 on LDR’s website. 

299 – Other – Reserved for future credits. 

300 – Biomed/University Research – R.S. 17:3389 provides a 
credit to persons who establish research activities either in a 
Biomedical or a University Research and Development Park. 
The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development, and a copy of the con-
tract showing the credit granted must be attached to the return. 

305 – Tax Equalization – R.S. 47:3201 et seq. provides a credit for 
tax equalization for certain businesses locating in Louisiana. 
The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development, and a copy of the con-
tract showing the credit granted must be attached to the return. 

310 – Manufacturing Establishments – R.S. 47:4301 et seq. pro-
vides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments that 
have entered into a contract with the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development. A copy of the contract showing the 
credit granted must be attached to the return. 

315 – Enterprise Zone – R.S. 51:1781 et seq. provides a credit for 
private sector investments in certain areas that are designated 
as “Enterprise Zones.” The taxpayer must enter into a contract 
with the Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and a 
copy of the contract showing the credit granted must be attached 
to the return. 

399 – Other – Reserved for future credits.

CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION CODE CREDIT DESCRIPTION
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Instructions for Schedule H

Line 1 – Enter the amount from the Federal Income Tax Deduction work-
sheet on page 2. 

Line 2 – Enter the amount of federal disaster relief credits claimed on your 
federal return. The federal disaster relief credits claimed for this year and 
allowed by the IRS could be credits that are carried forward from previous 
years. Attach a copy of your federal return that indicates the amount of 
the credit, a copy of Form 3800, and a copy of the appropriate IRS form 

in order to substantiate the amount of the credit.

Line 3 – Add the amounts from Lines 1 and 2 and enter the result on Line 
3 and on Form IT-540, Line 9. Mark the box on Line 9 to indicate that 
your income tax deduction has been increased by the amount of federal 
disaster credits. 

 General Information about Disaster Relief Credits

Federal Disaster Relief Credits

Louisiana provides a deduction for federal income taxes paid on Louisiana 
income. Generally, when the federal income tax liability is decreased by 
federal credits, the amount of the Louisiana income tax liability increases. 
R.S. 47:293(4)(b) expands the relief granted to Louisiana taxpayers who 
claimed certain disaster credits granted for Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane 
Rita. To avoid paying additional income tax, Louisiana taxpayers 
who received these federal credits may increase the amount of their 
Louisiana federal income tax deduction by the amount of certain disaster 
relief credits claimed on the 2015 federal income tax form. Louisiana 
Administrative Code (LAC) 61:I.601 designated the following federal 
credits as disaster relief credits:

1. Employee Retention Credit

2. Work Opportunity Credit 

3. Rehabilitation Tax Credit 

4. Employer-Provided Housing Credit 

5. Low Income Housing Credit

6. New Markets Tax Credit

For complete information about disaster relief credits, see LAC 61:I.601 
on www.revenue.louisiana.gov/policies.

Consult your tax advisor or the IRS for information concerning the federal 
credits. If you claimed federal disaster relief credits on your federal return, 
complete Schedule H and attach a copy of the appropriate federal forms 
to your return to substantiate your modifi ed Louisiana federal income tax 
deduction.
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In general, you will be charged interest and penalties if you do not pay all 
amounts due on or before the due date. 

1.  A 2015 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2016. 

2.  Returns for fi scal years are due on or before the 15th day of the fi fth 
month after the close of the taxable year. 

3.  If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the return is due 
the next business day.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your obligation to 
pay all tax amounts due by the original due date.

Interest – If your income tax is not paid by the due date, you will be 
charged interest on the unpaid tax until the balance is paid in full. The 
interest rate is variable and the 2016 interest rate is posted on LDR’s 
website on Form R-1111, Interest Rate Schedule Collected on Unpaid 
Taxes. To compute the DAILY INTEREST RATE, multiply the 2016 
monthly interest rate by 12 then divide the result by 365 and carry out 
to seven places to the right of the decimal. Example: Assume the 2016 
monthly interest rate is 0.5833 percent, multiply 0.00583 by 12 then divide 
the result by 365 to get the daily interest rate of 0.0001917. 

Interest Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date.

2 Daily interest rate (See instructions above.)  0. _______

3 Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)

4 Amount you owe (Form IT-540, Line 36) .00

5
Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, and 

enter the result on Form IT-540, Line 41.)
.00

Delinquent Filing Penalty – A delinquent fi ling penalty will be charged for 
failure to fi le a return on or before your due date, or your approved exten-
sion date. The penalty is fi ve percent of the tax for each 30 days or fraction 
thereof during which the failure to fi le continues. By law, the maximum 
delinquent fi ling penalty that can be imposed is 25 percent of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1
Number of days late from your due date, or your 

approved extension date.

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3

Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of

days remain, increase to nearest whole

number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .05

5

Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3 

by Line 4. The result cannot exceed

25 percent.)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540, Line 36.) .00

7
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty 
due (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter  

the result on Form IT-540, Line 42.) .00

Important Notice: The sum of both the delinquent fi ling and delinquent 
payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due. Thirty-day 
increments are used for the calculation of the delinquent fi ling and delin-
quent payment penalties. These penalties are based on the date LDR 
receives the return or payment. In addition to the delinquent penalties 
mentioned above, you may also incur a negligence penalty if circumstances 
indicate willful negligence or intentional disregard of rules and regulations.

Delinquent Payment Penalty – If you fail to pay the tax due by the due 
date, a delinquent payment penalty of 0.5 percent of the tax not paid by 
the due date will accrue for each 30 days, or fraction thereof, during 
which the failure to pay continues. This penalty cannot exceed 25 percent 
of the tax due. Use the worksheet below to calculate that penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date.

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3

Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of

days remain, increase the amount to the 

nearest whole number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .005

5

Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3 

by Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25 

percent.)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-540, Line 36.) .00

7

Total amount of Delinquent Payment 

Penalty (Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter 

the result on Form IT-540, Line 43.) .00

Underpayment Penalty – Louisiana imposes an underpayment penalty 
on an individual’s failure to sufficiently pay income tax throughout the 
year by withholding or declaration payments. In order to determine if an 
underpayment penalty is due and to compute the amount of the underpay-
ment penalty, you must complete Form R-210R, Resident Underpayment 
Penalty Return and attach the completed form to your return. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 04-004 for the defi nition of farmer for pur-
poses of applying underpayment penalty.

Line 30 – Although you may have an overpayment, if you failed to suf-
fi ciently pay income tax throughout the year, in accordance with R.S. 
47:117.1, you may be subject to the underpayment penalty. Complete the 
2015 Form R-210R available on LDR’s website and enter the amount from 
Line 18 on this line. Attach the completed R-210R to your return. If you are 
a farmer, mark the box on Line 30.

Line 44 – If you have a tax defi ciency, you may be charged an underpay-
ment penalty. Complete the 2015 Form R-210R and enter the amount 
from Line 18 on this line. Attach the completed R-210R to your return. If 
you are a farmer, mark the box on Line 44.

Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

www.revenue. louis iana.gov Louis iana Depar tment of  Revenue
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R.S. 47:297.4 allows a state tax credit for child and dependent care 
expenses allowed by Internal Revenue Code Section 21. The credit 
is refundable for taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income is 
$25,000 or less and is nonrefundable for taxpayers whose Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is more than $25,000. 

INCOME EQUAL TO OR LESS THAN $25,000

Taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income is $25,000 or less are 
allowed a refundable credit whether or not a federal child care credit has 
been claimed. In order to claim the Louisiana Refundable Child Care 
Credit, the taxpayer must comply with the same law and rules of Internal 
Revenue Code Section 21 that governs the federal child care credit for the 
2015 taxable year. Use Lines 1 through 11 of the Louisiana Refundable 
Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 17 to compute your refundable 
credit. See instructions for the worksheet below.

INCOME GREATER THAN $25,000

Taxpayers whose Federal Adjusted Gross Income is greater than $25,000 
are allowed a credit against their Louisiana income tax liability for a certain 
percentage of their federal child care credit. If you are unable to claim the 
credit in the year in which it is earned, the unused portion of the credit 
can be used over the next four years. Use Lines 1 through 17 of the 2015 
Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet on page 15 to 
compute your 2015 nonrefundable credit, and to appropriately claim any 
carry forward you may have from previous years.

REFUNDABLE CHILD CARE CREDIT INSTRUCTIONS

1. Your Federal Adjusted Gross Income must be $25,000 or less to claim 
a Louisiana refundable child care credit. If you did not fi le and claim a 
federal child care credit, you may still fi le for, and receive, a refundable 
Louisiana Child Care Credit, if you meet certain criteria. In order to qual-
ify for the Louisiana credit, you must meet the same tests for earned 
income, qualifying dependents, and qualifying expenses as required by 
the IRS for the federal child care credit.

2. In order to claim your Louisiana Child Care Credit, you must meet the 
following requirements:

A. Your fi ling status must be single, head of household, qualifying 
widow(er) or married fi ling jointly. See item number 3 below for infor-
mation on married fi ling separately.

B. The care was provided to your dependent child to allow you, and your 
spouse if married fi ling jointly, to work or look for work. If you did not 
fi nd a job and have no earned income for the year, you cannot claim 
the credit.

C. The qualifying child must be under age 13.

D. The person who provided the care cannot be your spouse, the parent 
of the qualifying child, or a person whom you can claim as a depen-
dent. If your child provided the care, he cannot be your dependent 
and must be age 19 or older by the end of 2015.

3. If your fi ling status is married fi ling separately, you will be considered 
single for purposes of calculating the credit if all of the following apply:

A. You lived apart from your spouse during the last 6 months of 2015.

B. Your qualifying dependent child lived in your home for more than half 
of 2015.

C. You provided over half the cost of keeping up your home.

 If you meet all these requirements and meet the requirements of 
2(B), 2(C), and 2(D), you are eligible for the credit.

DEFINITIONS

Qualifying Child – A child under age 13 who can be claimed as a depen-
dent by the taxpayer. If the child turned 13 during the year, the child quali-
fi es for the part of the year he was under age 13.

Qualifi ed Expenses – Amounts paid for household services and care of 
the qualifying person while the taxpayer worked or looked for work. Child 
support payments are not qualifi ed expenses. Also, expenses reimbursed 
by a state social service agency are not qualifi ed expenses unless the 
reimbursement was included in the taxpayer’s income. Prepaid expenses 
are treated as paid in the year the care was provided. Do not include the 
following as qualifi ed expenses for 2015:

A. Expenses incurred in 2015 but did not pay until 2016.

B. Expenses incurred in 2014 but did not pay until 2015.

C. Expenses prepaid in 2015 for care to be provided in 2016.

Dependent Care Benefi ts – These include amounts your employer paid 
directly to either you or your care provider for the care of your qualifying 
child while you worked. Also, dependent care benefi ts include the fair 
market value of care in a daycare facility provided or sponsored by your 
employer and any pre-tax contributions you made under a dependent care 
fl exible spending arrangement (FSA). Your salary may have been reduced 
to pay for these benefi ts. If you received dependent care benefi ts, they 
should be shown on your 2015 Forms W-2 in box 10.

Earned Income – Earned income includes wages, salaries, tips, other 
taxable employee compensation, and net earnings from self employment. 
A net loss from self employment reduces earned income. Earned income 
also includes strike benefi ts, any disability pay you report as wages, and 
other taxable compensation. You can elect to include nontaxable combat 
pay in earned income. Earned income does not include: pensions and 
annuities, social security payments, workers’ compensation, interest, divi-
dends, or unemployment compensation, scholarship or fellowship grants, 
nontaxable workfare payment, or any amount received for work while an 
inmate in a penal institution.

For additional defi nitions, details, and information, see the Internal 
Revenue Service’s Publication 503.

2015 Louisiana Child Care Credit Instructions
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2015 Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit Worksheet (For use with Form IT-540)

1 Enter Federal Child Care Credit from Federal Form 1040, Line 49 or Federal Form 1040A, Line 31. 1
.00

1A

Enter the applicable percentage from the chart shown below. 

 Federal Adjusted Gross Income Percentage

 $25,001 – $35,000 30% (.30)

 $35,001 – $60,000 10% (.10)

 over $60,000 10% (.10)

1A X . _______

2
Multiply your Federal Child Care Credit shown on Line 1 by the percentage shown on Line 1A. If your Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income is less than or equal to $60,000, this is your available Nonrefundable Child Care Credit 
for 2015. Go to Line 3.

2

.00

2A
Important! If your Federal Adjusted Gross Income is greater than $60,000, the amount on Line 2 is limited 
to the LESSER of $25.00, or 10 percent of the federal credit. If Line 2 is greater than $25.00, enter $25 here. 

This is your available Nonrefundable Child Care Credit for 2015.

2A

.00

3 Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax from Form IT-540, Line 11. 3
.00

4 Add the amounts of Nonrefundable credits from Form IT-540, Lines 13 and 14. 4
.00

5 Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. 5
.00

6

If Line 5 is less than or equal to zero, your entire Child Care Credit for 2015 (Line 2 or 2A, above) will be carried 

forward to 2016. Also, any available carryforward from 2011 through 2014 will be carried forward to 2016. If 

Line 5 above is less than or equal to zero, enter zero “0” on Form IT-540, Lines 12B and 12C. Stop here; you 

are fi nished with the worksheet.

6

Use Lines 7 through 10 to determine the amount of Nonrefundable Child Care Credit 
Carryforward from 2011 through 2014 utilized for 2015.     

7 If Line 5 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 5. 7
.00

8 Enter the amount of any Child Care Credit Carryforward from 2011 through 2014 8
.00

9 Subtract Line 8 from Line 7. 9
.00

10

If Line 9 is less than or equal to zero, the amount of Child Care Credit Carryforward used for 2015 is equal 

to Line 7 above. Enter the amount from Line 7 above on Form IT-540, Line 12C. If Line 9 is less than 

zero, subtract Line 7 from Line 8 and enter the result here. This amount is your unused Child Care Credit 

Carryforward from 2011 through 2014 that can be carried forward to 2016. Also, your entire Child Care Credit 

for 2015 (Line 2 or 2A above) will be carried forward to 2016. Stop here; you are fi nished with the worksheet.

10

.00

Use Lines 11 through 15 to determine the amount of Child Care Credit Carryforward 
utilized from 2011 through 2014 plus any amount of your 2015 Child Care Credit.

11
If Line 9 above is greater than zero, enter the amount of carryforward shown on Line 8 above on Form IT-540, 
Line 12C.

11

12  If Line 9 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 9. 12
.00

13 Enter the amount of your 2015 Child Care Credit (Line 2 or Line 2A, above). 13
.00

14 Subtract Line 13 from Line 12. 14
.00

15
If Line 14 is greater than or equal to zero, your entire Child Care Credit for 2015 (Line 2 or 2A above) has 
been utilized. Enter the amount from Line 13 above on Form IT-540, Line 12B. Stop here; you are fi nished 
with the worksheet.

15

Use Line 16 to determine what amount of your 2015 Child Care Credit you can claim.

16
If Line 14 above is less than zero, the amount on Line 12 above is the amount of your 2015 Child Care Credit. 
Enter the amount from Line 12 above on Form IT-540, Line 12B. 16

Use Line 17 to determine the amount of your 2015 Child Care Credit to be carried forward to 2016.

17
If Line 14 above is less than zero, subtract Line 12 from Line 13 to compute your Child Care Carryforward to 
2016. Enter the result here and keep this amount for your records.

17
.00

X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

www.revenue. louis iana.gov Louis iana Depar tment of  Revenue
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X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

2015 Louisiana Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Worksheet (For use with Form IT-540)

R.S. 47:6104 provides a School Readiness Credit in addition to the credit for child care expenses as provided under R.S. 47:297.4. To qualify for this credit, 
the taxpayer must have Federal Adjusted Gross Income GREATER THAN $25,000, must have claimed a Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit,  
and must have incurred child care expenses for a qualifi ed dependent under age six who attended a child care facility that is participating in the Quality 
Start Rating program administered by the Louisiana Department of Education. The qualifying child care facility must have provided the taxpayer with Form 
R-10614 which verifi es the facility’s name, the state license number, the LA Revenue Account number, the Quality Rating, and the rating award date. 

1
Enter the amount of 2015 Louisiana Nonrefundable Child Care Credit found on the Louisiana Nonrefundable 

Child Care Credit Worksheet on either Line 2 or Line 2A.
1

.00

2

Using the star rating of the child care facility that your qualifi ed dependent attended during 2015, shown on Form R-10614, enter the number of your 

qualifi ed dependents under age six who attended a: 

 Five Star Facility ________ and multiply the number by 2.0   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . (i) __________ . ______

 Four Star Facility ________ and multiply the number by 1.5   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . (ii) __________ . ______

 Three Star Facility ________ and multiply the number by 1.0   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . (iii) __________ . ______

 Two Star Facility  ________ and multiply the number by .50   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . (iv) __________ . ______

On Form IT-540, Line 12D enter in the boxes designated for 5, 4, 3, or 2 the number of your qualifi ed dependents as shown above for the associ-

ated star rated facility.

3 Add lines (i) through (iv). Be sure to include the decimal. 3 X ________________._____

4
Multiply Line 1 by the total on Line 3. If the number results in a decimal, round to the nearest dollar. This is 

your available Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit for 2015.
4

.00

5 Enter the amount from Form IT-540, Line 11. 5 .00

6 Add the amounts of Nonrefundable credits from Form IT-540, Lines 12B, 12C, 13, and 14. 6 .00

7 Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. 7
.00

8

If Line 7 is less than or equal to zero, your entire School Readiness Credit for 2015 (Line 4) will be carried forward to 2016. Also, any available 

carryforward from 2011 through 2014 will be carried forward to 2016. If Line 7 above is less than or equal to zero, enter zero “0” on Form IT-540, Line 

12D and 12E. Stop here; you are fi nished with the worksheet.

Use Lines 9 through 12 to determine the amount of Nonrefundable School Readiness Credit Carryforward from 2011 through 2014 utilized for 2015.

9 If Line 7 above is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 7. 9
.00

10 Enter the amount of any School Readiness Credit Carryforward from 2011 through 2014. 10
.00

11 Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. 11
.00

12

If Line 11 is less than or equal to zero, the amount of School Readiness Credit Carryforward used for 2015 is 

equal to Line 9. Enter the amount from Line 9 on Form IT-540, Line 12E. If Line 11 is less than zero, subtract

Line 9 from Line 10 and enter the result here. This amount is your unused School Readiness Credit Carryfor-

ward from 2011 through 2014 that can be carried forward to 2016. Also, your entire School Readiness Credit 

for 2015 (Line 4) will be carried forward to 2016. Stop here; you are fi nished with the worksheet.

12

.00

Use Lines 13 through 17 to determine the amount of School Readiness Credit Carryforward

utilized from 2011 through 2014 plus any amount of your 2015 School Readiness Credit.

13 If Line 11 above is greater than zero, enter the amount of carryforward shown on Line 10 above on Form IT-540, Line 12E.

14 If Line 11 is greater than zero, enter the amount from Line 11. 14
.00

15 Enter the amount of your 2015 School Readiness Credit (Line 4 above). 15
.00

16 Subtract Line 15 from Line 14. 16
.00

17
If Line 16 is greater than or equal to zero, your entire School Readiness Credit for 2015 (Line 4) has been utilized. Enter the amount from Line 15 

on Form IT-540, Line 12D. Stop here; you are fi nished with the worksheet.

Use Line 18 to determine what amount of your 2015 School Readiness Credit you can claim.

18
If Line 16 is less than zero, the amount on Line 14 is the amount of your 2015 School Readiness Credit. Enter the amount from Line 14 above on 

Form IT-540, Line 12D.

Use Line 19 to determine the amount of your 2015 School Readiness Credit to be carried forward to 2016.

19
If Line 16 is less than zero, subtract Line 14 from 15 to compute your School Readiness Carryforward to 

2016. Enter the result here and keep this amount for your records.
19 .00

www.revenue. louis iana.gov Louis iana Depar tment of  Revenue
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